English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2014, 14:44   #41
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
Darkseed

Novacoder:absolute world record
vitux is offline  
Old 09 May 2014, 14:52   #42
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
AGA can put hi-res and super-hi-res sprites on top of low-res screens. It can also hardware scroll a low-res screen by one super-hi-res pixel's worth. So Mr Beanbag features "quarter pixel scrolling" and "quarter pixel sprite placement" as well (the sprites aren't hi-res, but their screen co-ordinates are!).
Wow, I did not know this.
Despite all its faults, AGA chipset had so much potential.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 09 May 2014, 16:05   #43
Apollo
Registered User

Apollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 125
MechForce [ Show youtube player ]
Apollo is offline  
Old 27 June 2014, 15:32   #44
invent
pixels

invent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 199
Sounds neat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
I have been toying with the idea of a custom "diagonal" AGA screen mode, which is low-res bitplanes but each scanline is shifted with sub-pixel scrolling to create smoother diagonals. Could be used to render a game with hexagonal tiles, for instance.
Sounds very interesting, would like to see any experiments you come up with. Your post #27 also, didn't know of this combination of hi-res sprites over low res. The mouse pointer I thought could be hi-res over low res?
invent is offline  
Old 27 June 2014, 15:46   #45
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
[ Show youtube player ]

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 27 June 2014, 15:47   #46
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
Big Red Adventure
ancalimon is offline  
Old 27 June 2014, 21:42   #47
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by invent View Post
Sounds very interesting, would like to see any experiments you come up with. Your post #27 also, didn't know of this combination of hi-res sprites over low res. The mouse pointer I thought could be hi-res over low res?
Yes indeed, the sprite resolution is entirely independent of the screen resolution (and always has been since OCS, although OCS could only do low res sprites, high res sprites came in ECS though i think).
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 27 June 2014, 23:20   #48
Zak
ZapĀ“em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 359
Napalm and Quake can use High-Res. Maybe Genetic Species, too.

I think Syndicate uses 640x200 screens, if that so is already defined as high resolution.
Zak is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 00:22   #49
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Brataccas
ArmyMiner
Mega Bomber
In Mega Bomber there is no death animation or sound so you need to check counter from time to time. If you are on invisible grid line you can not place bomb which is unusual and silly. Main hero like to stick to the walls which is bug, not a feature.
s2325 is offline  
Old 17 May 2015, 23:09   #50
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zak View Post
Napalm and Quake can use High-Res. Maybe Genetic Species, too.

I think Syndicate uses 640x200 screens, if that so is already defined as high resolution.
The Amiga version is lores, PC and Acorn Archimedes versions uses highres though.
Megol is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
correct Screen Resolution list for games j69ant support.Games 6 01 February 2013 16:32
Screen resolution in games JackTheKnife support.Games 17 31 December 2008 13:22
Games missing high score saving feature Shoonay project.WHDLoad 5 21 May 2006 19:56
REQ: Automatic resolution change ; automatic resolution detection Borg_Number_One request.UAE Wishlist 3 21 August 2004 15:16
Few games don't switch resolution from video card to native amiga resolution! digital support.WinUAE 12 14 March 2003 14:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07459 seconds with 13 queries