English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 November 2019, 10:50   #141
Antiriad_UK
OCS forever!
 
Antiriad_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
Ok, I was wrong. I took the vasm output as gospel:

But it turns out that my output executable is 362kB due to the vasm "-linedebug" option. I guess I need to find a way to disable debug symbol generation for data sections, because it bloats the executable and is probably not really useful.
I noticed the slow debug loading when my exes were getting past a certain size. Also they use more memory to load so I have to add more fast ram than usual even if I'm targeting an A500 512KB. As a workaround I've configured my "debug" settings to use the config "A4000/040" model and that loads instantly. Not ideal but as I want my stuff to work on that config as well anyway and I only used debug to "fix" problems it works ok.
Antiriad_UK is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 13:19   #142
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiriad_UK View Post
I noticed the slow debug loading when my exes were getting past a certain size. Also they use more memory to load so I have to add more fast ram than usual even if I'm targeting an A500 512KB. As a workaround I've configured my "debug" settings to use the config "A4000/040" model and that loads instantly. Not ideal but as I want my stuff to work on that config as well anyway and I only used debug to "fix" problems it works ok.
So you managed to get the "run" launch config to trigger a non-debug build? I don't see how the launch config is referencing a build config in order to get different builds for different launch configs...

Last edited by hooverphonique; 13 November 2019 at 15:34.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 13:24   #143
Antiriad_UK
OCS forever!
 
Antiriad_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 418
Yeah, I don't tend to use the non-debug one as my build script auto runs a WinUAE instance which I much prefer, but this seems to work for me:
Code:
{
    "version": "0.2.0",
    "configurations": [
        {
            "type": "fs-uae-run",
            "request": "launch",
            "name": "WINDOWS Run",
            "buildWorkspace": false,
            "emulator": "${workspaceFolder}\\..\\..\\ToolChain\\VSCodeExt-bin\\fs-uae.exe",
	    "emulatorWorkingDir": "${workspaceFolder}\\..\\..\\ToolChain\\VSCodeExt-bin",
            "options": [
                "--hard_drive_0=${workspaceFolder}\\vscode-hd0",
                "--joystick_port_1=none",
                "--amiga_model=A500",
                "--chip_memory=512",
                "--slow_memory=512",
                "--kickstarts-dir=${workspaceFolder}\\..\\..\\WinUAE\\Roms"
            ]
        },
        {
            "type": "fs-uae",
            "request": "launch",
            "name": "WINDOWS Debug",
            "stopOnEntry": true,
            "serverName": "localhost",
            "serverPort": 6860,
            "trace": false,
            "startEmulator": true,
            "buildWorkspace": false,
            "emulator": "${workspaceFolder}\\..\\..\\ToolChain\\VSCodeExt-bin\\fs-uae.exe",
	    "emulatorWorkingDir": "${workspaceFolder}\\..\\..\\ToolChain\\VSCodeExt-bin",
            "program": "${workspaceFolder}\\vscode-hd0\\demo.exe",
            "options": [
                "--hard_drive_0=${workspaceFolder}\\vscode-hd0",
                "--joystick_port_1=none",
		"--amiga_model=A4000/040",
                "--kickstarts-dir=${workspaceFolder}\\..\\..\\WinUAE\\Roms",
                "--remote_debugger=200",
                "--use_remote_debugger=true",
                "--automatic_input_grab=0"
            ]
        },
    ]
}
The A4000 config seems to run ok, but always crashes after the program exits (Sometimes a message about UAE Debugger crash) but that's another issue for another time
Antiriad_UK is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 21:57   #144
Spec-Chum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by prb28 View Post
Can you please add a feature request on Github?
All the docs are in markdown files, it should be easily done.
Of course, sorry.

Done.
Spec-Chum is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 22:51   #145
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spec-Chum View Post
Of course, sorry.

Done.
Thanks !
prb28 is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 23:06   #146
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
So you managed to get the "run" launch config to trigger a non-debug build? I don't see how the launch config is referencing a build config in order to get different builds for different launch configs...
Maybe with a dedicated makefile config for run and another for debug.
prb28 is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 16:32   #147
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Preview for vasm error message and addresses in hover: https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig....19.0.vsix.zip
prb28 is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 20:52   #148
Spec-Chum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by prb28 View Post
Preview for vasm error message and addresses in hover: https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig....19.0.vsix.zip
Looks good, thanks for that!
Spec-Chum is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 23:39   #149
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by prb28 View Post
Maybe with a dedicated makefile config for run and another for debug.

yes, that could probably do it. I was wondering how the build is configured/triggered in your extension? There's no tasks.json for defining your build task!


If I run make as a "preLaunchTask" in the launch config, won't I get your "internal" build as well each time?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 23:56   #150
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
I was wondering how the build is configured/triggered in your extension? There's no tasks.json for defining your build task!
It's hardcoded in the extension, there is no task defined. It was the solution when I started the extension because there were some features missing in vscode. But now, I'll have to see if I can do something more "standard".


Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
If I run make as a "preLaunchTask" in the launch config, won't I get your "internal" build as well each time?
Your makefile doesn't need my internal build, it's more powerful and flexible. Here is a example of misc C and asm: https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...aster/Makefile
But if you want to call the internal build, it's done by addressing the command in vscode, I've some info in the wiki: https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...ult-build-task
prb28 is offline  
Old 03 December 2019, 07:40   #151
spacey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 63
just discovered this over the weekend - very, very cool! will definitely be using it
spacey is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 00:02   #152
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacey View Post
just discovered this over the weekend - very, very cool! will definitely be using it
Thanks !
prb28 is offline  
Old 09 December 2019, 12:23   #153
TheFoxSoft
KO2 world champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rome (Italy)
Age: 44
Posts: 99
Just discovered this, it seems amazing! Thanks a lot, looking forward to start some Amiga programming
TheFoxSoft is offline  
Old 10 December 2019, 22:18   #154
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFoxSoft View Post
Just discovered this, it seems amazing! Thanks a lot, looking forward to start some Amiga programming
Thanks, all the purpose of it is to make asm introduction easier !
Try Photon's tutorials, they are really good :
[ Show youtube player ]
prb28 is offline  
Old 06 February 2020, 10:05   #155
timg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Saltash
Posts: 27
Hi Guys,

I've been trying to set up VSCode using this extension, using the files from "vscode-amiga-wks-example".

So far I have it running using "run", but when I try to debug it fires up the Amiga, then stops and tells me "Please install the latest binaries from FS-UAE custom build". Where should I look to work out what's wrong?

Tim

* and yes, I have the latest binaries before you ask!

Last edited by timg; 06 February 2020 at 19:30.
timg is offline  
Old 06 February 2020, 23:31   #156
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg View Post
So far I have it running using "run", but when I try to debug it fires up the Amiga, then stops and tells me "Please install the latest binaries from FS-UAE custom build". Where should I look to work out what's wrong?
Did you download the zip corresponding to your os : https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...eases/tag/0.19 ?

You must have the extension in version 0.19.

You can get these binaries by cloning the repository (for windows) : https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...ee/windows_x64

Be careful, check your settings, maybe you have some global settings pointing to an old version of the binaries.
prb28 is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 19:28   #157
timg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Saltash
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by prb28 View Post
Did you download the zip corresponding to your os : https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...eases/tag/0.19 ?

You must have the extension in version 0.19.

You can get these binaries by cloning the repository (for windows) : https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...ee/windows_x64

Be careful, check your settings, maybe you have some global settings pointing to an old version of the binaries.
Don't know what I did wrong last time, but I've downloaded them again and it's worked now, thanks!!
timg is offline  
Old 03 October 2020, 20:01   #158
Hannibal
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Posts: 56
I have a quick question: When I run in FS-UAE with debugging enabled, it really hurts performance - FS-UAE runs at less than half of regular speed, even if emulating just an A500. On the same computer, if I run FS-UAE without debugger, I can easily run A1200 at full speed. So it appears that enabling the debugger really slows down the emulator, even with no breakpoints or anything else happening.

Is this normal? If this is expected, and everyone else sees that, I won't worry about it, but if there is something I need to fix in my setup, then I'd love to know.

I believe I currently use FS-UAE 2.9.7, don't actually remember where I got it from. I'd love to use an official FS-UAE, but not sure if the debugging code has been merged back in yet.
Hannibal is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 00:03   #159
Antiriad_UK
OCS forever!
 
Antiriad_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 418
Yes I see that. The debugging exe is a lot bigger too. I have my debugging env set to an a4000/040 so it runs fast.
Antiriad_UK is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 00:09   #160
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal View Post
Is this normal?
Well... yes it’s normal.
But I didn’t try to optimize it.

The version of Fs-UAE with remote debug is an old one.
I don’t think it will be merge with the main branch.

I’m working (slowly) on a winuae version using the bartman fork, so it could be merged up to FS-UAE main branch.
prb28 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
assembly code to test for assign (2.0+) jotd Coders. System 2 27 December 2017 23:16
very basic C/ASM/Visual Studio hand holding Sephnroth Coders. C/C++ 2 08 March 2016 20:15
Amiga Audio/Visual KhneFr request.Other 6 03 January 2015 10:25
Profiling WinUAE with Visual Studio 2013 mark_k support.WinUAE 3 14 January 2014 20:26
amiga visual editor thinlega request.Apps 1 22 January 2003 15:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:50.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.25717 seconds with 16 queries