English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 June 2018, 16:43   #21
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Demos are only run very occasionally. Most people who use DOpus would run it almost every time the machine was booted.

What I'm getting at, is it would be nice to eliminate the script you're currently using to run it. It's simply unnecessary (as is a temporary directory on what is already a temporary drive!)
Not on my PC, they're not. I'm always watching demos. I'm obsessed with Amiga demos.

The script is there because I'm following Meynaf's advice in post #9, and because I may as well include the DOpus execute sequence too, all in one go.

EDIT: Come to think of it, Hewitson, you remind me of a time I wanted to autorun DOpus at startup. The thread still exists here, and I think I might go back to that idea. I wouldn't need an icon for the script, I wouldn't need to modify .backdrop and it would save a double-click.

Last edited by Foebane; 23 June 2018 at 17:18.
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 June 2018, 18:02   #22
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
I've got this working script, and along with starting DOpus in the new folder in RAM:, it's worked fine:

Code:
MAKEDIR RAM:DemoZone
ASSIGN DOpus: SYS:Programs/DirOpus4
SYS:Programs/DirOpus4/DirectoryOpus
I think having to have those two lines just to run DOpus is a bit much, however. But the Assign line IS needed, it seems.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
You should have the DirOpus assign in S:User-Startup.
I've just now moved my above script to the end of User-Startup, as per some helpful advice, as I was always running the script every time I restarted WB anyway, so it saves a double-click and is even better now.
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disk.info (ram disk) - directory?!? honx support.Apps 38 21 January 2018 00:06
Listing files, loading files and allocating all available chip ram. h0ffman Coders. System 16 04 April 2013 21:24
Powering up a stored a500 MoreBITS support.Hardware 8 07 December 2011 18:26
Where are icons stored in workbench? gmiaow New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 11 December 2008 20:36
Newbie question: how to access files on an Amiga disk using PC disk drive? Nethead New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 04 July 2003 23:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05587 seconds with 13 queries