English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 March 2016, 23:36   #1
tom2000
 
Posts: n/a
Video stopped working on A2000

I recently been playing around and upgrading my old amiga 2000

All has been fine, I bought an a2091 scsi controller and installed that without a problem, I then decided I wanted it in a different zorro slot (it was covering two where it was) so I moved it and also my dataflyer ram board.

Then when I booted up I got a red screen (rom problem I believe), it booted to the desktop but it had a black background and red font. I restarted the machine and got no video output what so ever and haven't since.

I removed the two boards (a2091, dataflyer) from the motherboard and have ruled them out as the source of the problem and have reseated the rom chip but still nothing.

What else could it be? My gotek usb emulator has just arrived and I cant even use it!
 
Old 19 March 2016, 06:55   #2
hese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 214
I would suggest to reseat every socketed custom chip on the motherboard.
hese is offline  
Old 25 March 2016, 18:46   #3
tom2000
 
Posts: n/a
I have re-seated every chip, still nothing, the power light is it up fine theres just no video output
 
Old 25 March 2016, 18:56   #4
Dagger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dagenham / England
Posts: 181
Has the battery been removed? Was all the surrounding area cleaned?
Dagger is offline  
Old 25 March 2016, 19:16   #5
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2000 View Post
I have re-seated every chip, still nothing, the power light is it up fine theres just no video output
Does that include Fat Agnus? I find that Fat Agnus often is the culprit because of bad contact with the socket. Sometimes I have fixed it by just pressing the socket walls against the Agnus. And put a bit of CRC spray will usually help. I never remove Agnus because I don't have the correct tool for it.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 25 March 2016, 19:28   #6
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,306
CRC make a whole lot of different products from eletronics cleaner to car lubrication, be mindful of what you apply
ajk is offline  
Old 25 March 2016, 19:34   #7
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
CRC make a whole lot of different products from eletronics cleaner to car lubrication, be mindful of what you apply
I use CRC electronics cleaner
turrican9 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.5.1 has stopped working sege support.WinUAE 3 16 April 2013 11:40
CD32 stopped working twiggy support.Hardware 14 15 June 2009 10:44
A2000 stopped seeing right mouse button shirsch support.Hardware 4 22 August 2008 03:03
My A4000 has stopped working!!! BinoX support.Hardware 19 02 June 2007 23:19
A2091 Stopped working Gary Harrison support.Hardware 5 19 June 2004 20:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06811 seconds with 13 queries