English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2007, 12:18   #1
AmiFox
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Munich
Posts: 16
Converting LHA (<880kb) to ADF ?

Hello,

I recently found a lot of old Amiga PD disks with old pictures, demos, music scored etc on the internet... unfortunately they are all LHA archives. When I extract them, they contain the original amiga files like cli etc...
How can I convert the LHA archives to ADF files, so I can use them in a emulator ?
The archives are extractet not bigger than 880kb since they once were floppy disks.
Thank you.
AmiFox is offline  
Old 21 July 2007, 12:42   #2
formater
Registered User
formater's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alicante/Spain
Posts: 192
Decompress the lha in a directory of pc, mount the WinUAE and mount a HD directory in the directory of decompression.
make a image disk in WinUAE mount the disk and then copy the content into disk

copy NameHD all to df0:
formater is offline  
Old 21 July 2007, 13:10   #3
AmiFox
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Munich
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by formater View Post
Decompress the lha in a directory of pc, mount the WinUAE and mount a HD directory in the directory of decompression.
make a image disk in WinUAE mount the disk and then copy the content into disk

copy NameHD all to df0:

Hello formater,
thank you for your reply.
I forgot to say that I am a newbie what goes to emulation
Decompressing the LHA archives to PC is no problem. But then....
How do I "mount" a HD directory in the directory of decompression, mount a disk and where do I put the "copy NameHD all to df0:" ?

Sorry for all the questions.
Thank you !
AmiFox is offline  
Old 21 July 2007, 13:28   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by formater View Post
Decompress the lha in a directory of pc
I don't recommend unpacking lha files using PC utilities to PC harddisk because you can lose Amiga-specific data like protection flags, comments or special filenames.

Unpack inside emulation or download latest beta and mount the archive as a harddrive instead
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 July 2007, 21:28   #5
AmiFox
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Munich
Posts: 16
Can someone please give me a "How-To" ?
So that the final result is a working ADF file ?
Thank you very much
AmiFox is offline  
Old 21 July 2007, 22:18   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,059
You obviously didn't recognise that people suggest *not* to use ADFs. It's too complicated.

Here is a step-by-step guide:

1. get latest WinUAE beta from http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=29825&page=4#129
2. replace your winuae.exe by that from the beta archive
3. run it
4. go to the "Paths" section and click on "rescan ROMs"
5. go to the "ROM" section and select your kick.rom
6. go to the "Floppies" section and put your Workbench.adf into DF0
7. go to the "Hard drives" section and click on "add archive"
8. choose your archive.lha and click on "Ok"
9. click on "Start"

Once Workbench has been loaded, you see two disk icons: one for the Workbench adf and one for the lha archive which has magically become a hard drive.
thomas is offline  
Old 22 July 2007, 11:06   #7
AmiFox
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Munich
Posts: 16
Hello Thomas,

thank you for your help.
Now it works and I can even copy specific files I want from the PD archives copy to ADF images.

You guys here rock
AmiFox is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
converting from lha to adf duckieegg support.WinUAE 8 06 June 2014 11:09
Converting IPF files to ADF Dagon support.Games 24 17 March 2011 13:42
Converting adz to adf nnever2000 support.Games 2 21 August 2006 15:36
Converting from lha to adf komunita support.Other 5 24 June 2006 10:13
Converting LHA to MOD? Unregistered request.Modules 5 17 December 2001 18:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07060 seconds with 15 queries