English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2008, 21:56   #1
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 35
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
compact flash to ide - is this right?

Hey

Dyou guys recon this will work?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CF-to-44-pins-...QQcmdZViewItem

and then ill whack a 1gb cf card in it and install wb3.1
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 22:03   #2
Magno Boots
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 685
That's what I've got in my A1200 - and it works fine.

I've got some spares. PM me your address and you can have one FOC.

Better than waiting ten days from HK.
Magno Boots is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 23:11   #3
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
I suggest you 44 pin female type. In this case you don't need a 44 pin cable female to female.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 23:16   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,394
@fc.studio
  1. They dont make them.
  2. It wouldnt fit inside a desktop case.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 23:35   #5
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,644
What software is needed to get an Amiga to recognise a compact flash card as a hard drive?

And is the formatted flash card on the Amiga then compatible with plugging into a PC?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 23:35   #6
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
@fc.studio
  1. They dont make them.
  2. It wouldnt fit inside a desktop case.
1. Perhaps this is true!
2. It fits into our A1200 / A600.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20071029_009,62_x3_CF_To_IDE_Adapter.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	5.9 KB
ID:	15788  
fc.studio is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 23:40   #7
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
What software is needed to get an Amiga to recognise a compact flash card as a hard drive?

About the software you need HDToolBox. It views compact flash as a normal hard drive.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 23:43   #8
Magno Boots
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 685
@ fc.studio..

I don't see any advantage in using the card you've pictured.

The card in the OPs link uses the standard IDE harddrive cable.

Edit: I understand that you may be suggesting that he use the card directly on the motherboard.
That's ok if he has removed the RF shield, but otherwise the cable will let him fix it wherever he wants.

Last edited by Magno Boots; 26 January 2008 at 23:53.
Magno Boots is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 23:50   #9
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
The card I've pictured connects directly and firmly to A1200 or A600 IDE 44 PIN controller without the need of the standard IDE harddrive cable (44 pin female-female). It's only a bit harder to find.
I prefer this, but I would avoid it if you have an IDE splitter interface.

Last edited by fc.studio; 27 January 2008 at 10:29.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 23:52   #10
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
Here a link:

http://cgi.ebay.it/3-x-CF-to-2-5-IDE...QQcmdZViewItem
fc.studio is offline  
Old 27 January 2008, 00:13   #11
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 58
Posts: 1,163
@ Magno Boots

You have PM

Thanks

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 27 January 2008, 07:11   #12
narmi
Guru Meditation Error
narmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 92
I'm tempted to buy one of these for my A600:

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10310

It looks like it could be mounted to the HD cradle and connected with the original cable. Neat and tidy .
narmi is offline  
Old 27 January 2008, 11:08   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by fc.studio View Post
Fascinating, that must have been modified by hand. I doubt very much it would work. By putting the connector on the bottom, all the pins have been transposed.



Last edited by alexh; 27 January 2008 at 11:17.
alexh is offline  
Old 27 January 2008, 11:45   #14
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 800
@alexh

At the moment my A600 has one of this female CF adapter and I can assure you it works perfectly (recommended). What I like it's that it stays blocked to the standard Amiga male IDE interface. ... and you can recycle the standard 2,5" cable for other purposes .

In my A1200 I have an IDE splitter with cable for the CD-RW drive, in this case the male adapter version and 2,5" cable for the compact flash hard drive is a must.

However I believe that, at the moment, having a CD drive in an external enclosure (with its PSU) can be useful but it is mainly a loss of space: much better and easy to use another COMPACT flash via the PCMCIA port.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 27 January 2008, 12:13   #15
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,912
It works, I have one of them too, it is actually listed in the "manual" that comes with all these chinese cfide adapters.
Jope is online now  
Old 29 January 2008, 17:30   #16
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 35
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
I take it that when i get the message "Unit 0 is not a disk (type 7)" the card is not supported?

This is a lexar 256mb cf card

Last edited by AliasXZ; 29 January 2008 at 17:46.
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 29 January 2008, 17:39   #17
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,222
When do you get that message? On the Amiga?
ppill is offline  
Old 29 January 2008, 17:46   #18
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 35
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
yeah sorry:

it sees the drive as unknown in HDToolbox, i define new drive parameters with whatever and then i can partition it. Then I exit and try to execute formatHD utility off my install disk, then it procedes to say "opening unit 0" and then the message i posted above
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 29 January 2008, 17:50   #19
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,222
Did you reboot after "Saving changes to disk"? Any new icons appear on the desktop?
ppill is offline  
Old 29 January 2008, 17:53   #20
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,222
Here's a VERY detailed guide to installing a new HD. Maybe you missed something?
ppill is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do 40 Pin Compact Flash to IDE Adapters need power? Peter support.Hardware 11 22 November 2011 18:57
Dual Compact Flash to IDE controller. dkovacs support.Hardware 7 16 January 2011 00:20
Compact Flash+CDROM on A4000 IDE? stefcep2 support.Hardware 13 21 March 2010 21:16
Swap 4-device buffered ide with Compact Flash lolafg Swapshop 6 06 November 2009 10:17
IDE CF Compact Flash Adapter Power Plug crazyegg support.Hardware 8 13 October 2009 01:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09425 seconds with 14 queries