English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 June 2015, 21:29   #1
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 351
Help needed

Sorry if this is in the wrong place...no doubt it is.
I need someone to guide me through the process of creating a bootable disk using workbench, I mean, a total idiots guide if you can please?
It's been so long I can't remember which program to use to edit the startup file etc.
Here's me hoping to create a text adventure and I can't even make a bootable disk to test my compiled Amos program out on
LordNipple is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 21:38   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
I take it you mean a floppy disk?

Using Amiga or WinUAE?
Arnie is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 21:38   #3
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Install df0: is the command.
zipper is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 21:46   #4
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 351
I am using winuae.
I don't even know what install df0 means, what do I click on to do this? Sorry..I know this is pathetic :/
LordNipple is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 21:48   #5
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 351
I have compiled from disk to disk in amos pro compiler to run as a cli program but it won't boot :/
Thanks for the help guys
LordNipple is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 21:49   #6
Franchute13
Registered User
Franchute13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 251
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=41531
Franchute13 is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 21:55   #7
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
How are you using WinUAE?

Default config or custom (i.e. your own config)?

Does the config contain Workbench Installed to a HD or using just floppy drive(s)?
Arnie is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 22:00   #8
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 351
I have the workbench floppies. It's pretty much a vanilla set up.
When I say I need an idiots guide I am not kidding, I can't remember how to start a cli
LordNipple is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 22:18   #9
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Go to the WinUAE floppy disk panel and tick DF1:

Insert the workbench disk into DF0: and click start. (I'll assume WB3.1)

In workbench click on the disk icon to open the window.

Open the System dir and click on Shell.

A Shell window will open.

Press F12 to bring up the GUI, go to the floppy panel, New floppy disk. Type a name for the disk, tick bootblock and click on Create standard disk (836kb, if you need 880kb tick also FFS).

Insert the newly created blank disk into DF1:, this disk is now empty and bootable.

To create a Startup-sequence type> Makedir DF1:S, then type> ED DF1:S/Startup-Sequence.
Arnie is offline  
Old 23 June 2015, 22:23   #10
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 351
OH MY GOD I could kiss you! I won't...but I cannot believe you could explain it to me and I actually could get it to work!

I can't thank you enough...so honestly, thankyou so much. It's only a simply thing, but I just got a very simple test string to compile and now run using Amos Pro and that startup.

Thankyou Arnie.
LordNipple is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
needed ? thevoice project.TOSEC (amiga only) 17 25 October 2006 18:35
Any of these still needed ? tomcat666 project.SPS (was CAPS) 6 27 June 2006 17:09
Help Needed DaphydTheBard project.Amiga Game Factory 3 26 June 2006 18:43
a little help needed... Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 11 August 2002 21:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06966 seconds with 13 queries