English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 June 2006, 02:39   #1
Fanskapet
 
Posts: n/a
Black screen after starting alot of whdload games.

I have some problems with my Amiga 1200 running AmigaOS 3.0 and has a kickrom 3.0..

alot of whd games just makes my amiga go pitch black directly after the whd nag-unregistered screen is being closed.. nothing happens just pitchblack..

doesn't give me any error-code or anything..

this happens for instance with Lotus II and Monkey island, well all lucasarts games it seems..

anyone have any suggestions what to do? whdload loads alot of other games but these, and i have the latest version of whdload installed..

Cheers!
 
Old 06 June 2006, 06:57   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,770
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
check your icon's tooltypes, (nocache / nommu activated).

that's the main problem, or your versions are corrupted if nothing else works.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 June 2006, 11:04   #3
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,525
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanskapet
I have some problems with my Amiga 1200 running AmigaOS 3.0 and has a kickrom 3.0..

alot of whd games just makes my amiga go pitch black directly after the whd nag-unregistered screen is being closed.. nothing happens just pitchblack..

doesn't give me any error-code or anything..

this happens for instance with Lotus II and Monkey island, well all lucasarts games it seems..

anyone have any suggestions what to do? whdload loads alot of other games but these, and i have the latest version of whdload installed..

Cheers!

your problem will be probably pirated keyfile
Chain is offline  
Old 06 June 2006, 13:51   #4
Fanskapet
 
Posts: n/a
problem

indeed.. sure seems like that.. works now by removing the .reg file, i just bought this baby from a auction site in sweden I

hmm btw it's worth paying for this stuff, anyone know if one can still register whdload? or is it a "dead" project? they guy sure deserves some money for it

Regards Fanskapet
 
Old 06 June 2006, 13:57   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanskapet
indeed.. sure seems like that.. works now by removing the .reg file, i just bought this baby from a auction site in sweden I

hmm btw it's worth paying for this stuff, anyone know if one can still register whdload? or is it a "dead" project? they guy sure deserves some money for it

Regards Fanskapet
Of course it is worth paying for this brilliant program. You can play app. 1500-2000 games from you hd. WHDLoad is in development since 1996 and Bert doesn't have the intention to stop his work.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 06 June 2006 at 14:09.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 06 June 2006, 14:11   #6
blade2565
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Age: 45
Posts: 60
The only thing if you register pay in dollars if you pay with paypal it is cheaper than paying in euro

Did just register it myself

Last edited by blade2565; 06 June 2006 at 14:20.
blade2565 is offline  
Old 06 June 2006, 14:15   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
go to www.whdload.de ! now!
keropi is offline  
Old 06 June 2006, 14:18   #8
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,646
Did you know you was using a pirate keyfile as in your first post you mention the nag screen!

I'm not sure if the pirate keyfile would affect the nag screen (It isn't there in the full reg ver) but if it doesn't then you must have known the keyfile was fake.

I'm going to assume whdload noticed the fake keyfile, chucked up the nag screen and then crashed..
BippyM is offline  
Old 06 June 2006, 16:32   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
pirating whdload keys is bad.
that's why I report everything I find, the last one was for 16.5 ...
keropi is offline  
Old 06 June 2006, 16:46   #10
adgloride
Amiga Mod Chipper
adgloride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 229
It well worth paying for the registered version of whdload. Its price at £15 which is a fair price and all upgrades are free.
adgloride is offline  
Old 07 June 2006, 00:20   #11
Fanskapet
 
Posts: n/a
registering

Quote:
Originally Posted by adgloride
It well worth paying for the registered version of whdload. Its price at £15 which is a fair price and all upgrades are free.
indeed.. and now i've noticed that some whdgames don't even run with a unregistered version, eg civilization AGA.
 
Old 07 June 2006, 18:51   #12
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Dragon's Breath not either.
Especially Galahad takes a lot of care that some of his - mostly hard-to-do - installs do not work with unregistered versions.
If you see the hard work put into some of those installs, it's only fair.
andreas is offline  
Old 07 June 2006, 18:57   #13
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 43
Posts: 757
Talk about irony
Ultron is offline  
Old 07 June 2006, 19:53   #14
blade2565
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Age: 45
Posts: 60
Well just got my key today, did not use whdload before but I hear good stories about it so worth spending the money on and enjoy a lot of stuff from my HDD
blade2565 is offline  
Old 07 June 2006, 20:34   #15
Fanskapet
 
Posts: n/a
ahh there we go.. 5 minutes after paying via paypal i got my .reg file
 
Old 09 June 2006, 02:29   #16
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
Dragon's Breath not either.
Especially Galahad takes a lot of care that some of his - mostly hard-to-do - installs do not work with unregistered versions.
If you see the hard work put into some of those installs, it's only fair.
Not only Dragons breath..

I think one of the Pinball games neeeds reg too, either fantasies or Illusions, i forget which, cos i have a key and I do not notice.

[edit] Urgh, it was Pinball Dreams
whiteb is offline  
Old 09 June 2006, 13:03   #17
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,646
As does Moonstone, afterburner and a few others
BippyM is offline  
Old 09 June 2006, 17:44   #18
adgloride
Amiga Mod Chipper
adgloride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb
Not only Dragons breath..

I think one of the Pinball games neeeds reg too, either fantasies or Illusions, i forget which, cos i have a key and I do not notice.

[edit] Urgh, it was Pinball Dreams
I think I have Pinball Dreams on a JST install.
adgloride is offline  
Old 10 June 2006, 11:15   #19
cooldude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 112
This maybe of interest to someone! I also found WHDLOAD (Registered ) had a
blackscreen problem when using the NOMMU tooltype. No quit...nothing, had to reset.

I traced it back to he "AmigaOS Rom Update" file from Boing Bag 2.
Using the one from BB1 fixed the problem. The installer for BB2
does suggest there could be compatablilty probs.

System - Real Amiga OS3.9, Kick3.1,'060 MMU, 32MB fast.

Cheers!
cooldude is offline  
Old 07 August 2006, 16:48   #20
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 46
Posts: 2,369
If I remember correctly wrong WHDLoad reg key used to delete startup-sequence file (or corupts it).

Did something change?

Also some in game features like highscore save etc. might not work on unregistered version.

I can't remember how many years since I registered my version, but just now I'm starting to play more WHDLoad games.

It is worth registering!
Anubis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen in full screen but not full window Winuae all versions Mixter support.WinUAE 18 30 June 2013 00:45
Black mouse pointer in WHDLoad Games manic23 support.Games 4 14 April 2013 13:35
Screen goes black during loading with CF + WHDLoad Rakki support.Hardware 11 12 March 2009 18:39
Subway USB + Poseidon + WHDLOAD black screen? T_hairy_bootson support.Hardware 5 17 August 2008 18:42
Gamebase [black flashing screen when running WHDLoad games] sjakie43 project.MAGE 2 25 July 2007 01:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10653 seconds with 13 queries