English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2020, 13:23   #1
walkero
Registered User

walkero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 67
FS-UAE questions

Hello guys. I have a few questions about FS-UAE, and I wonder if anyone could help me with these.


1. Is there a way to start FS-UAE with no window show up? Let's say that I want it to run some kind of scripts only and nothing more.
2. Is there a way or application from amigaos side to shutdown the emulated machine, so that FS-UAE terminates? This is relevant with the above, because if it runs headless, I need this to be able to close as well and not keep task always running, that will need to be closed manually


Thank you for your help guys.
walkero is offline  
Old 24 August 2020, 22:03   #2
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkero View Post
Hello guys. I have a few questions about FS-UAE, and I wonder if anyone could help me with these.
Have you noticed there's a sub-forum called "support.FS-UAE" here?
britelite is offline  
Old 24 August 2020, 22:05   #3
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,740
LOL, I was going to say that but since I'm no longer a GMod.

...not really my problem; I need to stop trying to correct things and just be a normal member
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 August 2020, 22:41   #4
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 48
Posts: 3,076
Yes, take it a post at the time, doubleD. It is time to stop being helpful, and have some fun.

@ walkero - answer to both questions is yes. there is a way.

ps. in reality answer to all questions is 42... but again...
Anubis is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 12:36   #5
walkero
Registered User

walkero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 67
@britelite
You are so right. My mistake. Sorry for that guys.

@Anubis
Thanks for your reply. Can you please elaborate on how this can be done? Or direct me to any documentation/url that could be helpful? Thanks
walkero is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 12:39   #6
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 54
Posts: 1,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
Have you noticed there's a sub-forum called "support.FS-UAE" here?
@walkero PLEASE READ ABOVE... Stop posting here
Methanoid is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 12:41   #7
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
@walkero PLEASE READ ABOVE... Stop posting here
It's done now, so walkero should continue to post in this thread

We need a GMod to move to the correct section though.
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 14:44   #8
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 48
Posts: 3,076
Where is that Il....something GM when you need him?? Probably watchin' my Ironman post in OT area...

@ walkero - gladly, once you start posting in right places. Here we can talk about amiga scene. ps. note, I did answer your questions.

Mr. 3000 now.


Last edited by Anubis; 25 August 2020 at 15:00.
Anubis is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 15:20   #9
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Mr. 3000 now.
Nice one, I'm now close to 18,000 posts

How sad...

I think only Toni Wilen, Akira and TCD have more posts
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 19:10   #10
walkero
Registered User

walkero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 67
@moderators
Can someone move this to the right section, please?
walkero is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 19:28   #11
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 361
People here are being *VERY* unhelpful, and downright rude. Like a clique. You guys should honestly be ashamed. The guy's just asking for some help!

To answer your questions @walkero:

1. No. Looking at the source we can see there's a "headless" option but it doesn't seem to do anything. An issue was raised in 2015 about it but it looks like nothing's happened since then.

2. It's possible with WinUAE using the command "UAEquit" which comes in the WinUAE archive in the "Amiga Programs" directory. I would assume it would work in FS-UAE too since they're using the same core, but you would have to test yourself to make sure.
Radertified is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 19:40   #12
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,740
I would have assisted but I've never used FS-UAE in my life so...

I can tell him how to do this in WinUAE though
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 22:03   #13
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 48
Posts: 3,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radertified View Post
People here are being *VERY* unhelpful, and downright rude. Like a clique. You guys should honestly be ashamed. The guy's just asking for some help!

To answer your questions @walkero:

1. No. Looking at the source we can see there's a "headless" option but it doesn't seem to do anything. An issue was raised in 2015 about it but it looks like nothing's happened since then.

2. It's possible with WinUAE using the command "UAEquit" which comes in the WinUAE archive in the "Amiga Programs" directory. I would assume it would work in FS-UAE too since they're using the same core, but you would have to test yourself to make sure.
Really ashamed that mods didn't do anything yet... where is DoubleD... oh wait, he is no mod.

I misunderstood first question, I was under impression you want to start something in FS-UAE without showing startup screen.

Here is nice tutorial how to automate some stuff with FS-UAE and use LB as front end.

[ Show youtube player ]
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 August 2020, 02:30   #14
walkero
Registered User

walkero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 67
Thank you guys for your help and comments. I will see what I can do, maybe with winuae, if this is possible, although I would prefer to not add one more layer, like the wine for linux. But maybe it is the only solution for now.

Thanks again everyone.
walkero is offline  
Old 26 October 2020, 04:34   #15
ztronzo
Registered User

ztronzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkero View Post
Thank you guys for your help and comments. I will see what I can do, maybe with winuae, if this is possible, although I would prefer to not add one more layer, like the wine for linux. But maybe it is the only solution for now.

Thanks again everyone.
1. You run the emulator with the option window_minimized=1
2. you can also use the UAEquit from UAE control tools available in Aminet.net


Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
ztronzo is offline  
Old 26 October 2020, 06:52   #16
Weaselrama
Registered Voter

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 59
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radertified View Post
People here are being *VERY* unhelpful, and downright rude. Like a clique. You guys should honestly be ashamed. The guy's just asking for some help!

To answer your questions @walkero:
Indeed, and thanks for trying to answer his questions. A good mod would have gently led him in the right direction. A bad one would have been rude and snarky, riding high 'top that high horse. We were all new here once, trying to drink it all in, the different forums, and appreciating their uses. Of course, these guys NEVER put a wrong foot forward in all the time they spent on EAB, right?

WELCOME to the Forum, Walkero. True story, man...I tried to cash-in my number of EAB forum posts on PayPal and now my account's been suspended...I just can't figure out why.
Weaselrama is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE: some questions legolas119 support.FS-UAE 8 10 May 2020 19:42
Some questions about FS-UAE legolas119 support.FS-UAE 9 05 May 2019 20:47
FS-UAE questions palaste support.FS-UAE 7 18 October 2015 03:39
Questions about FS-UAE bombseb support.FS-UAE 7 09 June 2014 15:44
E-UAE a few Questions Washac support.OtherUAE 2 20 February 2012 18:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11172 seconds with 13 queries