English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 October 2019, 11:57   #1
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
Question about lha and large archives

im currently in the middle of using lha on dopus to create an archive on my pcmcia cf card


im creating an archive rather than just copying the files because lha will probably preserve amiga file permissions and any strange formatted files, whereas just copying to a fat32 cf wouldnt


first, how long is it going to take on a stock a1200 to lha 2gigs worth of data? days??



second, the memory usage seems very large. after 30minutes lha has already used up all 4mb of my fast ram


third, lha in dopus doesnt seem to produce any output onscreen as to what its currently doing. is that normal?
i know the file is being created as ive checked the cf card


fourth, how do i stop the archive process if its taking too long?
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 26 October 2019, 12:33   #2
dodke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: London / UK
Posts: 73
For backups I'd recommend trying something like ABackup:
http://aminet.net/package/disk/bakup/abackup

If you don't want to risk rebooting the system it will probably stop at some point after running out of memory.
dodke is offline  
Old 26 October 2019, 13:17   #3
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
yeah i think it must haqve ran out of memory.


i looked at my amiga after an hour and there was only a black screen and no keys worked.


the lha idea is out.


ill lookup that abackup
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 26 October 2019, 13:25   #4
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,606
I am using the following in the startup-sequence :

Code:
setenv lhaopts -2D3arex
then use lha from the shell and you will see the progression.
Never had a 'stuck' like you described and I also archive my system like this.

Just give another try
malko is offline  
Old 26 October 2019, 13:31   #5
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
third, lha in dopus doesnt seem to produce any output onscreen as to what its currently doing. is that normal?
Even when making big archives with a lot of memory on WinUAE it takes a long time for output to start in dopus, I think it's because it reads all of the file names before it begins output to the screen and this could be what is eating up all of the memory as well.

I prefer to make zip archives using WinUAE rather than lha, it seems much better suited to huge files.

Last edited by -Acid-; 26 October 2019 at 16:41.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 26 October 2019, 14:17   #6
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,472
I guess using LHA on an A1200 to archive GB of data is not a good idea. For small archives <=10MB it is ok. For LHA options read the lha.guide. For DOpus output you can activate it where you define the LHA command line. Both LHA and DOpus have output options. CTRL + C should break LHA. In a shell you can type "status" to get the process number and with "break" you can break it. Scout/XOpa can break/kill tasks too.

If you are not fixed to fat32 for the CF card I would use the same filesystem that is used on the source device. Then use a backup tool like http://aminet.net/package/disk/bakup/BackUp
daxb is offline  
Old 27 October 2019, 02:04   #7
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
LhA will use a lot of RAM creating an archive. To prevent this, you need to temporarily reassign T: to some disk with enough memory.
idrougge is offline  
Old 27 October 2019, 17:18   #8
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 702
I wouldn't backup 2 gig of data at once, that's pretty much asking for trouble. Depending on your setup, your file system might not be able to handle files that big, you might run out of memory, LhA might have a bug...

I did use LhA for backup purposes in the past, for the very same reasons you do. You can disable compression, that's what I'd recommend - it speeds up the process a lot and reduces the risk of failure. And don't backup everything into one file, make several smaller backups ("SYS:", "Games/" etc.).

Code:
lha -aezrx a <BACKUP.LHA> #?
(quoted from memory, doublecheck this command line before you use it)

Using DOpus introduces new problems. E.g., you can have either Lha recurse into directories ("-r" option) or DOpus ("recursive directories" flag) - if you do the latter, DOpus will try to collect all filenames in all directories and then hand them over to LhA in one giant command line that exceeds the actual length limit. Also note that "output window" needs to be checked if you want to see LhA's progress.

Can you post the exact configuration of your LhA menu or button? The command line, all the flags, stack size...
Korodny is offline  
Old 27 October 2019, 18:00   #9
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,472
With -r you have already -x. With a you have already -a. So you don't need -xa.

Maybe you can use -Qq (quick add) to speed up archiving lot of files. See lha.guide for what it does.
daxb is offline  
Old 27 October 2019, 18:18   #10
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
ive given up on lha or any sort of backup solution.



in the end i settled for opening my amiga, taking out the sd card and copying all the data i needed to my pc. then making a disk image of my sd card
liquidsmoke is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to extract batch of .lha archives into folders Foebane support.Apps 78 14 September 2018 17:53
Using Xdftool with LHA archives.. bugsymalone666 support.Other 6 25 June 2017 03:27
LHA - Splitting a large file into 2 archives DamienD support.Other 18 31 January 2017 10:54
Some issues when mounting ADFs and large archives Leffmann support.WinUAE 2 24 August 2015 21:46
Self Extracting LHA Archives hipoonios support.Apps 7 17 January 2015 00:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07769 seconds with 13 queries