English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 December 2018, 22:33   #1
shanekelly_92
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: London
Posts: 7
DD images and FS-UAE

Hi all, sorry if this has been asked before. I'm hoping to have some of the old games I made in AMOS copied off some ancient 3.5 floppies, and have been talking to a specialist disk data firm about this. They are happy to try, but have said that the image will be a straight 'dd' image (dd as in the unix tool, which as far as I understand it is a straight copy block by block). Will I be able to load this into FS-UAE? Have any of you tried this before? If it's a straight sector by sector copy, maybe I can just rename it as an .adf file?

Thanks so much in advance. I appreciate I am new to this community. If I get the games read and working, I'll post them here
shanekelly_92 is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 22:54   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,774
A dd image of an Amiga floppy disk is exactly what we call an ADF. So yes, you can just rename it. Or use it as it is, it does not need to be named in a special way.

However, when you talk about a specialist disk data firm, I hope they don't request too much money from you for the job. Creating image files of Amiga floppy disks is the every day work of many Amiga fans, so it might be much cheaper to send the disks to somebody in your area with an Amiga computer and some means to transfer data between the Amiga and a PC.

There are even tools for PC to read Amiga floppy disks, given that the PC meets certain hardware requirements. For example ADFRead from http://www.winuae.net/download/
thomas is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 23:23   #3
shanekelly_92
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: London
Posts: 7
Thanks Thomas. It's not that much money, and it's a 'nothing to pay if we can't read it'. I would risk it myself, but the disks have been in a drawer for 20 years, and my understanding is that I'd risk damaging the data permanently if I just stuck them in a disk drive. Maybe that's nonsense, though?
shanekelly_92 is offline  
Old 23 December 2018, 15:42   #4
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,474
Not familiar with that. I've had old disks read perfectly fine. Depends on how it was stored. If damp or humid then the disks may have developed mould. But if dry then you're usually good to read.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 23 December 2018, 20:24   #5
shanekelly_92
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: London
Posts: 7
Thanks all for your help!
shanekelly_92 is offline  
Old 05 January 2019, 23:53   #6
shanekelly_92
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: London
Posts: 7
As promised, here is the game (the link is in the thread below):

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=1295457
shanekelly_92 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fs-uae-launcher and fs-uae-arcade (dev versions) linux problems [Solved] esc support.FS-UAE 2 18 November 2014 02:02
Images not showing up in FS-UAE Launcher (2.5.xdev) ShinAbo support.FS-UAE 6 20 August 2014 21:28
Classify games by developpers,year,genre in fs-uae and fs-uae arcade? Sergeb support.FS-UAE 0 19 March 2014 19:00
FS-UAE shows "DF0: Empty" for some ADF images fberger support.FS-UAE 6 03 January 2014 23:58
[FS-UAE] Amiga Game Database for FS-UAE Launcher nexusle support.FS-UAE 31 24 August 2012 21:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06363 seconds with 13 queries