English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 April 2013, 20:27   #1
JonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Looking for an A500+ power supply

Hi there

Noob here, just scored an A500+ with lots of battery damage. Gary needs a new socket, poor fellow, and one of the logic chips is covered in green smeg plus lots of track discolouration, but can't see any breaks yet.

Out with the vinegar!

Anyway, this is in good condition otherwise but I only have the bare unit and I want to resurrect it as cheaply as possible, so I am looking for a power supply and a set of workbench disks (can these things not be downloaded nowadays?). Obviously don't want to pay too much for the brick because I don't know if the board is fixable yet. Maybe borrow one?

Cheers

JonB
JonB is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 20:32   #2
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
theres tons of power supplys on ebay.

the 500+ is deffinitley fixable ive done a few now,the last one i had to replace a 48 pin socket and gary plus a 74ls244.

its resonably easy if you know how.and have the tools for the job.
roy bates is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 20:51   #3
JonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Yes Roy, Gary's new socket is on order and I'm hoping the logic chip's legs can be cleaned so I can stick it in a socket. Got the iron and solder sucker on standby!

Can't test without a power supply though. Hoping to snag one cheap from a fellow enthusiast.
JonB is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 20:52   #4
Lobotomika
Registered User
Lobotomika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in the past and present
Posts: 122
There are many options when it comes to Amiga PSUs. You can get an A1200 or an A600 psu and it'll work fine on your 500+ (also my original Amiga model) Also you convert PC PSUs for the job but they look terrible. Anyway, I thought the old heavy bricks were the strongest of the bunch until recently but have a look at what I found:

(I hope it's actually correct and will help you)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	psu list.png
Views:	136
Size:	2.0 KB
ID:	34919  
Lobotomika is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 21:18   #5
JonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Well, I have just won one on eBay for £9.50. Not sure which one it is, take a look....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	99.1 KB
ID:	34926  
JonB is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 21:21   #6
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
you wont generally be able to tell wich amiga it was from going by the picture it could of been for the 500 500+ or even the 600.

unless it was advertised for the 500 or 500+
roy bates is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 21:21   #7
JonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
And...

...here's a picture of the battery damage. Game over, or fixable in your opinion?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	527.0 KB
ID:	34927  
JonB is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 21:23   #8
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
fixable,youll definitely have to replace the 48 pin socket dont bother trying to clean the 74ls244 just replace it there dirt cheap.

wip the battery out as soon as you can.

oh try to get some flux paste ,it'll make your life so much easer.
roy bates is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 21:22   #9
JonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Thanks Roy

Got the sockets, new 74LS244 and flux paste. Just a matter of finding time. I had a look at the tracks with a light behind them, they all seem unbroken (but of course, may have been converted to non conducting green sludge). Once I get Gary's socket off and the logic chip, I'll do some continuity checks.

Question. The sludge appears to be under the PCB coating. Should I scrape the coating off or just leave working tracks alone? I'm thinking they may continue deteriorating.
JonB is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 21:42   #10
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
try soaking it in vinegar,but remove the chips first and then clean it with water and let it dry out all day,then do the soldering of the chips and sockets with new working parts.

dont bother soaking gary,just clean the legs lightly with wire wool.
roy bates is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 22:08   #11
JonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Ok, thanks. He's me mate, Gary is. Not too mucky to be honest... thank heavens.
JonB is offline  
Old 10 April 2013, 21:41   #12
JonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Well, it's done, the 244 is replaced and lots of fine soldering with prototyping wire to restore the tracks around it. Tested fine. Gary has a new socket, but there is other corrosion to the right of the battery (now removed). But this is near the audio filter according to the PCB. Surely this is not needed to boot up?

The power supply arrived today (why so HUGE?) and I rushed upstairs to try it out. I have a black screen with a green LED on the keyboard. No disk activity. What next?
JonB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: A500 power supply brian8599 MarketPlace 1 10 May 2013 06:20
Wanted A500 Power Supply (35.7W) manic23 MarketPlace 5 17 April 2013 10:10
Wanted - A500 Power Supply mancity MarketPlace 9 16 January 2013 21:36
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 15:10
A500 Power Supply Wanted... Peter MarketPlace 8 12 July 2007 16:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07737 seconds with 14 queries