English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. AMOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2019, 11:31   #1
ecalius
Registered User
ecalius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Mataró/Spain
Age: 45
Posts: 2
Diablo demo conversion for Amiga!!!

Hello Friends!!
After a long time I'm back, I'm the creator of "Meteor Defender", which I programmed in AMOS Professional un 2015, I tried to program "Gothikus: The Deeper Dungeons", the isometric clone Diablo type, but for lack of time, and why I became father again, not being able to sleep, not resting, etc, you understand me, I had to leave. Now, my children are bigger, and I have a little more time, so I'm taking advantage of it in a project, "Diablo" for our beloved "Amiga" platform, it will only be a level 1 conversion demo, programmed entirely in AMOS Professional. Here I give you the link to a vídeo of my channel, where I will show progress, a greetings!!! ;-)

[ Show youtube player ]
ecalius is offline  
Old 19 June 2019, 11:42   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,246
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Neat idea!

Will you be releasing the source code once it's ready?
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 20 June 2019, 09:15   #3
ecalius
Registered User
ecalius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Mataró/Spain
Age: 45
Posts: 2
Hi!! I still do not know, because it's soon , the game will be compiled , and free digital download! ;-)
ecalius is offline  
Old 20 June 2019, 09:24   #4
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecalius View Post
free digital download! ;-)

Good luck with Blizzard / Activision behind your back
Predseda is offline  
Old 20 June 2019, 09:55   #5
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
Good luck with Blizzard / Activision behind your back
Do you think that they will jump on his back only for a 1 level conversion demo ?


By the way, here is the deepl.com translation of the small text going with the video on youtube :
Quote:
Small preview of the Diablo game demo conversion, tested on my Amiga 500+, CPU 68020 at 21 MHz, 2 Mb of Chip, and 63 Mb of Fast. The game in principle will need 2 Mb of Chip, and 6 Mb of Fast. The development progresses slowly, you can see the kinematics in Half Brite mode of 64 colours, and the menu in 640x256 16 colours.!!;-)
malko is offline  
Old 21 June 2019, 09:37   #6
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 390
This has the potential to be insanely brilliant. Best of luck with it.
twiggy is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 23:06   #7
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 76
There are source ports of Diablo available now. There's a quick-and-dirty port for the Nintendo Switch, for example. See this video here:

[ Show youtube player ]

github repository for the "diablo player":

https://github.com/diasurgical/devilutionX
b0lt-thrower is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 23:43   #8
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,098
This is just an Anim and iffs of the menu

Diablo has a Mac 68k version? So it will run under Shapeshifter.

Unfortunately its probably only Mac PPC.

Last edited by Retro1234; 02 July 2019 at 00:07.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 00:43   #9
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,155
The key feature of Diablo 2 that will be difficult to emulate is the graphics system. It does two things that are fairly tricky to do quickly using native Amiga hardware: draw with lots of overlap (i.e. the isometric screen layout forces lots of transparent tiles in front of the player/monsters/etc) and draw large sections of the screen with different lighting levels whenever the player moves.

The dynamic lighting is probably going to be hardest to implement with any speed, but don't underestimate the cost of having to deal with transparent tiles the player/monsters can get behind.

Come to think of it, Diablo shows an awful lot of monsters on screen. That too will be tricky. On the other hand, the good news is that IIRC it doesn't actually run at 60Hz so you do have more time. That said, AMOS isn't quick and the PC version did require a fairly fast PC (for the time).
roondar is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 01:18   #10
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,246
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
There's one opportunity for bitplane optimized blitting that tha PC didn't have in its 16-bit screenmode. The lightsourcing can be done to only the last 2 bitplanes in EHB and the base colors drawn in the other 4 bitplanes. This also allows the hybrid blitter/hardware scrolling techniques to be used on the base colors also.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 03:46   #11
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
This is just an Anim and iffs of the menu

Diablo has a Mac 68k version? So it will run under Shapeshifter.

Unfortunately its probably only Mac PPC.
Yes, it is PPC-only.

Originally, Diablo required a pentium class machine and at least 8mb RAM.

However, with the right coders, perhaps an optimized version could be created for the Amiga...?
b0lt-thrower is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 21:15   #12
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
There's one opportunity for bitplane optimized blitting that tha PC didn't have in its 16-bit screenmode. The lightsourcing can be done to only the last 2 bitplanes in EHB and the base colors drawn in the other 4 bitplanes. This also allows the hybrid blitter/hardware scrolling techniques to be used on the base colors also.
This is true, but I'm still really doubtful. Drawing most of two bitplanes on an OCS machine takes up a significant part of total available resources given you're using EHB.

Note: I'm not trying to tell people not to try this, I'm pointing out that Diablo is deceptive - it does a lot more work than you might think. Getting a match to that on a system that has a graphics system and a CPU that are much slower for these kind of operations, while using (essentially) a compiled form of BASIC seems a lot to ask.

Remember, Diablo required a 60Mhz Pentium class processor. That's on the order of 10x faster than a 68030 and probably slightly faster than a 50Mhz 68060 (this is debatable, though). It was also made in C and part assembly. Like I said, it seems a big ask.

If I had to do this, I'd start with the hard part - get the main screen going. See if that, coupled with the light sourcing, works and is still acceptable in performance. If that works out on the target hardware, then start adding (a stand in for the) player and monsters and projectiles and see what can be achieved.
roondar is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 21:52   #13
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 906
also, won't it look crap in 320x256?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 23:21   #14
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,246
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
also, won't it look crap in 320x256?
I'm less concerned with the resolution than the color depth. EHB can't represent a spread palette very well and 5 bitplanes are a tight fit for the lightsourcing. It would definitely look better with AGA depth and rendering the inventory and stats to 2 AGA sprites for sidebars would be much faster.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 00:41   #15
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,155
I'd say the base idea has merit though, with a few changes this could still be awesome. The Amiga could use a isometric action based rogue-like. It may not be possible to make it 'Diablo', but a similar idea implemented inside of the systems limits would, IMHO, be a really nice idea.

Perhaps changing the idea a bit could make this work and lead to a nice game!
roondar is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 03:35   #16
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,246
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
I agree!
Samurai_Crow is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cuddly Diablo 3 thread gimbal OT - Gaming 12 08 January 2016 08:44
Diablo 1 like game for Amiga? diablothe2nd Amiga scene 6 24 May 2014 23:51
OT: X-Box and Diablo x lucadip Retrogaming General Discussion 28 18 September 2008 19:15
Diablo III Shoonay Retrogaming General Discussion 60 16 September 2008 03:39
REQ : Diablo (Bomico) ! RetroMan request.Old Rare Games 11 23 May 2002 01:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08247 seconds with 14 queries