English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 May 2020, 03:51   #1
cbmeeks
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN USA
Posts: 85
AMOS Cross Platform?

I haven’t done 68k assembly in about 30 years. I am relearning it, however.

I also was a huge AMOS user in the day. So I was wondering if there was an easy way to program AMOS in Notepad++ and quickly send to WinAUE to run?

I do this now with vasm. But I imagine AMOS would be more work.

Anyone doing this?

Thanks!
cbmeeks is offline  
Old 27 May 2020, 12:19   #2
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 527
The fast solution that comes up is:

Mount a pc folder as a winuae Hard drive.
Edit the file with notepad++ then save it into the mounted directory.
Launch amos, and import the file as ascii.
Dan is offline  
Old 27 May 2020, 19:26   #3
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 328
Do you have dual displays? Even if not; you can do as
Dan says and/or you can mount a dropbox or onedrive
as a directory harddive and save your programs there

If you want to view your AMOS program from within
Windows/DOS ... then you need to make sure you
save as an .ASC file of course.

Next step: Join us on the AMOSPro coding facebook page
Code:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/AmosPro
Saghalie is offline  
Old 27 May 2020, 22:50   #4
cbmeeks
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN USA
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saghalie View Post
Do you have dual displays? Even if not; you can do as
Dan says and/or you can mount a dropbox or onedrive
as a directory harddive and save your programs there

If you want to view your AMOS program from within
Windows/DOS ... then you need to make sure you
save as an .ASC file of course.
Code:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/AmosPro

Sorry, I'm not sure how Dropbox would work? I use Dropbox for all of my code. My build process (for vasm) copies the compiled binary over to my WinUAE mounted folder. So that works well.


What would be cool is if I could build/compile AMOS in Windows and copy that binary over.


Or, at least copy the ASC text file over and when WinUAE boots up, automatically compile/run the file.



I know you can launch apps at startup in the Amiga. So the solution might be to somehow launch AMOS via a command line (in the Amiga) and then load/compile/launch the source code.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saghalie View Post
Next step: Join us on the AMOSPro coding facebook page
Code:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/AmosPro

Alas, I don't do FB. I have an account that I haven't used in years. Is the group active over there? I prefer Discord if possible. :-)
cbmeeks is offline  
Old 28 May 2020, 01:44   #5
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 527
I had a very dim idea earlier today.

I remember this thing called "Amos Accessory".
And if i remember right, you can write a program in amos sourcecode, with special commands which work only for the editor.

If someone could write a program, that checks a folder for a new file (or if the file was altered) and to load and start it, if it were, you would have the solution for it

But, if it is possible, idk.

The other idea, is to, maybe use a program like AutoIt or AutoHotkey, and to perform a set of automated keys/mouse clicks, which in turn makes the amos do the work, which you would do instead.

The 3rd idea ... well .. maybe amos compiler can compile a program from the cli/shell without starting the gui ? but most likely not.

Last edited by Dan; 28 May 2020 at 02:13.
Dan is offline  
Old 28 May 2020, 03:38   #6
cbmeeks
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN USA
Posts: 85
All great ideas. Sounds like a fun project for me to work on this week. :-D
cbmeeks is offline  
Old 28 May 2020, 19:21   #7
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbmeeks View Post
I know you can launch apps at startup in the Amiga. So the solution might
be to somehow launch AMOS via a command line (in the Amiga) and then
load/compile/launch the source code.
There is a program out there that runs AMOS from windows. I can't
remember the name right now but I'm sure if you could check the
AMOS group you would be able to find it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbmeeks View Post
Alas, I don't do FB. I have an account that I haven't used in years. Is the
group active over there? I prefer Discord if possible. :-)
Yes, very active. No Discord that I know of. Individuals might have it.

There are even people writing "new" versions of AMOS based on the
released source to AMOS such as AMOS Kittens and AOZ Studio (Beta).

I haven't looked at AMOS Kittens, but AOZ Studio (Beta) might be what
you are looking for.
Code:
https://www.aoz.studio/
Hope this helps
Saghalie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[cross-platform] Gimp python plugin to bring image near OCS color resolution alkis Coders. General 16 30 April 2020 01:32
Cross Platform Tools Nightshft project.EAB 0 21 August 2019 22:51
Amiga Sprite/Tile Cross-Platform Software? diablothe2nd Amiga scene 16 12 July 2013 17:29
XAMOS - new cross-platform rewrite of jAMOS Mequa News 24 14 December 2012 09:49
Cross-platform gui? ceztko request.UAE Wishlist 15 03 January 2008 18:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07144 seconds with 15 queries