English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2015, 16:21   #21
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugala View Post
Blitzbasic doesnt support GFX cards, nor anything internet related. You will also be limited to classic amigas only with them.
Not true. Foundation is made in Blitz2 and supports graphics cards. Blitz2 supports all operating system calls, and therefore supports graphics cards just as well as C or Modula-2 does. What you can't do is use the old Acidlibs as a way of supporting graphics card screen.

There is a lot of discussion on using Blitz2 on graphics cards in the BlitzList archives, starting around 1997-1998.
idrougge is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 May 2015, 00:55   #22
Bugala
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Haapamäki
Posts: 182
interesting, didnt know that. Thanks for correcting.
Bugala is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 01:25   #23
Cylon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 466
I would recommend Blitz2 too, but on a stock A500/A600 you should use the first Versions delivered on Disks, because the debugger form the BSS addition needs alot of resources you don't want to spend. The older one is way cool, too. ;-)
Cylon is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 08:22   #24
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,695
I want to compile for stock A600, but I'll be coding on an emulator, emulating the most powerful Amiga I can.

I want to be able to use the best tools possible, but to make it work on a stock A500/A600
Shatterhand is online now  
Old 04 May 2015, 18:06   #25
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
That's the way to do it. The compiler runs very quickly (for a moderately sized program) on a 030/50, you just need to check the compiled binary so it runs at full speed on a plain A500.

If compilation takes too long, note that you can split your project into several files and include precompiled versions so that you only need to compile the routines you're currently editing.
idrougge is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 18:33   #26
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Why the hurry?

If you've waited until today to start programming on the Amiga, it must be because there wasn't any rush.
Nosferax is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 21:36   #27
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
I want to compile for stock A600, but I'll be coding on an emulator, emulating the most powerful Amiga I can.
If you are going to do that why don't you just use a cross compiler and modern dev tools?
Akira is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 21:42   #28
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
If you are going to do that why don't you just use a cross compiler and modern dev tools?
Cross compilers don't includes all the platform specific libs and includes...
Beside there is a certain charm to be using the original tools to program for a classic system.
Nosferax is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 22:27   #29
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post
Cross compilers don't includes all the platform specific libs and includes...
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=62945
Akira is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 22:44   #30
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
That's a solution, albeit without syntax highlighting on 2013-CE, but who need that! Real programmer type their code in hex on the command line! Thanks!
Nosferax is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 09:19   #31
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post
Beside there is a certain charm to be using the original tools to program for a classic system.
Someone who understands Nothing beats using an Amiga to program an Amiga. It does limit your choice of compilers, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post
That's a solution, albeit without syntax highlighting on 2013-CE, but who need that!
Not needed, but still sucks when you don't have it
Thorham is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 10:07   #32
Bugala
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Haapamäki
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post
Real programmer type their code in hex on the command line!
pfft!
Real programmer directly controls the flow of the current!
Bugala is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 15:51   #33
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugala View Post
pfft!
Real programmer directly controls the flow of the current!
You mean that you're using electricity?!? pffft! Amateur... I drive my computer by banging rocks to the beat of the binary code, morse style!
Nosferax is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 16:18   #34
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
While there are cross-development kits for C and assembly, there is currently no way to develop Blitz using a PC, and the hurdle towards jumping straight into assembly is rather high.
idrougge is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 16:36   #35
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 254
How about Amiga E? A pretty nice language that compiles fast, supporting structured and object oriented programming.
Megol is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 19:54   #36
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,695
Is it suitable to make games with it? The thing about Blitz Basic is that it seems to be tailored towards game-making, and that's what I want to do
Shatterhand is online now  
Old 06 May 2015, 07:16   #37
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,695
Ok, just installed Amiblitz 2 on my new configured Winuae Setup.

It asked me if I want it to be in German, i said NO, it said "ok, installing in english".

Then the thing is in german and I can't understand any of the compiler error messages.

I probably should open a new thread for it or something. How do I put this thing in english?

EDIT: I see there's an "Amiblitz2_eng" file and a "PED_Eng" file

PED_eng does actually open up the editor in english, but I can't compile anything from there. And Amiblitz2_eng is still in german! Lots of fun so far

Last edited by Shatterhand; 06 May 2015 at 08:14.
Shatterhand is online now  
Old 06 May 2015, 17:04   #38
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Try to rename the _eng files to the default names instead. Haven't run AmiBlitz much, but then again German never bothered me.
idrougge is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 20:07   #39
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,695
Renaming just the ped_eng file to the default name made everything in english. Thank you for the suggestion
Shatterhand is online now  
Old 10 May 2015, 01:36   #40
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post
That's a solution, albeit without syntax highlighting on 2013-CE, but who need that!
You can teach your text editor (if it's a decent one) to syntax highlight your code! I use notepad++, someone in EAB posted syntax coloring for 68k assembler, it might have been me and all
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did anyone here code Amiga games professionally? tm2383 Nostalgia & memories 8 07 January 2015 18:23
games with source code available which could be release on amiga ? turrican3 support.Games 12 20 December 2013 16:44
Petition Team17 to release old Amiga games source code Conundrum Retrogaming General Discussion 8 11 October 2012 03:28
Wish to hack out code protection in a few PC games. Anyone wanna help? MethodGit Retrogaming General Discussion 27 18 January 2010 21:18
A question for those of you who can look into a games code. Ironclaw Retrogaming General Discussion 22 28 January 2005 23:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34797 seconds with 12 queries