English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2010, 05:14   #1
BobbyBobBob
ICE CREAM
BobbyBobBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 35
WinUAE Loader + WHDLoad problem

First off, I know this isnt a direct Winuae problem - I figured its a problem for a subsection of winuae users, so it should go in this section? Sorry if it should not.

Anyhoo,

I've set up winuae loader, and downloaded the whdload set from here.

Unfortunately when I click the tools tab and Run Rom, the games list says

2155 of 2230 games found

The obvious games I've seen missing so far (from my 'must have' games list, haha) are speedball 2, xenon 2, legend of kyrandia, frontier, kick off 2, and mega lo mania. I checked that they are in my amiga games folder along with all the other games that do show up, and they are.

Now from what I've read on other forums (here and here) there are a few small problems with the winuae loader whdload.xml file.

I was about to roll my sleeves up and try to find what games are missing and have a go* at editing the xml file to include them, but maybe someone else has done already, and could pass their completed file along? Or perhaps knows what to enter into it for the above games.



*blind wild guess
BobbyBobBob is offline  
Old 05 January 2010, 17:38   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Just a guess, but maybe the GB Amiga finder searches for older slave versions. Try to download some older versions from http://www.whdownload.com/ and try it again.
TCD is offline  
Old 06 January 2010, 08:05   #3
BobbyBobBob
ICE CREAM
BobbyBobBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 35
Thanks again, cyber druid.

Unfortunately I cant see any older versions on that site, they seem to mostly be the versions I have downloaded.

I've been looking at entries for games in the xml file.

Buggy Boy contains: WHDLoad="BuggyBoy.slave PRELOAD BUTTONWAIT;"

Speedball contains: WHDLoad="Speedball.slave PRELOAD;"

I was wondering, is there something in a whdload games zip file that is used to generate the WHDLoad= line?
BobbyBobBob is offline  
Old 06 January 2010, 11:17   #4
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
Is there a line before those entries which moves to the game directory?

Maybe they are not correct?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 06 January 2010, 18:07   #5
BobbyBobBob
ICE CREAM
BobbyBobBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 35
sorry, i'm not entirely sure what you mean...

the xml file is just a series of entries for every game, this is how the beginning looks. no entries at all for the missing games i mentioned above.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<WHDLoad Version="2.5" NumGames="2229">
<Game Name="1000 Miglia" FileName="WHDLoad\1000Miglia_v1.1b.zip" ScrnshotFilename="0\1000_Miglia.png" UseMouse="True" PalNTSC="0" Cd="dh1:1000Miglia;" WHDLoad="1000Miglia.slave PRELOAD;" UAEConfig="cpu_speed=real|immediate_blits=false|cpu_compatible=false|cpu_cycle_exact=false|blitter_cycle_exact=false" />
<Game Name="1000cc Turbo" FileName="WHDLoad\1000ccTurbo_v1.0.zip" ScrnshotFilename="0\1000cc_Turbo.png" UseMouse="True" PalNTSC="0" Cd="dh1:1000ccTurbo;" WHDLoad="1000ccTurbo.slave PRELOAD;" UAEConfig="cpu_speed=real|immediate_blits=false|cpu_compatible=false|cpu_cycle_exact=false|blitter_cycle_exact=false" />
BobbyBobBob is offline  
Old 07 January 2010, 22:35   #6
BobbyBobBob
ICE CREAM
BobbyBobBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 35
lol, it was looking for older versions - i've no idea how i missed that even after you suggested it. too many things open at once i guess so;

legend of kyrandia - exists, but is given its full name of "Fables & Fiends - The Legend of Kyrandia, book one", works

megalomania - changed version number to match zip file, works

kick off 2 - changed version number, works

frontier - changed version number, works

speedball 2 - from another forum, pasted in this code, it works but seems a bit unstable. bottom of the screen flickers sometimes, and occasionally crashes.

Code:
<Game Name="Speedball 2 - Brutal Deluxe" FileName="speedball2_v1.0.zip" ScrnshotFilename="S/Speedball2.png" UseMouse="False" PalNTSC="0" Cd="dh1:speedball2;" WHDLoad="speedball2.slave PRELOAD;" UAEConfig="collision_level=playfields|cpu_speed=real|immediate_blits=false|cpu_compatible=false|cpu_cycle_exact=true|blitter_cycle_exact=true" />
xenon 2 - no entry at all so i tried the code above and swapped speedballs for xenons. seems fine!

Code:
<Game Name="Xenon 2 - Megablast" FileName="Xenon2_v1.9_1Disk_2234.zip" ScrnshotFilename="X/Xenon2.png" UseMouse="False" PalNTSC="0" Cd="dh1:xenon2;" WHDLoad="Xenon21Disk.Slave PRELOAD;" UAEConfig="collision_level=playfields|cpu_speed=real|immediate_blits=false|cpu_compatible=false|cpu_cycle_exact=true|blitter_cycle_exact=true" />
BobbyBobBob is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE Loader wont run in Full Screen - Help Required bilbo1161 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 05 July 2010 18:28
WinUAE WHDLoad Install Problem Kitty project.WHDLoad 97 29 September 2009 04:16
HELP........with getting winuae loader to work. mrbailey1890 support.WinUAE 3 08 July 2009 23:47
winuae 1.44 whdload problem help support.WinUAE 0 14 November 2007 22:54
WinUAE/WHDLoad AGA problem MethodGit support.WinUAE 8 15 June 2001 16:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07200 seconds with 13 queries