English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 September 2008, 10:46   #1
Vars191
The Red Baron Rides Again
Vars191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 324
Cool Speed problems with some games ( to fast)

Speed problems with some games ( to fast)

I have noticed that some games go to fast on WINUAE
set as a 1200 but when played on a real 1200 it works fine
pushover, Indiana Jones (arcade)
Vars191 is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 10:47   #2
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Is JIT on? Maybe that could be a problem.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 11:00   #3
Vars191
The Red Baron Rides Again
Vars191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
Is JIT on? Maybe that could be a problem.
JIT is not on
Vars191 is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 11:11   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
How much faster are they? Just a bit or double speed?
If you look at the 'CPU and FPU' window while you play which of the settings of 'CPU Emulation Speed' is selected?
TCD is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 11:19   #5
Vars191
The Red Baron Rides Again
Vars191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
How much faster are they? Just a bit or double speed?
If you look at the 'CPU and FPU' window while you play which of the settings of 'CPU Emulation Speed' is selected?
Depending on the game it is about 2-3 faster, CPU 68020
Vars191 is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 11:28   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,047
It is working as designed. For more information, read older threads
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 September 2008, 12:51   #7
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 47
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vars191 View Post
Speed problems with some games ( to fast)

I have noticed that some games go to fast on WINUAE
set as a 1200 but when played on a real 1200 it works fine
pushover, Indiana Jones (arcade)
some games like pushover and others games works very fast because were developed on that way...without sync...the faster cpu = more speed

set on winuae "match A500 speed" and all will be ok
laser is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 13:20   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,047
Push Over does not work "fine" on a real A1200. Clock runs faster than normally. (perhaps some versions are fixed?)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 September 2008, 19:39   #9
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 47
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Push Over does not work "fine" on a real A1200. Clock runs faster than normally. (perhaps some versions are fixed?)
I remember pushover works a bit fast on a plain A1200....if you add a fast turboboard like a 1240 the game runs faster
and not only the main game is accelerated ...also the intro
anyways it's playlable in both cases and I never see a fix
laser is offline  
Old 15 September 2008, 02:08   #10
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
I noticed that phenomenon with Push Over too, but I promptly assumed the game really wasn't worth tampering with.

Similarly, Magic Fly suffers from some timing problems under WinUAE, afaik.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 15 September 2008, 11:09   #11
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Push Over does not work "fine" on a real A1200. Clock runs faster than normally. (perhaps some versions are fixed?)
I seem to remember that there were AGA/0x0 fixed versions of this game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive
I noticed that phenomenon with Push Over too, but I promptly assumed the game really wasn't worth tampering with.
The game is actually pretty nice IMHO.
StingRay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast ATA/EIDE-2 problems Nikolaj_sofus support.Hardware 14 02 June 2010 14:35
WinUAE too fast speed problems (jaguar xj220) weatherlght New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 31 August 2007 07:20
Increasing Fast RAM and speed. fc.studio support.Hardware 9 13 July 2007 11:59
GUI refresh problems + OpenGL Speed Problems in 0.821r4 Danny Bacon support.WinUAE 1 07 June 2002 18:57
Winfellow alpha 042 build 1 DirectX 5 speed problems... 7-Zark-7 support.WinFellow 4 20 December 2001 15:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08551 seconds with 15 queries