English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 June 2020, 06:52   #1
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
DOPUS archive creation: Default directory?

First, I've searched through EAB for my particular issue and can't find anything that specifically deals with this. I created entries in DOPUS 4 to create archives using PKZip (7z). They create the archives I specified as .7z, Bzip2, and GZip with no issue using the {F}. I specified a default file name for the archive in the AmigaDOS to make it easier and more straightforward as I can always change the name of the archive.

Here's the issue: Whether I specify the directory with the {d} function or fire the directory requester with {Rd}, the archive is always created in the root of the DirectoryOpus app folder. I have tried everything I can think of, including checking user-startup, .../S, and .../env-archive to see if something is setting the default folder, not to mention DOPUS configuration. I'm stumped.

Is my syntax wrong? Here's a couple things I've tried:

7za a archive.7z {F} {Rd} (or {F}/{Rd} and {F}{Rd})
7za a archive.7z {F} {d} path to directory

When I try {Rd} the directory requestor comes up (with the root of my DOPUS app directory listed!) and when I try switching to the directory I want to create the archive it STILL creates it in the DOPUS app directory. Help?
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 06:58   #2
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
I should have added this: Dopus v4.17 pre21.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 08:33   #3
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 102
DOPUS archive creation: Default directory?

I think it is a syntax issue. In my experience when dopus dumps things in its dir, it is because it didn’t understand from the command sysntax where to put the file. Try “{Rd}/“ with the quotes. So it should be 7z {f} “{Rd}/“

Last edited by npagonis73; 13 June 2020 at 08:40.
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 08:40   #4
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by npagonis73 View Post
I think it is a syntax issue. In my experience when dopus dumps things in its dir, it is because it didn't understand from the command sysntax where to put the file. Try "{Rd}/" with the quotes.
I tried it but no go. Thanks for the suggestion, though. The file requester comes up and lets me change dirs as it did before - still dumps it in Dopus dir.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 08:49   #5
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 102
7za command doesn’t need any option after the 7za? Like in lha or zip we use x or -x or r etc?
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 08:50   #6
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by npagonis73 View Post
7za command doesn't need any option after the 7za? Like in lha or zip we use x or -x or r etc?
It requires "a" for add, "x" for extract.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 08:52   #7
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 102
So type here the full command you use in dopus so I can try it in mine
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 08:59   #8
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by npagonis73 View Post
So type here the full command you use in dopus so I can try it in mine
7za a archive.7z {F} {Rd}

Alternately I've removed the spaces between the functions, added a "/" between them, etc., plus your previous suggestion. I could remove the set archive name and replace it with a file requestor but one step at a time.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 09:10   #9
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 102
I don’t understand the archive.7z and then F? Isn’t it the same thing
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 09:14   #10
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 102
DOPUS archive creation: Default directory?

I would write

7za a {F} “{Rd}/“
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 09:22   #11
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by npagonis73 View Post
I would write

7za a {F} "{Rd}/"
That didn't work. PKzip requires the archive name be specified. I'll try a file requester and a directory requestor - let's see what that does.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 09:25   #12
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 102
DOPUS archive creation: Default directory?

Yes then just add a file requestor and leave the destination part in tact
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 09:28   #13
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 102
Or you could change the destination into “RAM:{o}/" so it creates a folder same as the name of the archive file you try to extract in ram.
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 09:31   #14
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselrama View Post
That didn't work. PKzip requires the archive name be specified. I'll try a file requester and a directory requestor - let's see what that does.

With Dopus4 you can also see the contents of the 7.z, Zip, LHA and LZX Archives without the need to unpack them on another path, see video.

In the video there are the two methods and their file associations


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1l_g...4hwRcYNJH/view
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 09:31   #15
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Nope - that didn't work either. Actually I tried that and a lot of other stuff/syntax.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 09:33   #16
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 102
Where is the error coming up now? In the file request or the destination?
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 10:00   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselrama View Post
That didn't work. PKzip requires the archive name be specified. I'll try a file requester and a directory requestor - let's see what that does.
That's how it works:

7za a "{d}{RsEnter Archive Name}" {O}

- CD Source
- Do All File
- Out Put Windows
- Recursive Directories
- Rescan Destination
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 14:44   #18
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
That's how it works:

7za a "{d}{RsEnter Archive Name}" {O}

- CD Source
- Do All File
- Out Put Windows
- Recursive Directories
- Rescan Destination
No, no...you're misunderstanding what I'm trying to do.

I want to highlight the files I want to add to the archive and send the resulting archive to the directory of my choice. Right now, I can create the archive properly, but it sends it to the DirectoryOpus app folder as discussed above. This command of yours actually does nothing but ask for an archive name and then it sends a null file to the root of the directory where the files I highlighted reside. Thanks, though.

Last edited by Weaselrama; 13 June 2020 at 15:03.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 16:08   #19
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselrama View Post
No, no...you're misunderstanding what I'm trying to do.
Unfortunately, that's what I understand from the translation !
Quote:
This command of yours actually does nothing but ask for an archive name and then it sends a null file to the root of the directory where the files I highlighted reside. Thanks, though.
No with my procedure once the files are highlighted the archive will be created in the Path set on the second window of Dopus, so you can hijack it to any path.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 June 2020 at 16:13.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 16:31   #20
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Unfortunately, that's what I understand from the translation !

No with my procedure once the files are highlighted the archive will be created in the Path set on the second window of Dopus, so you can hijack it to any path.
I apologize - I have French friends whom I speak with via Google Translate. Google does a nice job with English/French but sometimes I still misunderstand what they write to me. I can't imagine what it must be like trying to interpret our English when it isn't your first language especially when it's technical English.

However - I tried the AmigaDOS command exactly as you have it written. The string requester came up and asked for the archive name. It created a null file with the name of the archive I specified in the string requester in the root of the directory where the files I wanted to archive were.

Perhaps this might have worked with LHArc but doesn't work with PKZip. For now, I'll just specify the name of the archive and rename the created file in the DirectoryOpus app directory. I've checked and double-checked and at least, the archive.7z has been created correctly and can be unarchived correctly.

Perhaps this is a bug in Dopus 4.17 pre21? I'm certain, however, it can be resolved.
Weaselrama is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change directory's in DOpus manic23 support.Other 6 25 April 2016 18:52
Creation of a 5 1/4 diskette =) Turran Nostalgia & memories 5 18 December 2012 23:30
request Dopus(directory opus) rmcin329 request.Apps 8 02 September 2012 20:33
Amiga Creation s2325 Nostalgia & memories 4 22 February 2010 12:20
Directory Opus Magellan II Dopus crazyegg request.Apps 6 21 November 2008 16:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10612 seconds with 16 queries