English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hall Of Light > HOL data problems

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2003, 23:21   #1
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 41
Posts: 265
OCS ECS selection?

Are there any games, which uses the additions of an ECS System? I am afraid not. or???

How is decided, if a game is OCS or ECS in HOL?
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 23:26   #2
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 42
Posts: 2,972
we have made a random function to choose for us
RCK is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 00:42   #3
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,930
LOL!
fiath is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 14:08   #4
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 41
Posts: 265
:hoo wow
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 17:29   #5
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
I could be wrong, but isn't Rise of the Robots (non-AGA) ECS only? That'd make at least one game
Mr Creosote is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 17:42   #6
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,395
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr Creosote
I could be wrong, but isn't Rise of the Robots (non-AGA) ECS only? That'd make at least one game
No, as someone said before... Rise of the ... is not a game.
Dizzy is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 17:45   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
It needs 1MB of Chip RAm, so an A500 with 512/512 wouldn't be able to run it.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 00:03   #8
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 49
Posts: 835
Yes, Rise of the Robots is one of these very few games which need 1MB chipram and therefore only runs on bigger Amigas, or on A-500+/A600 or modifyed A-500 machines.

But it is not a real ECS game, because it doesn't use the ECS upgrades like higher resolution modes and such. It runs without problems on my A-500 with 1MB chipram, but old 1MB Agnus and old OCS Denise.

I still have to see a single game which really is an ECS game and not a simple OCS one. In my opinion every normal A-500 game ( also if it needs 512k chip and additional 512k trapdoor memory ) should be OCS games, and only games which need more than the 512k chip/512k fastram combination should be marked as ECS games, even if they are not real ECS like Rise of Robots.

Anyway, there are very few game which really need 1MB chipram. I think besides ROTR there is just Space Ace II, some PD games and maybe Hare Raising Havoc ( not really sure on this one )

So you see, 99% of all ECS games are OCS instead....
Overdoc is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 00:05   #9
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,486
Generally, we've used the year of release to assign whether a game was designed for Amigas with OCS or ECS at the time of release.

The ECS chipset was released in late 1989, but Amigas with the ECS chipset weren't released until 1990. Therefore, non-AGA games released before 1990 have been classified as OCS and those from 1990 onwards have been designated as ECS.

Keep in mind that the category was not intended to be an indicator of compatibility (we simply don't have time to test games on all the various non-AGA Amigas with different chipsets), but rather a general guide as to what chipset the game was guaranteed to work with at the time of release. It's by no means a perfect way of coding this category, but it's the best trade-off we could come up with.

Hope the answer I've given isn't too confusing.

Last edited by DrBong; 16 May 2017 at 22:20. Reason: Fixed typo!
DrBong is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 00:42   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
What about games that use the HalfBrite mode? Isn't that an ECS mode or am I completely wrong? (probably )
Akira is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 05:00   #11
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 65
Posts: 685
Extra HalfBrite mode is an older mode that was available on OCS machines. I believe it was available in all Amigas from the A500 on, and was even available on the A1000 if you had a late enough version of the Agnus chip. One of the early demos that used it was widely used to check A1000's to see if they supported that mode. I'm happy to say that my A1000 does.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 09:51   #12
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,930
True. Abandoned Places 2 uses the half bright mode, and that is an OCS game.

This information may be useful to HOL: we test every game to see if it is OCS/ECS/AGA and I believe this information in our games database is all correct.

http://www.caps-project.org

As you can see the *vast* majority of these games are OCS. The ones listed as ECS *really are* ECS. Those listed as being more that one chipset is because they have special features for better chipsets, e.g. Arcade Pool.

Of course, that is only 800 games so far...

Personally (and this is just my own thoughts) I think HOL should leave the chipset section blank if it is information that may be wrong from a compatability point of view, determing chipset by year of game release is a bit crazy IMHO .

You are of course welcome to populate this information from our research, I'll even generate the queries for you if you want to do it this way.

I think HOL is fantastic - and the chipset thing is just a small thing - but as it got brought up....

Last edited by fiath; 18 September 2003 at 09:58.
fiath is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 22:46   #13
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 41
Posts: 265
can you give an example?

for example historyline is ECS marked in C.A.P.S

I know it works with an old OCS Amiga 500.

What the advantages with A500+ (ECS) or higher?
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 19 September 2003, 10:43   #14
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
Come on, people! This is actually one of the oldest discussions about HOL, it was already brought up in the IRC christmas meeting when it first opened its doors
Mr Creosote is offline  
Old 19 September 2003, 13:02   #15
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,930
Does that mean it can't change?
fiath is offline  
Old 19 September 2003, 13:10   #16
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,930
Quote:
Originally posted by PiCiJi
can you give an example?

for example historyline is ECS marked in C.A.P.S

I know it works with an old OCS Amiga 500.
Perhaps there are different versions then. I am pretty sure that info is correct since all the games were tested. I'll check on it...

Quote:

What the advantages with A500+ (ECS) or higher?
Not much. The ECS is mostly the same as OCS, with a few extra video modes. As ECS machines came with 1Mb chip ram IIRC, this is also termed as an ECS feature in that you need an "ECS machine".
fiath is offline  
Old 19 September 2003, 13:15   #17
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,395
Quote:
Originally posted by fiath
Not much. The ECS is mostly the same as OCS, with a few extra video modes. As ECS machines came with 1Mb chip ram IIRC, this is also termed as an ECS feature in that you need an "ECS machine".
Not all the last Amiga 500 had ECS but only 512 Kb...
Dizzy is offline  
Old 19 September 2003, 13:19   #18
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,930
*That* is interesting! I have never even seen an A500+.

Okay, I guess it was that ECS *allowed* for 1Mb chip then and OCS did not?
fiath is offline  
Old 19 September 2003, 13:56   #19
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 65
Posts: 685
You didn't necessarily have to have the full ECS chipset in order to have 1 MB of chip ram. With just the newer Agnus chip, you could get 1 MB of chip ram with a mod to the motherboard. My old A500 has 1 MB chip ram, but has none of the other ECS features.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 19 September 2003, 17:15   #20
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,930
Okay, a couple of things I got from a "reliable source"

It looks like the A500+ *did* come with 1Mb chip ram. I only assumed it did, but now I am sure.

Here is a fairly correct hardware site:
http://www.amiga-hardware.com/a500+.html

Apparently, the point of the sale of the A500+ was the "huge" amount of chipram allowing bigger dpaint pictures, better games and things like that

Also dig out your mags, and look for Silica etc adverts and a500+ packs.

About your old non-plus A500 having 1Mb chip ram - are you sure? I don't mean to question you or Overdoc. Could it have been hardware hacked or something? Or perhaps it was originally a plus and downgraded?

I say this because of the following...

"ECS is a chipset type, that is *mandatory* to address upto 2mb of chipram. The reason is simple: OCS chipset is missing 2 address lines. 2 lines can have of course 4 values from 00...11, 4*512 = 2mb addrerssable chip ram area.

Apart from the bonus 2 lines (and obviously gating the internal logic to use it, unless it was already in just never used) other changes are mainly video mode related (e.g. pal/ntsc switch), programmable frequencies, and a useless new video mode that was supposed to be professional. "

Now I am really confused!
fiath is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500. OCS or ECS? trydowave support.Hardware 10 25 May 2013 21:58
Player Manager 2 ECS/OCS lolafg Games images which need to be WHDified 132 05 December 2011 14:07
ECS and OCS antonvaltaz Amiga scene 6 09 April 2010 11:50
Player Manager 2 ECS/OCS lolafg request.Old Rare Games 3 24 December 2009 10:37
Shaq Fu OCS/ECS? Old Fool request.Old Rare Games 6 19 April 2006 18:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10839 seconds with 13 queries