English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 July 2012, 22:11   #1
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: France
Posts: 175
Z3 Fast: VirtualAlloc failed 487

Hello.

I'm using WinUAE 2.4.1 over Windows XP SP3, 32-bit. PAE disabled.
The Task Manager indicates 1.7 GB of free space.

When I set Z3 Fast to 32 MB or less, it works.
When I set Z3 Fast to 64 MB or more, it fails and I find the following in winuaelog.txt :

Code:
54-859 [0 000x000]: shmget of size 67108864 (65536k) for z3
54-859 [0 000x000]: VirtualAlloc 10000000 - 14000020 4000020 (65536k) failed 487
54-859 [0 000x000]: Out of memory for 32 bit fast memory.
Why does it fail?
What can I do to fix that?
BlankVector is offline  
Old 13 July 2012, 22:29   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,578
Complete log needed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 July 2012, 22:37   #3
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: France
Posts: 175
Actually, the scenario is different:

1) If I start WinUAE with a config file, it works fine up to 512 MB

2) If I start WinUAE with a config file with 32 MB, press F12, increase the Z3 RAM and click Reset: VirtualAllloc() fails.

3) If I reset WinUAE with less or equal Z3 RAM, it works fine.

4) If I start WinUAE with more than 512 MB, it crashes with a dump.

I will post the log. And maybe the dump also.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 13 July 2012, 22:43   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,578
It is normal. It is not possible to increase pre-reserved 32-bit RAM size on the fly.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 July 2012, 23:19   #5
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: France
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It is normal. It is not possible to increase pre-reserved 32-bit RAM size on the fly.
Ah, OK.
In that case, I would suggest to forbid the user to increase the RAM on the fly, or at least display a MessageBox when VirtualAlloc fails, because the unfortunate user doesn't understand why there is no Z3 RAM at all

Also, on normal startup, WinUAE should not crash if more than 512 MB of Z3 RAM is asked. See my full log and config files as attachment.
I used A1200 quickstart configuration + 32-bit addressing + 768 MB of Z3 RAM.
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs.zip (21.7 KB, 82 views)
BlankVector is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 09:49   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlankVector View Post
Ah, OK.
In that case, I would suggest to forbid the user to increase the RAM on the fly, or at least display a MessageBox when VirtualAlloc fails, because the unfortunate user doesn't understand why there is no Z3 RAM at all
It is not worth the trouble. It is not easy to calculate how much memory really fits in currently reserved virtual address space. (Too many different ways depending on used configuration)

It is also not good idea to reserve too much because it can cause problems (not enough address space available for other allocations), especially under 32-bit systems.

Quote:
Also, on normal startup, WinUAE should not crash if more than 512 MB of Z3 RAM is asked. See my full log and config files as attachment.
I used A1200 quickstart configuration + 32-bit addressing + 768 MB of Z3 RAM.
Can't duplicate and dump don't really show anything useful but I don't think it is directly caused by Z3 RAM size.

Attach another log, use -log -logflush command line parameters to prevent last few lines to be lost. Try also 2.4.2 beta.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 11:24   #7
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: France
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It is not easy to calculate how much memory really fits in currently reserved virtual address space.
You didn't get my point, I didn't asked for that. I have opened a separate thread for that feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Attach another log, use -log -logflush command line parameters to prevent last few lines to be lost. Try also 2.4.2 beta.
Thanks for the -log parameter, that's really useful.

Unfortunately, there is no more information in the debug log with those options.

I tried WinUAE 2.4.2 beta 6, it still crashes in the same conditions. And it is even worse, as soon as I click OK in the Crash message box, another one pops up with a new crash, infinitely. I have to close the log window to exit from WinUAE.

See the full logs as attachment.
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs-242b6.zip (16.4 KB, 74 views)
BlankVector is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 12:32   #8
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: France
Posts: 175
Additional strange information, if that could help...

1) In any case, it always crashes when Z3 RAM is > 512 MB

2) It also crashes in a same way with some other cases as described below

3) Generally, I have better luck when running winuae.exe without parameters, then loading configurations from the GUI.

4) With some configurations, when I run winuae.exe -f someconfig.uae, it works if the config file contains use_gui=no, but it crashes with use_gui=yes, just after I click Start.
BlankVector is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32-bit Fast RAM slower than 24-bit Fast on certain A1200 config moshy support.WinUAE 1 24 May 2013 22:55
Connection Failed? PoLoMoTo project.IRC 4 30 September 2011 11:29
Use of 4MB PCMCIA Fast Flash Memory as Fast RAM in A1200 nkarytia support.Hardware 10 16 September 2011 14:37
Apollo 1260 32MB FAST or Blizzard 1260 64MB FAST? prart support.Hardware 36 19 June 2008 01:23
Failed returncode 20 HymnsomniaK New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 17 January 2007 14:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08201 seconds with 16 queries