English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 August 2010, 13:59   #1
optimus
Registered User
optimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: holland
Posts: 30
Cool Spot [cr pdy] crashes at disk3

Hi all,

I just was playing cool spot and after level:wading around, insert disk 3 (loading level toying around) the game crashes and reset!!!
I tryed all tosec versions and my old crack but alway get to same problem
Dos someone has a working version or a prober disk 3 ????
Or is it just me

Thanks.....
optimus is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 14:12   #2
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimus View Post
Hi all,

I just was playing cool spot and after level:wading around, insert disk 3 (loading level toying around) the game crashes and reset!!!
I tryed all tosec versions and my old crack but alway get to same problem
Dos someone has a working version or a prober disk 3 ????
Or is it just me

Thanks.....
WinUAE or real machine?
seems to be not a Disk3 problem!
mai is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 14:21   #3
optimus
Registered User
optimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: holland
Posts: 30
On WinUAE, after inserting disk 3 it just crash!!!

The same problem with my real A500 but its the same pdy(tosec) version
optimus is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 14:27   #4
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,957
crc32 please!
mai is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 15:05   #5
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,957
Probably a bad crack, IPF works with same config.
mai is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 18:12   #6
optimus
Registered User
optimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: holland
Posts: 30
here is the crc32 of disk 3

1643268207
61F2486F

chance something in winuae configuration ???

I found my old crack of the game and i have the same problem
optimus is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 18:26   #7
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,957
I think its not a config problem, its rather crack related.
I wonder, why noone has mentioned it before, its a good game.
So, here my experiences:
Cool Spot (1993)(Virgin)(Disk 3 of 3)[cr PDY]
61F2486F
this is the set you used,
this is an exact copy of the IPF.
If i use cracked version disk 1 and IPF disk 2 and 3, the game crashes also after inserting and some loading of disk 3.
If i use IPF disk 1 and cracked(or probably not cracked) TOSEC ADFs disks 2 and 3 the game crashes after inserting and some loading of disk 3 too.
So i suppose its a bad crack.
Seems to be a job for Stingray or Galahad.
mai is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 19:11   #8
optimus
Registered User
optimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: holland
Posts: 30
My old crack was from DLT and it had the same problem!!

Hope someone has a working version?? and yes it's a very nice game!!
even better than the game on the ps1
optimus is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 20:40   #9
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimus View Post
My old crack was from DLT and it had the same problem!!
There was no other crack, the "PDY" crack is the only one.

..and i have contacted a member of this forum and asked him, if he can check Cool Spot images and yes, he will do so.
mai is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 20:50   #10
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
There was no other crack, the "PDY" crack is the only one.

..and i have contacted a member of this forum and asked him, if he can check Cool Spot images and yes, he will do so.

Already doing so, its nearly finished
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 22:48   #11
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Already doing so, its nearly finished
thanks, seems to be hard to crack.
mai is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 22:54   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
thanks, seems to be hard to crack.
It isn't. It's definitely a bad crack, PDY butchered the loader thus the game doesn't work correctly. Then again, PDY cracks weren't known for quality anyway.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Already doing so, its nearly finished
Since Mai asked me to have a look at it (before you posted in this thread) I am working on it too. I'll continue to work on my version, it isn't finished yet anyway (lacks AGA/680x0 fixes and I need to code a new trainer menu etc.) so it'll probably take a while.
StingRay is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 23:24   #13
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,609
Then feel free to continue

I didn't check the PDY version, because if I wanted tips on how NOT to do something, that would be the thing to do!

I'm guessing they screwed up the loader with the part thats used to detect different disks, because the Copylock is ridiculously easy and not even PDY could screw that up..... could they?

But, GREMLINS 2 is mine!!!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 23:26   #14
dug26
Registered User
dug26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: newcastle upon Tyne UK
Age: 42
Posts: 28
i remember i had a cracked version back in the day and it always crashed on the last few levels also..
dug26 is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 23:51   #15
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I'm guessing they screwed up the loader with the part thats used to detect different disks, because the Copylock is ridiculously easy and not even PDY could screw that up..... could they?
That's exactly what they did. Completely disabling the "check if correct disk is inserted" part of the loader is not exactly the best idea. Copylock was indeed useless.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
But, GREMLINS 2 is mine!!!
Didn't know you were working on that but I don't have any plans with that game anyway. Have fun with it. =)
StingRay is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 23:54   #16
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
That's exactly what they did. Completely disabling the "check if correct disk is inserted" part of the loader is not exactly the best idea. Copylock was indeed useless.




Didn't know you were working on that but I don't have any plans with that game anyway. Have fun with it. =)
Then the disk system for Cool Spot is the same as all the other Twiddy games like Aladdin then.

I'm guessing Siriax was responsible for that, a first class moron!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 16 August 2010, 01:16   #17
rygar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 282
Hmmm...strange. I'm really sure that i was able to beat whole game on my A600 long time ago. Unfortunatelly i don't remember which group cracked it.
rygar is offline  
Old 16 August 2010, 17:06   #18
niobyte
AMR / HOL Contributor

niobyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 171
I had the same Prodigy (PDY) crack. Could never complete the game with that on a real A500 or under WinUAE. It seems the IPF image is the only way to complete it.

I honestly thought an AGA A1200/A4000 fixed re-crack would have been released by now. Hmm, always been up to Galahad or Stingray to do it right

It does definitely seem to be loader related. I do recall on a few occassions the game not resetting but just trying to continuously load from disk on the loading screen. On most occassions all disk activity stopped, then reset with guru.

You would think they would have tested the custom disk loader for issues. Then again this obviously was a quick crack.

Last edited by niobyte; 16 August 2010 at 17:15.
niobyte is offline  
Old 16 August 2010, 17:26   #19
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by niobyte View Post
You would think they would have tested the custom disk loader for issues. Then again this obviously was a quick crack.
The loader itself is fine, however, "The Best!" (oh the irony...) who cracked this very game thought it is enough to just disable all "check correct disk" parameters because otherwise the game wouldn't work. Game uses a custom disk format which looks like normal Amiga DOS but has some more info, f.e. the disk number is stored. Once you create normal images of the disks that info is lost.

Apparently he was too stupid to realise that the had to patch the loader (i.e. code a completely new disk check routine).
Anyway, PDY && quality cracks = NEVER computed!
StingRay is offline  
Old 16 August 2010, 19:20   #20
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,957
Even the Gamebase guys did not find any working disks of this game.
Its not included until now, so it seems really worth to create a working set.
mai is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool Spot & Global Gladiators not working on CD32? Whitesnake project.WHDLoad 9 26 September 2015 13:08
'Cool Ska Cool' by Up Rough spoUP News 0 30 July 2007 20:54
Spot the errors :P Doc Mindie Amiga scene 0 20 April 2007 18:00
TUBULAR WORLDS ecs [pdy] - no sounds Old Fool support.Games 5 04 April 2007 15:39
Cool Spot Andrew support.Games 5 13 October 2001 15:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09479 seconds with 15 queries