English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 02 May 2005, 02:46   #1
Fenrir

Compatibility Issues (reloaded)

Ok I finally managed to buy a monitor for my A4000 (actually it's more an LCD TV, but that works fine) and I can resume my works on the Amy from where I stopped on October.
It's a 040 16/4 with OS3.9 (upgraded from 3.5)
Now I'm relatively new to AGA machines - since '88 I've been owning only an A500 and an A2000, so I've still got many problems tackling the AGA world - and my concerns are mainly on software compatibility.

I've always known about the compatibility issues between non-AGA and AGA machines, but I think this is going a bit too far. Out of 80 original programs/games I owned on my A500/2000 just ONE of them works on the 4000. 80% of them fall in a guru meditation or in a general software failure, while the others load up to a certain point and then freeze.
Laughably enough, the only software I managed to successfully load was a game, 'the amazing spiderman'.
I've got some questions then:

- could it be because the AGA machines are a bitch when trying to load apps/games meant for non-AGA machines?
- could it be that my software simply de-magnetized and died for old age? I could build my A2000 again and try, but I'm too lazy, and if they worked on it I'd simply get really angry
- isn't there any way for the A4000 to 'emulate' a non-aga system? I think that there's something in the chip speed that bugs the loading process of the games/apps - I noticed it on animated sequences, music and so on.
- has any of you experienced such a blatant and widespread incompatibility when loading 500/2000 software on 1200/4000 machines?

Thank you
Old 02 May 2005, 08:44   #2
thomas

The guru message is not caused by AGA but rather by the 68040. Old games usually are poorly programmed, not dealing with processor caches and other advanced techniques.