English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 February 2019, 19:38   #1
FSonSurface
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 3
FS UAE portable error, wrong paths?

I've been setting up the latest stable build of the portable FS-UAE 64 bit on a usb HD (exFat) going back and forth between two PCs, one with Win 10 Home and one with Win 7 Enterprise.

After I got a list of WHD games working on Win 7 and switched to the Win 10 PC I had to change the drive letter from "F:" to "G:". I did that for all the paths I could find in the settings and tried to launch a game.


I got an error saying something about "no such file.. and referencing the old drive letter from the other pc. I updated the game and file database and tried again, same result.


I went back to the Win7 PC to confirm that FS UAE would still run there to find that my hard drive got corrupted in a way that still let's me copy files from it to other drives, but copy/paste within the drive or renaming files won't work. I also can't create new folders or edit anything else..


Is there anything crucial I have to do in order for FS-UAE to actually be portable? Or did I theoretically try it the right way?


FSonSurface is offline  
Old 08 February 2019, 14:06   #2
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,536
Rather than using absolute path, try to use relative path in configuration.

Portable setting should never care about drive letter.

I use relative path for WinUAE as well.
Anubis is offline  
Old 14 February 2019, 18:40   #3
FSonSurface
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 3
Thanks for the advice. How do I enter relative paths? In settinfs -> filedatabase I can only add folders that end up creating absolute paths..
FSonSurface is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relative paths in FS-UAE / CD32 config file not working zardoz support.FS-UAE 1 26 May 2018 22:23
UAE. Not enough memory or rom paths not found bigbernie support.WinUAE 11 12 August 2013 10:08
FS-UAE Launcher portable? toprak support.FS-UAE 5 11 December 2012 18:17
Trying to have portable configuration, relative paths relative to C:\Public\... ? Turrican support.WinUAE 3 24 June 2011 17:33
LFN support, relative paths in .UAE files didomusicuk request.UAE Wishlist 21 16 August 2009 17:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06319 seconds with 13 queries