English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 27 March 2013, 01:24   #1
Lobotomika

Can any CRT veteran help with this?

I moved house a couple months ago and the process left my retrogaming CRT TV with nasty scratches in the middle of the screen. I liked that TV so I replaced it with another of the same model but this one is second hand and there's a problem I didn't have with my old TV. Brand is BEKO, screen is around 22" (55 cm)

Bright areas get distorted and slightly enlarged and whenever a horizontal line has more number of bright pixels than the others, it's displayed in a wider area so the screen is never vertically smooth at the sides. Very distracting with some demos when screen flickers.

There are no relevant options in the service menu and I'm not sure if it's a dying tube, a bad board or a mix of both. I'm considering swapping motherboards but I'm not sure if I'll be forced to recalibrate the tube afterwards. I have some experience operating TVs so I'm not expecting to die this time either.

Maybe there's a way to fix this with some tinkering, what do you say?

I'll post photos tomorrow, it's getting late for that right now.

Thanks for reading
Old 27 March 2013, 12:10   #2
Lobotomika

Can any mod move this to support.other or support.hardware? This is the screen I'm using with my Amiga. It's not really as off topic as I initially thought and no one reads it here.
Old 27 March 2013, 15:24   #3
Hewitson

You've probably got a bad cap in the power supply. If you decrease the brightness does it still happen?

If you swap the chassis over, you won't need to do any adjustment to the tube.

Last edited by Hewitson; 27 March 2013 at 15:39.
Old 27 March 2013, 18:01   #4
pandy71

Or dried caps or this CRT is not good - if i understand correctly your problem there is pumping effect for high brightness? or perhaps there is blurring.smearing on high brightness details with some dark halo behind ?