English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 July 2020, 16:54   #1
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 720
Super Wormy The Worm-Like Snake. Bugfix 1.1 released

Hi all,

After getting bitten by not testing thoroughly enough. Here is Super Wormy the Worm Like Snake version 1.1

Fixes

Now seems to work fine on Kick1.3.
Now seems to work fine on 1MB CHIP and 1MB FAST.
(Still recommend A1200 though as is slower on ECS).
Changed music and sfx routines to idrougge's blitz lib from phx's player.
Levels after 11 didn't change colour.
Level reached wasn't stored if the game was completed.
Level 14 was impossible, glad I wrote an editor!
Outro was too fast.
Created icons for SuperWormy and WormyEditor (Something I always forget to do!).

(If you find the snake flickering ingame, change the method in options from snake to scroll or vice versa and see if that helps)

Please let this version work...

Enjoy (I hope!)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Wormy1.1.adf.zip (217.2 KB, 180 views)
File Type: zip Wormy1.1.dms.zip (221.6 KB, 66 views)
Coagulus is offline  
Old 26 July 2020, 21:16   #2
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 527
Hi, nice game, plays well on winuae (kick 1.3. 1mb chip, 1mb slow)

But i have noticed a bug or two.

In the options, you can select higher speed than normal, and lower than v.slow. The square is going offscreen.

Then, on some occasion, at the start of the game/level, the game may freeze. (it maybe up to the higher speed setting)
Edit: After a bit more testing, i'm pretty sure it has to do with the music/soundeffects, for when i turn both off, the game will, soon, freeze.

While playing, there may be some hickups, where the screen freezes for a half a second or less.
Then on other occasion, the game would slow down, and then sooner or later come back to the normal speed.

Edit #2: And with even more testings,i came to the conclusion that the Game may require a very specific configuration to work properly.
For example, switching to fastest possible cpu emulation speed,while in game, would cause a freeze to happen. Or would freeze as soon as the game starts.(on winuae 4.3.0 and 4.4.0)

Last edited by Dan; 26 July 2020 at 22:50.
Dan is offline  
Old 26 July 2020, 21:39   #3
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 526
Sweet!! Now that Dan detected these bugs you will be forced to release 1.2 which means the level editor I suggested to you can now be implemented in 1.2!! Weeeeeeeeeeeee!! In the meantime...downloading this version hehe
xboxown is offline  
Old 26 July 2020, 22:55   #4
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Hi, nice game, plays well on winuae (kick 1.3. 1mb chip, 1mb slow)

But i have noticed a bug or two.

In the options, you can select higher speed than normal, and lower than v.slow. The square is going offscreen.
Hmm, well I definitely need to fix that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Then, on some occasion, at the start of the game/level, the game may freeze. (it maybe up to the higher speed setting)
Edit: After a bit more testing, i'm pretty sure it has to do with the music/soundeffects, for when i turn both off, the game will, soon, freeze.
I've never had a freeze. Except in WinFellow when using version 1.0. Will investigte.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
While playing, there may be some hickups, where the screen freezes for a half a second or less.
Then on other occasion, the game would slow down, and then sooner or later come back to the normal speed.
I did get slowdown using A500 config but not A1200 in WinUAE.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Edit #2: And with even more testings,i came to the conclusion that the Game may require a very specific configuration to work properly.
For example, switching to fastest possible cpu emulation speed,while in game, would cause a freeze to happen. (on the newest version and winuae 4.3.0)
That's possible. I don't think I've updated WinUAE to the latest version..

Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Sweet!! Now that Dan detected these bugs you will be forced to release 1.2 which means the level editor I suggested to you can now be implemented in 1.2!! Weeeeeeeeeeeee!! In the meantime...downloading this version hehe
It's certainly looking that way!

Apart from having very large bitmaps I didn't think this game was doing anything particulary hard hitting system wise but there's still some issues which I'll need to look at. Hopefully for now 1.0/1.1 should work for at least more people than before.
Coagulus is offline  
Old 27 July 2020, 14:50   #5
pedgarcia
Vintage is The New Old
pedgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Ottawa/Canada
Posts: 7
Thanks for the update Coagulus.

Coincidentaly I had written an article that included your game and also a video that were published this morning. To make sure the readers will see the new version, I've updated including your bug fixes.

It is a fun game that I see me going back "too" often

Cheers
pedgarcia is offline  
Old 27 July 2020, 23:59   #6
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 443
This was much better Works nice on my Amiga 1200/030 now. The music is little out of tune my friend. I can fix it if you like. Just give me the modules. Nice game
nikosidis is offline  
Old 28 July 2020, 00:45   #7
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 720
[QUOTE=nikosidis;1416526]This was much better Works nice on my Amiga 1200/030 now. The music is little out of tune my friend. I can

Are they lol? Well they're in the sfx drawer of the disk. Mod files.
Coagulus is offline  
Old 28 July 2020, 07:53   #8
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 443
Coagualus: I got the files. It is quite nice the menu module with a few fixes where it is out of tune Do you know what PT version they where created, 2.3E?
I will probably have little time before next week to look at it. I can then upload the files so you can see if you like what I have done.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 28 July 2020, 09:20   #9
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
Coagualus: I got the files. It is quite nice the menu module with a few fixes where it is out of tune Do you know what PT version they where created, 2.3E?
I will probably have little time before next week to look at it. I can then upload the files so you can see if you like what I have done.
No worries. It was created in PT2.3b and also 3.6

Note. The level complete, ending, game over and high score tunes are all also in the same MOD after the title tune. I position jump in Blitz to play those.
Coagulus is offline  
Old 28 July 2020, 10:18   #10
Alpha One
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ger
Posts: 123
A small trainer for this nice game is in the Zone.
Great Work Coagulus!
Alpha One is offline  
Old 28 July 2020, 10:55   #11
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post
A small trainer for this nice game is in the Zone.
Great Work Coagulus!
Thanks. I'm honoured to get a Flashtro on one of my games. and it works great!
Coagulus is offline  
Old 28 July 2020, 23:17   #12
manossg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Greece
Posts: 432
Gave it a bash today and it was great fun! I enjoyed the level design and the map very much! I also experienced the hiccups (with FSUAE, vanilla A1200 config).

Kudos, Coagulus!

Now need to see if it works in my A500 w/ ACA500+ (fingers crossed).
manossg is online now  
Old 28 July 2020, 23:49   #13
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by manossg View Post
Gave it a bash today and it was great fun! I enjoyed the level design and the map very much! I also experienced the hiccups (with FSUAE, vanilla A1200 config).

Kudos, Coagulus!

Now need to see if it works in my A500 w/ ACA500+ (fingers crossed).
Aw I really hope it works...
Coagulus is offline  
Old 29 July 2020, 13:55   #14
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 443
I have changes the mods a little. Had some time yesterday.
If you like it use it, it not, don't use it

https://filebin.net/6f9tbgmh0xyua5vn

I don't understand the PT pattern you program for the menu music. It does not play as the mod file in PT?

Save high Score would be nice. Running from HDD it would also be nice with a quit option.

Thanks again for nice game
nikosidis is offline  
Old 29 July 2020, 20:19   #15
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
I have changes the mods a little. Had some time yesterday.
If you like it use it, it not, don't use it

https://filebin.net/6f9tbgmh0xyua5vn

I don't understand the PT pattern you program for the menu music. It does not play as the mod file in PT?

Save high Score would be nice. Running from HDD it would also be nice with a quit option.

Thanks again for nice game
For some reason I get "The site can't be reached" from your link. Wonder if my Vodafone broadband is blocking it.

EDIT: ingnore me, yes, the broadband blocks filebin but for some reason my mobile phone doesn't! Getting now.
Coagulus is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 19:53   #16
manossg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Greece
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coagulus View Post
Aw I really hope it works...
Tested today, A500 with ACA500plus and it works perfectly!

manossg is online now  
Old 31 July 2020, 04:01   #17
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 443
I did some more tweak to the modules if someone is interested. It is not my music so hope it is ok.

https://filebin.net/ndinwnfhw499tmx9
nikosidis is offline  
Old 31 July 2020, 23:56   #18
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
I did some more tweak to the modules if someone is interested. It is not my music so hope it is ok.

https://filebin.net/ndinwnfhw499tmx9
Sounds great. Will add them to version 1.2
Coagulus is offline  
Old 01 August 2020, 00:56   #19
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 443
Coagulus: Thank you my friend Glad you like it. I enjoy the game a lot.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 02 August 2020, 21:01   #20
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 443
I have some questions. I can see from the editor that there are 20 levels. In menu I can choose first 6 levels then come classic.
Do you have to finish level 6 to get to more levels?
I have big problem to finish level 6. It is very difficult.
I have a suggestion that will make the game a little more interesting. When levels get more difficult. Let's say from level 5 you could introduce bombs. When snake eat bomb the snake get smaller.
nikosidis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's here! Super Wormy The Worm-Like Snake. v1.0 Coagulus project.Amiga Game Factory 21 26 July 2020 16:55
Issues with fixing Super Wormy (music player) Coagulus Coders. Blitz Basic 1 25 July 2020 18:51
Coming soon... Wormy The Worm-Like Snake Coagulus project.Amiga Game Factory 20 18 July 2020 00:39
EXT2 file system handler: bugfix release 0.3 available Paul News 0 29 November 2004 15:38
MorphOS: Bugfix-release 0.6a of picture viewer Showgirls published Paul News 4 11 September 2004 16:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09551 seconds with 14 queries