English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 November 2020, 13:47   #361
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,750
Warp3D is notorious for running out of ramlib stack or stack in general. So ramlibpatch is recommended plus giving blitzquake enough stack.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 18 December 2020, 00:50   #362
digaorj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Rio de Janeiro/Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 7
Tryed with ramlibpatch with no sucess. After Run initial game screen, amiga crash.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Warp3D is notorious for running out of ramlib stack or stack in general. So ramlibpatch is recommended plus giving blitzquake enough stack.

Last edited by digaorj; 18 December 2020 at 02:41.
digaorj is offline  
Old 12 April 2021, 06:59   #363
digaorj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Rio de Janeiro/Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 7
Finally i discover one solution. The game runs fine when i change screenmode to ntsc 32 colors before run the game. It really works for me!!!
Finally i can play quake with 3d acceleration and good fps on my amiga!!!
Thanks for all involved and for sure to improvements made by Cowcat!!!
digaorj is offline  
Old 05 May 2021, 13:25   #364
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 712
Strange issue and solution too.

Anyways I have new version that soon will come out.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 05 May 2021, 16:06   #365
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by digaorj View Post
Finally i discover one solution. The game runs fine when i change screenmode to ntsc 32 colors before run the game. It really works for me!!!
Finally i can play quake with 3d acceleration and good fps on my amiga!!!
Thanks for all involved and for sure to improvements made by Cowcat!!!
Could be your workbench is in another endian screen mode then the game. This messes up any system RAM if present in vga memory as the Mediator sometimes does.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 21 October 2021, 04:10   #366
digaorj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Rio de Janeiro/Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Strange issue and solution too.

Anyways I have new version that soon will come out.
Mediator is a problem, of course!!! I have 256 mb of fast ram in bppc.
digaorj is offline  
Old 07 October 2022, 01:19   #367
neocdtv2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
I'm happy to hear the update is not forgotten or abandoned. You did find some constructive use of your time so I won't complain .



The CV64/3D might be tricky to get running. The Virge has many hardware limitations and odd behaviors. The Virge Warp3D driver was not updated to the latest version of Warp3D so it's kind of patched in with some functionality lacking. The good news is that the 68k optimization of the Warp3D Virge driver is better than for the Voodoo or Permedia. You will want to run OxyPatcher/CyberPatcher/MuRedox as with most fp programs because of the missing FINT/FINTRZ on the 68040. You might try with and without my patched Warp3D.library which should work with the Virge driver and provide a minor speedup. It may be possible to get the CV64/3D to run Quake at reduced quality but it would probably require testing with the board in the developers machine. It's probably a time eater too.

Where can one find the "patched Warp3D.library"?
neocdtv2 is offline  
Old 07 October 2022, 01:22   #368
neocdtv2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 9
[ Show youtube player ]
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
The pre Aminet release of GLQuake works on my A1500 with 68040 and CV64/3D. It runs slower than software Quake though. Try it for yourself:

Attachment 38822

@Cowcat

I would love to try out a new 68k version. Any chance you could add in cdplayer.library support

http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/cdplayer_lib_ahi

With this it would be possible to play audio from a CD image, or when there is no audio link between the CD drive and the computer. AwinQuake already supports this:

http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/awinquake
http://aminet.net/game/shoot/awinquake_src.lha

Unfortunately the cdplayer.library version on Aminet has some problems, but this previous version was working well:

Attachment 38823

Is there maybe source code available for the "GLQuake68k_old.lha" this is the only version, which i could find, which draws without pink artifacts on explosions and other errors on CV64/3D.

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by neocdtv2; 07 October 2022 at 01:39.
neocdtv2 is offline  
Old 07 October 2022, 11:11   #369
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 712
@neocdtv2

Don't know where the old GLQuake sources are now (probably in one site for Morphos stuff?) but surely I had those to compare with Blitzquake to find the bug that made 20 year old Blitz aminet binary to fail with warpos.

Also I don't know what compiler or what minigl source version was used for that particular glquake.

Patching W3D library: No idea. My Blitz version uses old latest W3d includes and changes through years for minigl that still at this day keeps the Virge hacks in it.

Hopefully a Blitzquake github will appear soon (and new binary for 68k).

If mind don't fails me, nothing special in old GLQuake sources was done for Virge cards.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 08 October 2022, 02:42   #370
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by neocdtv2 View Post
Where can one find the "patched Warp3D.library"?
Think this is the one you want:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ysI...ew?usp=sharing

Cosmos has made a patched version too:

https://warpclassic68k.blogspot.com/p/dl_30.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by neocdtv2 View Post
Is there maybe source code available for the "GLQuake68k_old.lha" this is the only version, which i could find, which draws without pink artifacts on explosions and other errors on CV64/3D.
Possibly, but this will take me a bit longer to find...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Hopefully a Blitzquake github will appear soon (and new binary for 68k).
That would be great!

Last edited by James; 08 October 2022 at 02:46. Reason: Added another reply
James is offline  
Old 08 October 2022, 13:17   #371
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 712
For the timedate of this old GLQuake68k binary I would assume that the sources are those from Massimiliano Tretene that are on Aminet and those are the ones I was talking about.

Mind you that a lot has changed on the compile department (being vbcc or gcc) and practically all sources need a lot of work for the nowadays SDK's.....

... but is a good reading navigating code: From Phx -> Tretene -> Surgeon -> Me

Last edited by Cowcat; 08 October 2022 at 14:10.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 08 October 2022, 14:49   #372
neocdtv2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 9
Thx for your help, I will make a video if the updates in the Warp3D.library helped to get 0.5 more in FPS
neocdtv2 is offline  
Old 12 November 2022, 02:35   #373
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 217
hi guys!
I accidentally deleted the BlitzQuake v.6.1 WOS executable .... how stupid I am .... can you please send it to me or point me where I can download it again
thank you!!!
drluking is offline  
Old 12 November 2022, 04:03   #374
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by drluking View Post
hi guys!
I accidentally deleted the BlitzQuake v.6.1 WOS executable .... how stupid I am .... can you please send it to me or point me where I can download it again
thank you!!!
https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p...&postcount=330
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 12 November 2022, 10:44   #375
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post

No, this is 7.3, not working here, I have deleted the working one 6.1, I need again 6.1 version! so


anyone have 6.1 version, please?
THANKS
drluking is offline  
Old 12 November 2022, 10:55   #376
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 712
@drluking

Explain why 7.3 doesn't work: 6.1 is a very old version and a lot of changes were done (from water blending, proper model lerping, lightmap support, further BSP support for mods, etc, etc) besides fixes for the gcc version.

How do you start the game (stack? options? )

I got this old 6.1 binary anyway if you totally need it.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 12 November 2022, 13:55   #377
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
@drluking

Explain why 7.3 doesn't work: 6.1 is a very old version and a lot of changes were done (from water blending, proper model lerping, lightmap support, further BSP support for mods, etc, etc) besides fixes for the gcc version.

How do you start the game (stack? options? )

I got this old 6.1 binary anyway if you totally need it.

hi, 7.2 and 7.3 never worked, for this reason I have always used 6.1

It simply starts up, allocates a part of the fast ram, it seems to me that 80Mb remains available and then it doesn't load, while using the 6.x versions never had any problem

In the meantime, please send me please the executable version 6.1 that I will verify everything is OK as before and then solved my problem, I send you all the information as debug for the 7.3 and 7.2 that do not work for me

THANKS!
drluking is offline  
Old 12 November 2022, 14:23   #378
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 217
I found it! recovered from my backup
It works as well as before

After version 6.01 did you change the compiler and the next version was 7.2 and 7.3, or were there other versions 6.2, 6.3 ......?
drluking is offline  
Old 12 November 2022, 14:33   #379
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 712
No more 6 versions before 7.

I believe 7 is compiled with gcc. Do you use "paula" as audio (aka no AHI) ?
Cowcat is offline  
Old 12 November 2022, 15:53   #380
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 217
Ok

this is my script:

Assign quakedir: ""
quakedir:
stack 600000
glquakewos_vbcc6_1 -width 640 -height 480 -bpp 16

In AHI 0 and 1 are Paula DMA 8bit stereo ,but I don't have any entry in the script you see about AHI

Do I need to change something?
Speed improvement changing from 6.x to 7.x?
drluking is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BlitzQuake - Flashing White Screen? fitzsteve support.Games 20 22 October 2010 00:49
Blitzquake (GLquake) mouse look Angus support.Games 0 11 October 2008 01:46
BlitzQuake Install Coolit support.Games 0 02 September 2005 22:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10429 seconds with 16 queries