English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2014, 22:53   #1
asiga
 
Posts: n/a
Amix on FS-UAE?

I've read that WinUAE supports Amiga UNIX (Amix) since last Summer. Is this also true for FS-UAE?

If affirmative, what's the maximum RAM you can use with Amix? (I've read Amix supports ZorroII only, but not ZorroIII). And can you use host folders as disks while running Amix?

Thanks!
 
Old 11 June 2014, 07:23   #2
asiga
 
Posts: n/a
After reading a guide on how to install Amix on WinUAE, I found Amix cannot access more than 16MB RAM. While Amix is cool for its historical meaning, I need to have support for more RAM, ideally the max RAM FS-UAE can support. So, I move my interest to either NetBSD or Debian, which seem to be the only other Unices available on the Amiga. Can they be installed on FS-UAE? What config should I use? What's the max RAM they can access? Is there support for mounting host folders as drives? Thanks!!
 
Old 11 June 2014, 20:26   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,694
Disclaimer: I haven't tried Amix/Debian/etc on either real m68k hardware or *UAE.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asiga View Post
So, I move my interest to either NetBSD or Debian, which seem to be the only other Unices available on the Amiga. Can they be installed on FS-UAE?
Probably (with recent 2.5.x development versions). -But without network support (current AmigaOS support for that is via an injected Amiga library). It might be relatively easy to get the new slirp feature in WinUAE working in FS-UAE - I haven't looked into it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asiga View Post
What config should I use?
You need an MMU, so for example the A3000 model should be a good start.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asiga View Post
What's the max RAM they can access?
Technically, probably in the several gigabytes range (< 4 GB though). I don't remember the exact limit in FS-UAE right here and now, but say 1 GB shouldn't be a problem if the OS can access the Zorro III bus.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asiga View Post
Is there support for mounting host folders as drives? Thanks!!
Accessing host folders is implemented via an inject Amiga library. This will only work on AmigaOS and not with other guest OSes.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 26 September 2014, 14:35   #4
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 415
Since Picasso emulation works with the latest dev-versions, AMIX runs quite well now. Preinstalled hardfile can be found here: http://www.vintagebytes.de/downloads.html

Basic configuration:
Code:
[fs-uae]
hard_drive_0 = amix_hardfileX11R5.hdf
hard_drive_0_controller = scsi6
amiga_model = A3000
graphics_card = picassoii
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fs-uae-full-1409261416-01.png
Views:	402
Size:	112.7 KB
ID:	41703  
jbl007 is offline  
Old 27 September 2014, 13:52   #5
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,694
Thanks for testing and posting the link. I've added the preinstalled HDf to my "test suite"
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 20 September 2015, 18:35   #6
dylanmc
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbl007 View Post
Since Picasso emulation works with the latest dev-versions, AMIX runs quite well now. Preinstalled hardfile can be found here: http://www.vintagebytes.de/downloads.html

Basic configuration:
Code:
[fs-uae]
hard_drive_0 = amix_hardfileX11R5.hdf
hard_drive_0_controller = scsi6
amiga_model = A3000
graphics_card = picassoii
How did you got the X server run?
I try sgartx, no success and Svga also doesen't start
 
Old 21 September 2015, 10:53   #7
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 415
xinit
jbl007 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amix in WinUAE Toni Wilen support.Amix 294 12 February 2019 21:15
AMIX HDF images Noth project.EAB File Server 9 16 October 2016 11:50
Amix on WinUAE: Access to USB? bigbod support.WinUAE 3 06 August 2013 20:46
AMIX an an emulator? swampcretin support.Apps 16 09 September 2005 23:01
Amix Disk 1 on A1200/030 redblade support.Apps 0 25 November 2004 08:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07827 seconds with 14 queries