English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2018, 23:48   #1
gururise
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 60
Hello from Los Angeles

Been a member of this forum for a while now, but never wrote an intro, so here goes:

I grew up on Commodore. Got my first computer (a Vic-20) back in Kindergarten, then moved to the Commodore 128. When I got to high school, I managed to get my parents to buy me an Amiga 500, and then my senior year of high school they got me an A3000.

Unfortunately, I don't have any of my original computers other than the A3000. My A3000 was fully loaded with external hard drive, an Emplant Deluxe, and even a Bridgecard (286). But by my junior year in college, it became apparent that I would need a PC so I made the switch from Amiga to PC about a year after Commodore went bankrupt.

I'd probably still be using Amiga's today if Commodore didn't go bankrupt.
gururise is offline  
Old 07 July 2018, 01:16   #2
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 21
Nice Story welcome to eab
512k is offline  
Old 07 July 2018, 07:45   #3
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 772
We have something in common

Indeed i owned in the past one Vic20, one C128 and one Amiga 500

We love Commodore

Welcome to the forum gururise
chip is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 04:10   #4
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 99
welcome aboard mate and yeah, I remember the VIC20. With only about 3k of ram this computer taught me how to make my basic programmings more concise.

I have no mathematics background but I managed to write games with sounds and graphics. Really a fun machine.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 07:47   #5
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 772
Yup, is started also programming with Vic20

Nothing special, just copied some programs from a magazine which i buyed

I don't remember the name of it, anyway
chip is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 01:30   #6
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 858
Hey Chip! Try to get in touch with the SCCAN group, sometimes they have spare machines around you could get
saimon69 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 05:22   #7
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 772
Hey saimon69, thanks, but i'm glad with emulation

Furthermore i stopped with programming nowadays
chip is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Amiga office in Los Gatos frank_b Nostalgia & memories 4 06 October 2017 08:51
New Amiga game: Los Chinos vitux News 9 19 September 2014 22:46
LOS files absence Coders. General 2 19 June 2012 13:26
Live in Los Angeles and own an A1200? You're my new best friend! squirminator2k request.Other 0 25 January 2012 03:16
Any Amiga owners in/near the Los Angeles area interested in helping with a project squirminator2k request.Other 0 28 September 2011 07:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08383 seconds with 13 queries