English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2015, 07:39   #1
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 514
List of games requiring a certain Kickstart?

Is there a list of games out there, along with any information that said game requires a certain Kickstart? For example, I have The Chaos Engine sittig at home, and according to the box cover, it requires 1MB, which I have installed in my Amiga, but I have no idea what Kickstart it requires (1.3, maybe?)
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 11 February 2015, 10:28   #2
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,601
For example http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?find=chaos
zipper is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 08:20   #3
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 514
I asked for lists of games that require a certain Kickstart, not how to find information about a game.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 08:29   #4
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,110
He answered your question. HOL is "a list of games out there, along with any information that said game requires a certain Kickstart", which is what you asked for.
Minuous is online now  
Old 12 February 2015, 10:06   #5
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,601
You want list - you get:
http://obligement.free.fr/articles/listejeuxamiga.php
zipper is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 10:13   #6
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
He answered your question. HOL is "a list of games out there, along with any information that said game requires a certain Kickstart", which is what you asked for.
Sorry, but I cannot find this information. Is it in the "Chip" column, because that would make sense.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 11:32   #7
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,915
It doesn't matter what kickstart you use. It all depends on what machine you use.

If a game requires a certain setup (AGA only, kick2.0 & above, req 1mb chip etc) then that information will be printed on the box.

The A1200 is one machine that may require a downgrade to kick1.3 for some old games.
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 11:53   #8
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 32
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
The A1200 is one machine that may require a downgrade to kick1.3 for some old games.
In my personal experience (I'm using SKick to use 1.3 on my A1200) many games that do work on A500 still crash and burn on A1200 even with 1.3 Probably because of AGA and/or caches.

Should try with TUDE sometimes... But I remember not having much luck with that either on my A4000.
jbenam is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 12:25   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,387
Reboot & hold both mouse buttons to enter the early startup menu of Kickstart.

Select Boot Options, click Disable CPU caches and click use.
Click Display Options and Select Original (OCS) or Enhanced (ECS) chipset and click use.
Click Boot.

A1200 will boot, then use sKick as normal and see if you have any better success.

If you do then you can look at degrader (which will automate this)
alexh is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 12:36   #10
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
It doesn't matter what kickstart you use. It all depends on what machine you use.
I have to correct you here as that's not true. There are games and demos that only work on Kickstart 1.2 machines (reason can be a jmp to Kickstart ROM to acknowledge the interrupt for example) and crash on any other Kickstart.
StingRay is online now  
Old 12 February 2015, 12:49   #11
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
I have to correct you here as that's not true. There are games and demos that only work on Kickstart 1.2 machines (reason can be a jmp to Kickstart ROM to acknowledge the interrupt for example) and crash on any other Kickstart.
I stand corrected sir.
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 12:51   #12
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 32
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Reboot & hold both mouse buttons to enter the early startup menu of Kickstart.

Select Boot Options, click Disable CPU caches and click use.
Click Display Options and Select Original (OCS) or Enhanced (ECS) chipset and click use.
Click Boot.

A1200 will boot, then use sKick as normal and see if you have any better success.

If you do then you can look at degrader (which will automate this)
I remember discovering the Early Startup Menu by pure chance when I was something like 8. Surprised me quite a bit, but I didn't find much use for it back then on my trusty A600

I somehow thought that the next reboot (in 1.3) would invalidate the settings I previously set in 3.0, that's why I had never tried doing that!

I usually do that when not soft-kicking and it doesn't improve things much.

Well, it's worth a shot to combine it with 1.3, I suppose
jbenam is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 12:57   #13
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,915
When I used my 1200 for games I would use relokick, relokick and no cache or try and find a JST install for the HD.
Arnie is offline  
Old 21 October 2015, 09:47   #14
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,193
Is there a list of (good) kick 1.2 only games? Besides 7 cities of Gold and Archon?

IIRC most games have been fixed so they run on whdload emulating kick 1.3 (with 1.2 only parts fixed)
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't add to the games list vimfuego project.ClassicWB 8 23 August 2014 10:42
Web page with kickstart list & checksums Gabriel Hardware mods 4 24 January 2010 02:53
Dumped Games list alexh project.SPS (was CAPS) 2 15 September 2007 18:13
How do i make a games list? mrbob2 Retrogaming General Discussion 7 24 May 2007 06:05
Rare Games List? Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 4 28 November 2004 00:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11287 seconds with 15 queries