English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2020, 00:34   #1
Noob-tech-ninja
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Question New start > Worms TDC > D-Paint >

Hi there guys.

I'm experiencing a massive Amiga retro-rush at the moment.

I've been using FS-UAE via Linux to play some awesome old Amiga games and utills.

I also have a real physical A-1200 with an external floppy disk drive
and a few hundred floppy disks, that I'd eventually like to get
transferred across to my main PC for backup.

I have bought Amiga Forever Premium (2005) quite some time ago.
That has all of the Amiga roms and even has a modified WB disk / image / ADF

I've had a decent look around the FS-UAE website and guides.

What I'd like to do is:

1. To run D-Paint or PPaint, to create some custom levels for Worms
Directors Cut. Save them on the virutal HDD, then copy those files into
the Worms DC dir, to play.

I can run Worms from floppy as ADF's

I can get D-Paint running (again from ADF's)
But I cant seem to save any work (D-Paint doesnt see any of my dirs)

I set up a baisc A-1200, the Amiga Forever WB disk in DF0:
and mounted some dirs from within FS-UAE (when I set up the
configuration) in the HDD section

Would it be easier to create these levels in MT-Paint or Krita on Linux
and then convert them to ILMB / IFF (how ?), and then use these image
files inside the emulated Amiga ?


2. Create a persistent Amiga config, that acts like an Amiga with
decent spec and HDD. So that I can use it to create art in D-Paint
and music in Octamed, etc, etc,

Whats the best way to go about this ?

Using the FS-UAE to mount dirs as Amiga volumes ?

Or create actual/(virtual) Amiga HDD volumes
(as in, re-size, and format parts of my host HDD to create actual
Amiga HDD volumes) ?

I have the Amiga Forever Workbench 3.X version of WB
So I'm hoping that will provide me with a decent base to start from ?



Useful information:
Amiga emulator: FS-UAE 2.8.3 (downloaded from Synaptic)

PC details
OS: Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
OS type: 64-bit
DE: KDE 5.12.9
Kernel: 4.15.0-99-generic
CPU: 4x Intel Core-2 Q8200 (@2.33 Ghz)
RAM: 8GB
Noob-tech-ninja is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 21:58   #2
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 202
Hi,
first I'm not familiar with Amiga Forever. But if you boot the standard Workbench 3.1 disk on a Kick 3.1 system you should be able to see all "harddrive" directories on the workbench screen.

If this is not the case I would double check that you have the correct kickstart for you setup (Amiga 1200 or 4000 should be green in the "Import Kickstarts..." dialog).

If you can see a directory-harddrive and have a complete set of Workbench 3.1 disks, I would suggest to create a harddrive based system.

Another option would be to create a blank ADF (there is a creator in the FS-UAE menu) and mount it as df1: in both your DPaint and Worms session.
Jerry is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deluxe Paint III / Deluxe Paint IV Cheat sheet redblade Graphics. Tutorials 6 22 May 2020 02:42
Is Worms DC really the best version of Worms 1? NeonBible Retrogaming General Discussion 24 02 July 2015 22:39
Cyber Paint, Atari ST. King of the paint programs Fred the Fop Nostalgia & memories 56 23 April 2009 03:29
Worms & Worms DC (WInUAE) Charon support.Games 3 12 April 2006 16:51
command line to start a confil + start the game Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 17 October 2004 11:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07023 seconds with 15 queries