English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 July 2018, 10:13   #1
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
version and mount

I have a strange one...
Everytime I reboot my system I get a crash from either C:version or C:Mount.
I have a backup of my SYS volume so if I boot without startup and restore those two files it boots fine again.... until the next time I reboot and those two files are crashing again. How could they be changing!
dschallock is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 10:34   #2
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,239
First guess would be there is a virus in the system, that alters executables when they are run.
meynaf is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 11:15   #3
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
I don't think I have ever had a virus on my Amiga before. Do you recommend something to look for viruses?
dschallock is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 11:23   #4
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,239
Long ago i used VirusZ. I guess it should still be fine.
meynaf is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 11:55   #5
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
So I ran it and it found HappyNewYear96 virus in many locations. Im not sure if that virus could do something like what I described but it says it disinfected the files anyway.
Ill do some tests to see if the problem persists.
dschallock is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 13:10   #6
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,672
That actually sounds similar to my experiences with Happy New Year.
idrougge is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 15:18   #7
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,475
Sounds familiar, I think I had over 700 infections long time ago and VT - Schutz got easily rid of them. It's not particularly dangerous but irritating. http://www.vht-dk.dk/amiga/desc/txt/hny-9697.htm
zipper is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 20:15   #8
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
So I definitely had lots of that happynewyear96 virus and virusz most definitely helped clear that out, but the random crashes seem to unrelated to that problem.
I was reading another post by someone who was having alot of random crashes and for him it ended up being the PSU. I am using the original stock Amiga 3000 PSU. I do have quite a few cards in the machine.
The list of cards I have installed:
Warpengine 3040 w/scsi II controller attached to 1 HD and 1 CDrom
Personal Animation Recorder with 1 IDE HD
X-Surf 100
AD516 sound card
Picasso IV graphics card

So, I'm wondering if I might be dealing with a power issue that is giving me so many random crashes?
I ordered an ATX to Amiga 3000 cable adapter from Amigakit (thanks guys!) and my plan is to find an ATX power supply that will fit in metal case of the Amiga 3000 PSU and fit that in there and see if it fixes my issues.
Other than that, I was planning of getting the recap service done.
Not sure where to look after that.
dschallock is offline  
Old 04 August 2018, 23:09   #9
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 324
If you suspect a PSU problem, try to remove cards.

If you get a stable system after removing (say) one or maybe two cards, then the PSU is suspect.

But also bear in mind that one of the cards may be faulty, so substitution is the key here I think?
volvo_0ne is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mount SD On WinUAE AMIGASYSTEM support.WinUAE 19 31 August 2017 09:49
OS4.1 - how to mount CD gaspi support.WinUAE 5 16 November 2015 21:46
CF0 icon, WB2 & mount version jimbob support.Other 2 09 August 2013 00:05
How to mount A570? JackTheKnife support.Hardware 37 21 December 2008 18:13
Old version number? [GameBase version vs. GBA version + misc. questions] wanderer project.MAGE 5 23 August 2007 01:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06686 seconds with 14 queries