English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 August 2002, 22:17   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Amiga Rocks!

I'm browsing the EAB using A-Web II, because IBrowse denies to boot up on my system, dunno why :P

Anyway, this is the internet!! on my "obsolete" computer! looks liek arse because I'm running in Euro72 Laced and 64 colors, but what the HEY

I love my Amiga ! And it smells of Dolce Vita now... yumm yumm...


RCK, works quite fine with this browser!
Akira is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 22:21   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
What Version of IBrowse you use 1.12 and 2.2 both work fine here on my A1200/030/50Mhz.

and btw. you´re right : AMIGA ROCKZ
RetroMan is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 22:27   #3
v8juice
Registered User
v8juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Re: Amiga Rocks!

Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
on my "obsolete" computer!
You mean on your "toy" computer, your piece of crap computer as my friend likes to say, never having placed her hands upon one? Damn! I wish I still had mine... Go for it, baby!
v8juice is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 22:37   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Now I need to get my MSX2 onto the net too

Amazing is teh speed it is running at. I think that if I had a gfx card running in there, it would browse as fast as my PC.

As is, runs as fast as my P133 browsing the net. Then you wonder what are those extra 83 Mhz for!
Akira is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 22:41   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
Now I need to get my MSX2 onto the net too
Yep I also plan to get a RS232 Cart for my MSX2-Beast
RetroMan is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 00:00   #6
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 51
Posts: 2,802
The extra 83 MHZ is for the graphics need to display the blue screen of death
Can you take a screenshot, Akira? I wonder how it looks?
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 00:43   #7
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
I too browse with iBrowse 2.2.

My Amiga normally displays courtesy of a Voodoo3. I would be interested in seeing EAB rendered by AGA, as I have never seen it. Must get round to doing that. Race you, Akira.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 06:20   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I'll try to get a screenie, but it looks damn ugly at 64 colors, I tell you! That and the fact that it's not loading GIF piccies (where's the bloody plugin? :P) and I cant seem to pick a smaller font for some of the stuff there....

But it's very navigable, and the javascript, cookies, forms and all are working!

Like a GOOD browser, it bothered me everytime I did anything on the EAB, because the EAB writes much cookies... "Will you accept the cookie?" Yes thanks for asking, Amiga. RCK bakes nice cookies /
Akira is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 15:08   #9
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
Bzzzz! Too slow, Akira!

Here is EAB AGA style. Pal Hi-Res Laced, 256 colours.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	eab_aga.png
Views:	335
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	3214  
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 21:44   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
It looks better than on my AWEB because my frigging thing doesnt have a GIF plugin or something, so all I see are JPGs

I have to fix that, or get a working version of IBrowse!
Akira is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 21:58   #11
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
...or get a working version of IBrowse!
Try setting up SnoopDos Maybe you are just missing a library or something
RetroMan is offline  
Old 04 August 2002, 14:57   #12
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
It looks better than on my AWEB because my frigging thing doesnt have a GIF plugin or something, so all I see are JPGs
No plugin required. Sounds like your Amiga needs a GIF Datatype, though.

From AWeb docs:
Quote:
The commonly used ZGif datatype version 39.16 had a bug. Be sure to use version 39.18 or better of the ZGif datatype, or another GIF datatype.
If it's any consolation, I can't get Voyager working properly...
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 04 August 2002, 16:26   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally posted by blackcornflake
No plugin required. Sounds like your Amiga needs a GIF Datatype, though.
Ooh, that's it! Ive got to load the datatype! I already have it but I keep it in Storage, I only load it up when I need it

Thanks!
Akira is offline  
Old 05 August 2002, 16:50   #14
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
Now I need to get my MSX2 onto the net too

Amazing is teh speed it is running at. I think that if I had a gfx card running in there, it would browse as fast as my PC.

As is, runs as fast as my P133 browsing the net. Then you wonder what are those extra 83 Mhz for!
wanna visit my c64?

http://oxfordinspire.dyndns.org:64/

be patient.. its realtime transferred from 1541 disk. and you know how slow they are.. and its only 9600 slip to the net..

ill leave it on for a few hours so you can all visit (it only allows 1 at a time though heh)

)

64k / ~1mhz should be enough for everyone
BuZz is offline  
Old 05 August 2002, 17:16   #15
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
It loaded quite quickly for me
Paul is offline  
Old 05 August 2002, 17:23   #16
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
For me too

There is a webserver out there on a C64 with 38400Baud connection but I lost the URL
RetroMan is offline  
Old 05 August 2002, 17:28   #17
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
For me too

There is a webserver out there on a C64 with 38400Baud connection but I lost the URL
i can increase the speed, but it wouldnt make much difference unless i served data direct from memory..

this is another c64 online

http://www.dunkels.com/adam/tfe/
BuZz is offline  
Old 05 August 2002, 17:37   #18
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
This is the one I ment : http://c64.cc65.org/
RetroMan is offline  
Old 05 August 2002, 17:45   #19
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,506
woohoo Commodore 64 Power !!! Still going strong ! respect to the ones who are developing and still using this great computer ...
kriz is offline  
Old 05 August 2002, 17:53   #20
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
This is the one I ment : http://c64.cc65.org/
aah runs the tcp stack the tfe people made. its actually seems more advanced than lng in some respects, but lng is much more compact (being pure asm). and is like a complete unix alike environment. i can sit on my c64, write emails, collect emails.. telnet.. ftp etc :d
BuZz is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metal Jesus Rocks - You Tube Retro Gaming! Peter Retrogaming General Discussion 18 22 June 2012 20:59
planet potion 2002 rocks ! RCK Amiga scene 1 12 April 2002 00:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10048 seconds with 14 queries