English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2020, 14:17   #1
steve_mynott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: london
Posts: 47
Closer integration with Linux host?

I've been running fs-uae on linux for a while and wondered if closer integration with linux were possible.

The sort of thing I'm thinking of is being able to launch amiga apps directly from the linux menu system (or shell scripts or whatever) and ideally the other way around (linux chrome in an AmigaOs window) .Also being able to copy and paste between linux and AmigaOS.

I've played a bit with Icaros Desktop and it can do much of this and also watched a video from Stephen Jones where he was demo'ing this sort of stuff with amiberry and amigakit.

Can I do this with fs-uae?
steve_mynott is offline  
Old 05 November 2020, 19:04   #2
steve_mynott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: london
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_mynott View Post
I've been running fs-uae on linux for a while and wondered if closer integration with linux were possible.

The sort of thing I'm thinking of is being able to launch amiga apps directly from the linux menu system (or shell scripts or whatever) and ideally the other way around (linux chrome in an AmigaOs window) .Also being able to copy and paste between linux and AmigaOS.

I've played a bit with Icaros Desktop and it can do much of this and also watched a video from Stephen Jones where he was demo'ing this sort of stuff with amiberry and amigakit.

Can I do this with fs-uae?
I think it's the "rabbithole" feature I'm after which is part of amikit.

Not sure if it's available separately?
steve_mynott is offline  
Old 08 November 2020, 22:25   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,711
There isn't really any such feature available for FS-UAE, but...

Launching apps inside the Amiga - and vice versa - can be done using a combination of m68k code and host code using uaenative.library integration. Someone would have to do it, but it can be done without modifications to FS-UAE itself.

(Launching Amiga apps and pretend they are host apps with one window per application is something else entirely, I don't know if you meant that).

Clipboard integration is already possible via the `clipboard_integration` option (disabled by default).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integration OS3.1.4/3.9 AMIGASYSTEM support.Apps 30 02 February 2019 19:52
Icaros and 68k integration OlafSch Amiga scene 4 21 January 2013 14:07
Amithlon alike integration arti request.UAE Wishlist 1 21 February 2010 09:59
Windows/Amiga integration vodley support.WinUAE 1 28 June 2008 20:32
demo : Closer / CNCD Frog support.WinUAE 10 30 July 2007 12:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09363 seconds with 15 queries