English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 January 2017, 17:34   #1
kaneelschep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 55
Fresh new wb3.1 on a4000! What to install now?

Hi all.

Last few days I had some time to be playing with setting up larger partitions.
Played around on winuae a bit. Messed with some cf's and hd's.
Got the basics of installing and using the amiga back a bit.

So now I just installed a simple new ffs 4gb cf with standard WB3.1 on a real A4000d.
What to install now?

And please dont tell me classic wb.. That takes away all the fun.

So what is the most logical software to install after a fresh install.
I guess the essentials are dopus and installer.
And then?
kaneelschep is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 January 2017, 17:51   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
It depends on what you need or want to do.

I'd first install Poseidon, Roadshow and SMBFS to get access to my network drive with all the backups and downloaded stuff. Then KingCon, StringSnip and CygnusEd for comfortable editing. FreeWheel. Gfx card drivers. Warp-Datatypes for PNG and JPEG. A nice background image for the Workbench. Usually several images and my own program to ramdomly switch wallpapers. My own WBDock program. At some point usually follows NDK 3.9 and VBCC for development.
thomas is offline  
Old 21 January 2017, 18:45   #3
kaneelschep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 55
Nice! And very specific.
I dont have any network based hardware. My 28k modem was my bridge to the world when I was young. Now I use a hardfile on winuae to put my files on the cf.

I thought more along the lines of the really basics first.
Wich you need to even use most programms.
Reqtools? Mui?

Yes a dock is a very good thing!
also the backgrounds and videocard drivers.
Since I do have a videocard yes.
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/egs28
What software to use with it?

Also have a scsicard
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/wordsync
Probably just use suprascsi

Maybe I will focus on those first.

I would maybe like to make/listen music. I got the protrackers. hippoplayer. octamed.
kaneelschep is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:21   #4
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 244
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
MagicWB, WHDload...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
seb132 is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:21   #5
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 244
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
BetterWB...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
seb132 is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:38   #6
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaneelschep View Post
...So now I just installed a simple new ffs 4gb cf with standard WB3.1 on a real A4000d.
What to install now? ...
The answer is that you have to try different setups. If you don't, you always be wondering what are you missing. That's my point of view.

So just buy some CFs to use as HD's and try some. Of course the easiest way to know what do you really want/need is trying it on WinUAE first.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 02:37   #7
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,443
KingCON, TurboText, ToolsDaemon, NoClick. Put MouseBlanker and Exchange in WBstartup.
idrougge is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 02:47   #8
kaneelschep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 55
I messed around with winuae a lot allready. I have 3 4gb and 2 1gb cf's and 2 ide and one scsi hd's with ffs and sfs.
Well basicly I got a whole pile of older harddisks.
And I grew up with the amiga making music, editing pictures, watching movies, playing games, etc.
Even have my original hd's from the beginning of the 90's.

But what I was really interested in, is what people put on it nowadays as the pure basics just after the workbench. To make everything work correctly.
since a lot of time went by and newer things came out.
I read about the newer setpatch, ffs, scsi.device, loading rom into ram, agapatch, etc.
But do we really need it?

But hearing what kind of programs you use is good too.
Like the dock was a good idea. picture viewers definetely. the wheelmouse.
kaneelschep is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 10:30   #9
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,930
Yes, any updates to core components are a good idea, so update Setpatch, FFS etc. (though really you should use a different file system entirely). Things like FBlit and FText will speed up your graphics operations by using the CPU and fast RAM instead of the blitter and chip RAM, though I don't know if the difference is worth it on an A4000 with only motherboard fast RAM.

If you have a wheel mouse (and an adaptor that supports them), install FreeWheel to let you use the wheel in any window.

Personally, one of the first things I do on a new install is move ClickToFront and Exchange to WBStartup and set ClickToFront to work on a double click.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 26 January 2017, 04:07   #10
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
You have started all wrong. You need to use a filesystem not created for floppy disks. As far as I know you have two options; sfs2 and pfs3. sfs seems much more reliable for me.

OR.. Do we need FastFilesystem for CF cards? Maybe I need to learn something? I'm not sure

Last edited by ancalimon; 26 January 2017 at 04:20.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 26 January 2017, 12:17   #11
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Personally, one of the first things I do on a new install is move ClickToFront and Exchange to WBStartup and set ClickToFront to work on a double click.
Same here.
idrougge is offline  
Old 26 January 2017, 12:17   #12
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
OR.. Do we need FastFilesystem for CF cards? Maybe I need to learn something? I'm not sure
No, you certainly don't.
idrougge is offline  
Old 26 January 2017, 15:11   #13
esc
 
Posts: n/a
I've had plenty of good results with pfs3 on CF cards.

I recently wanted to try a "virgin" wb3.1 installation and add components. I typically use ClassicWB and have no complaints, but I'd like to see how to start with a plain vanilla workbench and build something like that. So I'm monitoring this thread
 
Old 20 June 2018, 11:06   #14
kaneelschep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 55
I didnt have time for the amiga untill recently. :P
And first thing I did, was get a large hd to work on my Amiga 4000-040.
With sfs and idefix97 it was very doable. Took me a few days of reading and trying and then some more reading. Reading is key :P
Now I can store all my images on my real amiga, instead of having to network or winuae. I got real real bored of swapping out the hd constantly and not being able to close my amiga.

My videodrivers are next to figure out, since I am quite bored of the old 1942 too..
And I have a 32inch sony lcd tv collecting dust.
Also have supra scsi card to play with. But I only have one scsi harddisk. Which is actually my harddisk from back in the days we used the amiga for everything.

My own recommendations to put on any amiga first is Directory opus, Cygnused, SFS, yes forget ffs.. , Idefix or scsi.device replacement, setpatch, lha, adf/dms writer reader to choice, diskimage. whdload. then mui, maybe magicwb. but registering that is a bit of a pain.
kaneelschep is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 11:22   #15
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 244
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Great thread! If you do nothing of your 1942 I’d be happy to take it of your hands!
seb132 is offline  
Old 26 June 2018, 09:58   #16
kaneelschep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 55
Hahaha noo. I'd say never ever sell anything amiga related.
I keep the 1942 ;-)
kaneelschep is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 WB3.9 68060 PPC HD Install JZon support.WinUAE 29 10 November 2016 00:36
all games give garbled white static after fresh install Sephnroth project.WHDLoad 2 28 December 2015 17:50
Fresh install FS-UAE need help Kitty support.FS-UAE 2 04 August 2014 15:19
WB3.1 install on 4GB Compact Flash - video resolutions? eebuckeye support.Hardware 3 25 April 2014 03:18
Install cdrom in A4000 haribootje support.Hardware 20 30 August 2003 20:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08070 seconds with 13 queries