English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2011, 16:01   #1
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 134
Odd A3000 SuperKickstart/SCSI behavior

It would seem that SuperKickstarts 36.141 and 36.143 (the former being the 'original' A3000 SK) can't "see" the SCSI drive (on ID 6) - HDToolBox sees _something_ on the controller but can't identify it and PrepHD fails with a SCSI query failure. SK 2.04/37.175 works as expected.

Maybe the earlier Kickstarts expect something at a lower level that the final 2.0 release doesn't?

Let me know what I need to provide for debugging...

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 September 2011, 20:54   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,100
Are you asking if there is something special about ID6?

The drive is prepared as a SuperKickstart capable Hard Drive? (i.e. pre-formatted to OFS/FFS with the right partitions and layout and device name with the file DEVS:Kickstart etc.)

How did you get to HDToolBox? Boot from a "SuperKickstart floppy disk" then use WorkBench install disk?

Quote:
SK 2.04/37.175 works as expected.
You mean KS 2.04?
alexh is offline  
Old 29 September 2011, 21:33   #3
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 134
No, just mentioned it was on the expected ID.

It is a "blank" hard file - not preformatted. PrepHD does the initial format/partitioning, layout, etc. It works fine from both versions of the A3000 Install Disk as long as you use Kickstart 2.04 - anything earlier fails but works on real hardware.

HDToolBox is included on the Install disk - yes, booting from SuperKickstart.

I meant SK - SuperKickstart

Rodney

P.S.: I'm not always able to reproduce this 100% with HDT, but can do so 100% of the time with PrepHD.
rhester72 is offline  
Old 30 September 2011, 10:28   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,493
What exactly hdtoolbox says? At least original A590 install disk only works with SCSI-1 devices. SCSI emulation normally emulates SCSI-2 drive.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 September 2011, 14:55   #5
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 134
HDToolBox shows "unknown" for all fields on a fresh HDF with SK 2.0, but the correct UAE identifier with SK 2.04. That's not so bad, since you don't really _need_ HDT...but PrepHD saying that the SCSI query failed is more odd. Again, works fine with 2.04, only fails on earlier 2.0 SKS versions (which is very strange since one of them actually originally shipped with the 3000, and what leads me to believe there is some subtle hardware behavior that isn't being emulated that is 3000-specific).
rhester72 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A3000 Kickstart 1.4 Superkickstart alexh support.Hardware 11 25 May 2018 09:06
A3000 SCSI/1.4-based SuperKickstart 1.3 boot fails rhester72 support.WinUAE 7 31 December 2009 15:15
Need A3000 Superkickstart file(s) r.cade support.Hardware 3 06 May 2009 02:26
Where to find A3000 Superkickstart 3.1 r.cade support.Hardware 6 24 January 2008 16:26
A3000 odd floppy disk drive problem Rod_cl support.Hardware 5 28 August 2006 08:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09724 seconds with 13 queries