English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2018, 04:44   #1
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 92
Warpengine repair?

Does anyone know of anyone who could look at a warpengine accelerator and try to diagnose a problem and potentially repair it?

Thanks.
dschallock is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 04:51   #2
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
What's the problem?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 10:08   #3
Dynamic_Computi
10MARC

Dynamic_Computi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Posts: 153
If you can't find help here get in touch with tbtorro on Amibay.
Dynamic_Computi is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 10:08   #4
Dynamic_Computi
10MARC

Dynamic_Computi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Posts: 153
That is a card worth saving for sure! Those things are blazing fast.
Dynamic_Computi is offline  
Old 27 August 2018, 17:50   #5
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
What's the problem?
I have been happily using it for years on my 3000. So its the the 3040 model with the 68040 @40mhz. I had 2 16meg simms in it giving me 32 megs of fast ram and I used the fast on board scsi II controller with my hard drive and external scsi cdrom.
Two recent changes: About two months ago. I bought 2 32meg simms that fit the warp specs and maxed the 3040's capacity out at 64megs. This change worked fine for a month so I don't think this was the problem although I did try swapping back to the old simms just to rule that out.
The other thing that happened was in order to avoid joystick hot swap shorting out the computer hazards I bought a mouse joystick switch off ebay (used obvisouly) and when I plugged it in something shorted out and the system shut off. I removed the switcher but the system would not power back on. I wasn't getting power through to my video card either.
I stripped my system down to just the mother board and daughter board and began testing powering the system on little by little adding things as I went. What seemed to be the problem was the warpengine. Whenever it was plugged into the fast slot the computer would not turn on. I had another accelerator sitting around that I plugged into the slot and the computer will turn on but it doesn't have an onboard scsi controller. I tried using the 3000's onboard scsi controller and it is problematic as BEST! it won't boot from the hard drive and even if I boot from a floppy and it sees the drives I get sector and checksum errors etc.
So I may have broken the warp engine beyond repair, but I am hoping not because I really loved how that board worked. It was fast and my computer booted everytime.
I hope I can find someone who even knows how to test whats up with the board at all.
Thanks.
dschallock is offline  
Old 27 August 2018, 18:15   #6
stachu100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Piaseczno/Poland
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by dschallock View Post
I hope I can find someone who even knows how to test whats up with the board at all.
Thanks.
I can look on that, but I cannot promise anything.
Just checking several potential problem sources.

Regards,
Stan
stachu100 is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 20:12   #7
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 138
Does it work with no memory installed on the WE?
Do the tabs on your SIMM sockets hold the memory firmly in place?
Take some compressed air to the SIMM sockets, maybe something got in there.

WE is great. Worth getting fixed. Maybe upgraded to 060 too.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 21:30   #8
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 58
Hi dschallock,

Great card btw. Upgraded mine to an 060 at 80MHz and it blows my CSMKIII at 66 MHz into the weeds. You will have to cut a hole into the tray to fit it.

Do you have zipp memory? Have you reviewed the WE jumper settings? What Dmac and Ramsey do you have? The Warp Engine NCR SCSI is somewhat picky also, it will not work with Acards.

Normally the 3000D scsi is bullet proof, unless your ramsey/dmac combo is not up to par. I have seen where a Ramsey 07 and DMAC 02 will cause SCSI problems. I Have also seen Ramsey 04 and DMAC 02 be flakey, just swap the chips with another set.

Since you were working just fine, sounds a bit suspicious. Do you have the CIA clap for scsi timing connected or did you wire the board?
matt3k is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 23:59   #9
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Hi dschallock,
The Warp Engine NCR SCSI is somewhat picky also, it will not work with Acards.

I have an AEC-7722uw connected to my WarpEngine with a SATA SSD connected to it, works fine.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 31 August 2018, 16:24   #10
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 661
I have an AEC-7720UW with an IDE SSD connected to my WarpEngine SCSI just fine.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 31 August 2018, 17:30   #11
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 58
Interesting. The warp engine flat out refuses to work with Acards 2000SUP, works fine on the native 3000 scsi. There must be some different between them.
matt3k is offline  
Old 31 August 2018, 19:50   #12
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 138
Isn't DMAC-04 required for use with RAMSEY-07?
jaesonk is offline  
Old 31 August 2018, 20:02   #13
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,608
It is. Sometimes a DMAC-02 also works, but be prepared for a disappointment.
Jope is offline  
Old 31 August 2018, 20:07   #14
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 58
Beat me to it...

Yes some DMAC02 will work with Ramsey07. Especially with an accelerator and no zip memory.

Some accelerators are very picky with dmac and Ramsey, like the mercury card. The warp engine is one of the best for just running with any combination.
matt3k is offline  
Old 31 August 2018, 20:44   #15
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 727
DMAC-04 can run burst modes that can be a problem with the older RAMSEY if you have the older DMAC, those cycles won't be attempted
nexus is offline  
Old 03 September 2018, 08:11   #16
whaka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Hi dschallock,

Great card btw. Upgraded mine to an 060 at 80MHz and it blows my CSMKIII at 66 MHz into the weeds.
seriously, how you can affirm that ?
the warp engine uprgaded to 060 running 80 mhz, run with a 1:2 bus.
and has 32 bit ram access.

a 66 Mhz cs mkIII run a 1:1 bus, with 64 bit ram access... and i don't even speak about the scsi.

of course, at 80 Mhz, in raw mips in sysspeed the warp will win...
but in real usage, i really don't think so. (at least, not in all cases)

try to push your MkIII to 80 Mhz, and you'll see what i mean
it can be hard to reach, because above 66 Mhz, the MkIII really reach the ram speed limit. for 80 Mhz you've to find ram which can accept to run much lower than 50ns...

Last edited by whaka; 03 September 2018 at 08:28.
whaka is offline  
Old 03 September 2018, 14:58   #17
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by whaka View Post
seriously, how you can affirm that ?
the warp engine uprgaded to 060 running 80 mhz, run with a 1:2 bus.
and has 32 bit ram access.

a 66 Mhz cs mkIII run a 1:1 bus, with 64 bit ram access... and i don't even speak about the scsi.

of course, at 80 Mhz, in raw mips in sysspeed the warp will win...
but in real usage, i really don't think so. (at least, not in all cases)

try to push your MkIII to 80 Mhz, and you'll see what i mean
it can be hard to reach, because above 66 Mhz, the MkIII really reach the ram speed limit. for 80 Mhz you've to find ram which can accept to run much lower than 50ns...

And you risk killing the CSMkIII by overclocking the logic on the card that much, while the WarpEngine logic happily runs at 40MHz as designed.

All things considered I'd rather have a CSMk3 for the UWSCSI-3.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 03 September 2018, 15:26   #18
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 702
I know this is a little off topic, but how do you upgrade to an 060 with the warp engine? I have a couple in my machines with 040. Thanks
source is offline  
Old 03 September 2018, 16:11   #19
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by source View Post
I know this is a little off topic, but how do you upgrade to an 060 with the warp engine? I have a couple in my machines with 040. Thanks

There's a little adapter board that you plug the 060 into, people sell the blank boards from time to time. You also need a custom Kickstart ROM that people usually sell with the adapters. But you don't want that, hey why don't you sell me one of your Warp Engines, you don't need all of those.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 03 September 2018, 21:29   #20
whaka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
And you risk killing the CSMkIII by overclocking the logic on the card that much, while the WarpEngine logic happily runs at 40MHz as designed.

All things considered I'd rather have a CSMk3 for the UWSCSI-3.
no, for a simple reason.
the MkIII IS designed to run upto 80 Mhz. the big barrier is not the logic herself, but the memory.

i have a MkIII running 75 Mhz for many years now, in regular use. i still wait the failure. i tried 80 Mhz, it can be reach if you find rock solid ram.
whaka is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 WarpEngine HD Activity Light Mod Possible? manic23 Hardware mods 6 12 June 2016 21:27
Warpengine 040 and Mediator. Viserion support.Hardware 5 05 September 2013 20:26
WarpEngine 040 & PicassoIV ZIII RTG Graphics card for sale! fitzsteve MarketPlace 4 22 February 2012 14:33
WarpEngine disabling 68040 alanh support.Hardware 4 11 October 2008 23:19
WarpEngine cooler cybernoid support.Hardware 5 22 February 2007 01:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10393 seconds with 13 queries