English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 July 2020, 19:28   #21
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 642
@BULI

Nice ! Difficult to play with only one hand.

Weird that those windows are shadowed. The gfx card is a Radeon?
Cowcat is offline  
Old 29 July 2020, 20:03   #22
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,727
Voodoo
trixster is offline  
Old 29 July 2020, 22:58   #23
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,299
What is that moving across the SW letters in the opening screen? (with new, load, etc)

And of course it is a voodoo.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 11:57   #24
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
@BULI

Nice ! Difficult to play with only one hand.

Weird that those windows are shadowed. The gfx card is a Radeon?

Yes, Voodoo only :-(
Which windows? On Workbench Screen?
This is only Workbench 3.9 and 1920x1200 16bit without any add features.
BULI is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 12:10   #25
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
What is that moving across the SW letters in the opening screen? (with new, load, etc)

And of course it is a voodoo.

You asked about 1:46 on video?
I don't know what it is (in left corner), looks like an incorrect showing bitmap.
I have this "something" always when I choose "new game", is allways before video/intro on start.
Probably this is something in my version of Jedi Outcas

Last edited by BULI; 30 July 2020 at 17:13.
BULI is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 14:04   #26
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 642
The 1:46 wrong left picture is the failure of a proper glReadPixels function that is actually not finished in old minigl. In the game is a courtain movie effect (transitions between scenes).

Also glReadPixels arrays is used for taking screenshots from the game.

If you ask, BlitzQuake has it done differently because it directly puts the image in a file but for all quakes after, none of that works.

BTW if someone knows how readpixelarrays work in Amiga.....
Cowcat is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 15:40   #27
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,299
No, I meant 1:14 - 1:16
Hedeon is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 17:28   #28
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
No, I meant 1:14 - 1:16
Ooo, It's looks like "light reflection" effect.. ?

On start in this video, this effect looks different:
[ Show youtube player ]
Look carefully at the STAR WARS fonts.
BULI is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 17:29   #29
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,299
Yes! I guess that is an error. Also for the SW fanatics (as BULI skipped it in his video) the opening crawl does not work correctly.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 21:10   #30
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 318
Quote:
the opening crawl
What do you mean?
BULI is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 21:51   #31
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
What do you mean?
https://starwars.fandom.com/wiki/Opening_crawl
Hedeon is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 22:21   #32
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post

Yes, right this titles are showing incorrect in beta1, and beta2
They are unreadable and look like this:
BULI is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 23:13   #33
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,572
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Chances of this working with BPPC/Bvison?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 August 2020, 17:59   #34
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 642
@fitzsteve

A working slideshow. One of the culprits of all those ports after Q3 are the huge amount of textures and their sizes. A blizzvision with only 8mg can't cope.

Jedi on top of that uses mp3 audio files.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 13:53   #35
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,572
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
@fitzsteve

A working slideshow. One of the culprits of all those ports after Q3 are the huge amount of textures and their sizes. A blizzvision with only 8mg can't cope.

Jedi on top of that uses mp3 audio files.
Thanks for the Info, just looking at the PC specs, P4 @1.8ghz so hats off to you for making this work on Amiga at all
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 07:34   #36
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
@fitzsteve

A working slideshow. One of the culprits of all those ports after Q3 are the huge amount of textures and their sizes. A blizzvision with only 8mg can't cope.

Jedi on top of that uses mp3 audio files.

I have to admit the game is really good but difficult.
I finished firs level, and without very often saveing, I couldnt do it.

BTW
Don't work quick save (F9), it is very useful for weak player like me.
Quick load (F10), seem to work.
BULI is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 09:40   #37
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 642
@BULI

I finished it yesterday :P
And then later I found what made lockarrays crash the game in certain places, so a new version is on the works.

Certainly parts of some levels are pretty low on framerate (long distances in some scenes) but with patience, game is enjoyable specially when you get Jedi powers and saber combat with 3rd person view changes completely the way the game was played.

Found too that the crawl text on first movie fails to be as supposed due to texture dimensions (256k by default). I made a switch for a custom texture size but I think with Voodoo3 gfx cards that doesn't work.

Another "nuance" is saving only have 99 slots so if you do it often better to delete old ones or you will write the last one.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 10:55   #38
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
@BULI

I finished it yesterday :P
And then later I found what made lockarrays crash the game in certain places, so a new version is on the works.

Certainly parts of some levels are pretty low on framerate (long distances in some scenes) but with patience, game is enjoyable specially when you get Jedi powers and saber combat with 3rd person view changes completely the way the game was played.

Found too that the crawl text on first movie fails to be as supposed due to texture dimensions (256k by default). I made a switch for a custom texture size but I think with Voodoo3 gfx cards that doesn't work.

Another "nuance" is saving only have 99 slots so if you do it often better to delete old ones or you will write the last one.
Congratulations, the game seems to be reall good, like Dark Forces (I played long time ago on ShapeShifter/Fusion)

About crawl text, yes it looks like wrong/ low quality texture size

Yes, I'm cleaning saves, time to time.
Does the Quick Save (F9) work for you?
BULI is offline  
Old 15 August 2020, 20:25   #39
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 642
@BULI (F9) nope.

New beta3: Fixed lockarrays, upgraded code and added "r_customtexturesize" for gfx cards that can allocate more than 256k sized textures.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 15 August 2020, 21:16   #40
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,299
Lockarrays do..what? :-) Nice job!
Hedeon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Star Wars: Return Of The Jedi - Ending? ransom1122 support.Games 11 20 January 2017 04:03
Outcast 1.1 - Enhanced version - Steam Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 7 27 December 2014 14:51
[Remake] Outcast Reboot HD Neil79 News 6 23 April 2014 18:08
Star Wars - Return of the Jedi: Trainer? Enrique request.Old Rare Games 4 27 September 2008 21:30
Amiga Jedi Master needed RDLister New to Emulation or Amiga scene 20 28 November 2006 16:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09266 seconds with 15 queries