English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > EAB's competition

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2014, 22:23   #21
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,919
Capehorn, thanks for the video links


Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeschool View Post
On the Offroad course I was talking about, there is only one hidden football on the bridge on stage 5. Thats it.
Yeah, I was referring to all the courses. That should boost my score up to around 98K then, which is 4k better than I did the last time we played this.
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 11 May 2014, 04:53   #22
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
277,100
54,870
43,750
61,890
41,530
75,060

Just to get something on the board.. not easy with the game running almost double the speed it should!
But it's my choice to stick with whd version, so be it!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	004.png
Views:	103
Size:	9.3 KB
ID:	39926   Click image for larger version

Name:	005.png
Views:	91
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	39927   Click image for larger version

Name:	006.png
Views:	102
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	39928   Click image for larger version

Name:	007.png
Views:	110
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	39929   Click image for larger version

Name:	008.png
Views:	97
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	39930  

ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 May 2014, 11:34   #23
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Just to get something on the board.. not easy with the game running almost double the speed it should!
But it's my choice to stick with whd version, so be it!
I'm wondering if the new slave is intended to be released during this competition. I can play on my A600 with Kick1.3 okay but it's a pain to keep swapping it out for my A1200.

I think I will leave my score as is unless an fps locked A1200 slave appears. Although it will be easily beaten I've reached a personal goal of completing all the tracks for the first time.
john1979 is offline  
Old 12 May 2014, 22:16   #24
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,919
Here are my current best scores. I got all the known footballs on track 1, but not on the others. I reckon I can probably eek out another 10k or more if I feel like torturing myself some more - it would require perfect runs!



T1: 099,200
T2: 104,440
T3: 100,400
T4: 098,800
T5: 099,570

------------
502,410
------------
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_LW_T1_99200.png
Views:	103
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	39954   Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_LW_T2_104440.png
Views:	104
Size:	13.3 KB
ID:	39955   Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_LW_T3_100400.png
Views:	101
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	39956   Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_LW_T4_98800.png
Views:	102
Size:	11.7 KB
ID:	39957   Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_LW_T5_99570.png
Views:	97
Size:	13.8 KB
ID:	39958  


Last edited by Lonewolf10; 12 May 2014 at 22:19. Reason: Forgot to attach images!
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 13 May 2014, 00:59   #25
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
I'm wondering if the new slave is intended to be released during this competition.
Codetapper is aware the round is underway but I've no idea when it will be released and don't want to pester him about it
ED-209 is offline  
Old 13 May 2014, 01:02   #26
capehorn
Registered User
capehorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Age: 34
Posts: 1,320
First try, one go on each track without any practice:

Offroad: 105,110
North: 109,040
East: 116,790
West: 118,220
South: 124,800

Total: 573,960
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_014.png
Views:	109
Size:	9.4 KB
ID:	39962   Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_016.png
Views:	111
Size:	9.6 KB
ID:	39963   Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_018.png
Views:	109
Size:	10.2 KB
ID:	39964   Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_019.png
Views:	101
Size:	9.8 KB
ID:	39965   Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_020.png
Views:	115
Size:	10.2 KB
ID:	39966  

capehorn is offline  
Old 13 May 2014, 14:52   #27
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,143
There's a new beta WHDLoad version in the zone with a frame rate limiter (you can pick the speed you want which might allow cheating), infinite time trainer (no bonus time given if you use it) and hopefully fixes the hang when you crash into rocks on one version.

I haven't got time to test it on a real Amiga, only WinUAE at this stage.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 13 May 2014, 18:33   #28
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,021
wow codetapper. Great stuff. So are we allowed to use this version Graham? I mean, what was that about a frame rate limiter somehow allowing cheating?
lifeschool is offline  
Old 13 May 2014, 20:46   #29
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
This is great Codetapper, thanks for the updated slave.

Works okay on a real 1200 with stock CPU.

After playing on my A600, the default 10fps runs too fast. Setting the limiter to 8fps equals the A600 for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeschool
So are we allowed to use this version Graham? I mean, what was that about a frame rate limiter somehow allowing cheating?
Maybe we can have a gentleman's agreement amongst us not to limit the frame rate to 6/7? I did try playing at 6fps and it was a lot easier (but boring too )

edit: After trying 25fps limit, there does not feel much difference between that and 10fps limit. When choosing 8fps, the difference is marked.
So far my favourite is setting NTSC mode and limiting to 7fps. Now it is like playing at PAL speeds but in full screen

Last edited by john1979; 13 May 2014 at 20:53.
john1979 is offline  
Old 13 May 2014, 21:58   #30
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
Maybe we can have a gentleman's agreement amongst us not to limit the frame rate to 6/7? I did try playing at 6fps and it was a lot easier (but boring too )
With winuae the player can adjust those fps settings with or without the slave, so really that kind of behaviour should already be off the table.

I always thought the games native running speed was 8fps, and I say that in the review, but I cant remember the source of that info now. If you say 8 felt fine then I'd say that is the right speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
edit: After trying 25fps limit, there does not feel much difference between that and 10fps limit. When choosing 8fps, the difference is marked.
With cycle exact 7mhz setting it makes no difference, but on 030, yes the 8fps option is perfect for the game, but A500 speed setting is set to 10fps (I feel) and plays too fast. I cant see any point whatsoever even having a 6fps option.

Last edited by lifeschool; 13 May 2014 at 22:15.
lifeschool is offline  
Old 14 May 2014, 05:09   #31
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,143
To calculate the (assumed) default 10fps speed I ran a cycle exact A500 config under WinUAE and breakpointed the VBL and counted the refresh rate during the game. It was consistently displaying a frame every 5 frames, hence I guessed 10fps was the correct speed for an A500.

I'm happy to change it to 8 fps if you guys think that is the correct speed.

The 25fps and 16fps are more for a laugh, they're unplayably fast. Unless someone could find the code that moves your car along the track and could half the distance travelled - then you'd get an ultra smooth game. But I suspect it's a lot harder than that.

I'll test the game on my A1200 tonight a bit. But if people want to post their thoughts on what speeds should be there and what should be the defaults, I'm happy to change the final version. I'm just happy nobody is reporting actual bugs so far
Codetapper is offline  
Old 14 May 2014, 07:31   #32
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
I compared the speed to A500 CE and 8fps looks spot on, so that should be default IMO.
Also I agree with lifeschool that there's not much point having selectable speeds lower then 8.
Number of bugs found = 0
ED-209 is offline  
Old 14 May 2014, 11:11   #33
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
I'm just happy nobody is reporting actual bugs so far
I don't know if you want to count what lifeschool and myself found as a bug, but it seems that the 25fps and 10fps setting are currently running at the same speed.

edit:
I did say to see lifeschool's video of this but I can't find it now. Maybe when you get chance to run it on your 1200 later, see what you think of the difference between the two modes.
john1979 is offline  
Old 14 May 2014, 13:58   #34
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,021
Ha ha, you saw my video. That was taken running at 000 speeds and as I say, it didnt make any difference so I removed the identinal screenshot video immediately. Basically the game is limited by your cpu, so with 000 it cant do anything other than 8fps no matter what you do. With A1200 020 it might not be possible to activate the full 25fps option and it might only run at 10fps max? With the 030 it runs full speed.

edit: no 'hang' / 'freeze' bug so far, but I've only given it a quick blast with the 030. Before though it would usually freeze with the first crash so I'd say something must be working. 8fps seems perfect.

Last edited by lifeschool; 14 May 2014 at 14:04.
lifeschool is offline  
Old 14 May 2014, 14:22   #35
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeschool View Post
Ha ha, you saw my video. That was taken running at 000 speeds and as I say, it didnt make any difference so I removed the identinal screenshot video immediately.
Ah, I clicked the link straight out of the email subscription. A small problem with post edits is that anyone subscribed still sees the original post I guess.

Quote:
Basically the game is limited by your cpu, so with 000 it cant do anything other than 8fps no matter what you do. With A1200 020 it might not be possible to activate the full 25fps option and it might only run at 10fps max? With the 030 it runs full speed.
Makes sense.

If we take the rough value of NTSC mode being 19.9% faster than PAL (or PAL being 16.7% slower, the result is the same). Running the game at 7fps limit with NTSC enabled gives 8.39fps. The speed increase is barely noticeable, and I really enjoy games being fullscreen, so this is the way I'll play for the rest of the round as long there are no objections.
john1979 is offline  
Old 14 May 2014, 19:50   #36
capehorn
Registered User
capehorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Age: 34
Posts: 1,320
I used Lifeschool's video to identify all the rock footballs, then did a run of my own, I got very close to the score he set in that video, when I checked, his score was better by 60 points! I wasn't having that so I pushed a little harder, tried to iron out the creases in my run. I reckon the sequence that begins with the red flag is the best one to start with on this track as you seem to link up the flags a little better. I crashed once, so another 1,000 points is possible, more if there are any rock footballs that we don't know about.

Offroad: 105,110
North: 143,080
East: 116,790
West: 118,220
South: 124,800

Total: 608,000
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BuggyBoy_025.png
Views:	96
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	39991  
capehorn is offline  
Old 14 May 2014, 21:27   #37
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
I don't know if you want to count what lifeschool and myself found as a bug, but it seems that the 25fps and 10fps setting are currently running at the same speed.
Remember those frame rates are the absolute maximum speeds that the game will run at. If the Amiga (or emulated Amiga) can't keep up with that, it'll be slower.

There is definitely a speed difference, if you run the game at 25fps then use a stopwatch to see how long the 70 game seconds take, then do the same at 10fps, you'll notice a much faster game at 25fps.

But it is ridiculously fast, so maybe I'll remove anything above 12.5fps.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 14 May 2014, 21:33   #38
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 304
I've been using the beta patch and have to say at present my favourite FPS has to be 17 at present. I think there's a place for those high FPS. I made a quick video on my phone to check against the arcade, at 25 fps the Amiga is finishing the stages earlier but at 17 it seems highly comparable, 13 even more so although I think the arcade starts getting away just a little.
The quicker finishing speeds may be down to the track design on the Amiga ie. the straight sections etc aren't 100% accurate to the arcade in their actual length.
In any case, it certainly seems smoother at the higher frame rates and makes the game much more enjoyable to me, so although 25 fps is maybe a touch too fast to compete I had a lot of fun with it!
No crashes on real 030, 2 stages complete. I was going to wait until I'd done them all before posting, but I can see the need for some feedback.
leathered is offline  
Old 16 May 2014, 19:15   #39
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 2,282
Offroad: 63,790
North: 37,550
East: 40,250
West: 39,220 - no change
South: 51,400 - no change

Total: 232,210
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	025.png
Views:	87
Size:	3.7 KB
ID:	40016   Click image for larger version

Name:	026.png
Views:	80
Size:	3.8 KB
ID:	40017   Click image for larger version

Name:	028.png
Views:	94
Size:	3.9 KB
ID:	40018  
mailman is offline  
Old 16 May 2014, 23:35   #40
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Score improvements on Offroad and North. Run out of energy for the time being. Will try to improve East and West next week.

Offroad: 98890
North: 108990

East: 92830
South: 96370
West: 96600

Total: 493680
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	offroad98890.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	33.3 KB
ID:	40024   Click image for larger version

Name:	north108990.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	36.2 KB
ID:	40025  
john1979 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EAB/Lemon Super League 2014: Round 5 - Hybris Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 68 04 May 2014 01:03
EAB/Lemon Super League 2014: Round 3 - Klax Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 32 23 March 2014 10:36
EAB/Lemon Super League 2014: Round 2 - Pang mihcael EAB's competition 28 03 March 2014 14:18
EAB/Lemon Super League 2014: Round 2 - Superfrog mihcael EAB's competition 24 02 March 2014 13:39
EAB/Lemon Super League 2012: Round 5 - Buggy Boy Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 32 06 May 2012 01:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10002 seconds with 14 queries