English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 August 2012, 11:37   #1
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
"Virtual" df0: Solutions ?

I was hoping someone might be able to suggest some software that will let me mount a "virtual" df0: please?
My floppy drive in my a1200 is partially broken and only reads and there's a few bits of software I sometimes use that need to write to floppy before they'll install to hdd (sound weird, but its true). Additionally there's other software that appears to be hard coded to boot from df0:, so creating a rad disk didnt help me there, nor did VirtualFloppy from aminet (that I could figure at least).

On top of that I'd like to be able to extract the contents of all my coverdiscs, which often use .DMS files.

So, if anyone knows of a simple, "all in one" solution Id appreciate it.
Thanks in advance.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 31 August 2012, 12:46   #2
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 54
Posts: 3,556
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
fmsdisk

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fmsdisk
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fms_20
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 31 August 2012, 13:23   #3
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,547
Personally I use XFS, it's a bit more versatile than FMS since I can mount other filesystems besides Amiga ones:

Http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/xfs

Of course you can't boot frOm these devices, there is no such solution, at least software-based, for Amigas.
Akira is offline  
Old 31 August 2012, 15:11   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,630
To replace DF0 by a virtual drive you can put this at the beginning of startup-sequence (instead of addbuffers):

assign df0: dismount

and change the mount name of your virtual drive to DF0.
thomas is offline  
Old 31 August 2012, 17:06   #5
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
To replace DF0 by a virtual drive you can put this at the beginning of startup-sequence (instead of addbuffers):

assign df0: dismount

and change the mount name of your virtual drive to DF0.
Yes but then DF0 will not be recognized as a trackdisk.device type of gadget. Virtual floppy drives help you with that. You can unpack DMS files to them and mount ADFs as disks, etc.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 17:43   #6
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,357
I'm pretty sure I've used an 880K RAD: disk for un-dms'ing in the past..
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 19:55   #7
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,568
RAD: can also be used as a boot disk. AFAIK (and it's a long time since I did this!) you can use FMS/XFS to copy a virtual disk image track by track to RAD: and then reboot into that image.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 20:15   #8
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,547
But RAD: is not recognized as a trackdisk device., Many things will not work and if you copy an image to it, if it's NDOS it will NOT work.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 21:50   #9
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,357
What do you mean it's not recognized as a "trackdisk device"? That it isn't picked up as a device containing cylinders, heads and sectors?

@fishyfish: Maybe it would be easier to come up with a solution if you mention what some of these "few bits of software" are ;-)

as already mentioned, for un-dms'ing amigados disks, you can use rad: and then copy the files you need from there.
software that is "hardcoded" to use df0: probably uses "trackdisk.device" (which drives the amiga floppy port hardware) or bangs the hardware directly. in the latter case you have no chance in hell to use a virtual drive, in former there might be software packages that intercepts opening "trackdisk.device", but I don't know.

Last edited by hooverphonique; 08 September 2012 at 21:59.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 20:40   #10
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
I used FMSDisk a lot; great tool never had problems with it.
Phantom is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
small GUI bug: ghosting of "write protection" label df0/df1 rsn8887 support.WinUAE 1 23 August 2010 17:02
Games with "virtual simulators" rsn8887 Nostalgia & memories 15 20 December 2008 16:29
Virtual "Fifth" audio channel wanderer request.UAE Wishlist 3 03 September 2007 20:31
"Assign Df0: dismount" But Kick 1.3 Retro1234 support.Apps 7 06 January 2007 04:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08274 seconds with 15 queries