English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2010, 04:55   #1
desantii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 125
Floppy weird behavior

I recntly found a Chinon FZ-357 drive in my stufff that was in storage, has some weird behaviour though.
If I boot with the floppy in the drive it recognizes the floppy and works fine, althogh does not recognize if I eject or insert another disk.
If I boot with no floppy, all I gte is a DF0: Unreadable

Any thoughts? hopefully can be repaired

thanks
desantii is offline  
Old 30 July 2010, 06:49   #2
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Do you have an Escom A1200 mobo? Does the drive tick like normal Amiga drive (RDY signal)?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 30 July 2010, 07:03   #3
desantii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 125
No ticking, I was trying on a A3000 and A2000
desantii is offline  
Old 30 July 2010, 07:57   #4
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Disk Present sensor of the drive is stuck. Clean it.
rkauer is offline  
Old 31 July 2010, 08:04   #5
breech
Asking stupid questions
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Syd.Oz
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Disk Present sensor of the drive is stuck. Clean it.
Could you point us to a thread or info regarding this?
Thanks
breech is offline  
Old 31 July 2010, 15:13   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,302
Somewhere at the front of your drive there will be a couple of little push switches (usually in black or white plastic). There is usually one for detecting write protect and the other is to detect if a disk is inserted or not.

If you look at these they might be obviously dirty or covered in fluff. Any obvious filth should be cleaned away and then squirt a little isopropyl alcohol on them. Then giving them a bit of a play usually does the trick. You may not even need the alcohol if they are just covered in filth.

Go forth and fettle
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 31 July 2010, 17:07   #7
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by desantii View Post
If I boot with the floppy in the drive it recognizes the floppy and works fine, althogh does not recognize if I eject or insert another disk.
If I boot with no floppy, all I gte is a DF0: Unreadable

Any thoughts? hopefully can be repaired
It is PC drive and this is NORMAL behavior for Amiga - try to modify this FDD to Amiga - some jumper or soldering pads need to be in correct position - if there is no jumpers or solder pads (or microswitches - on some FDD there was microswitches that allow to chance many things) - You probably need to do some wire artwork.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 31 July 2010, 18:49   #8
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
It is PC drive and this is NORMAL behavior for Amiga - try to modify this FDD to Amiga - some jumper or soldering pads need to be in correct position - if there is no jumpers or solder pads (or microswitches - on some FDD there was microswitches that allow to chance many things) - You probably need to do some wire artwork.
I went and checked my A4000 drive, it's a Chinon but a FB-357A, not an FZ-357 what's the difference?
Loedown is offline  
Old 01 August 2010, 00:07   #9
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loedown View Post
I went and checked my A4000 drive, it's a Chinon but a FB-357A, not an FZ-357 what's the difference?
I could be wrong, but I think I've read somewhere that it's to do with the height of the drive unit. One is 25mm high (if I'm right, you will know which it is) and the other is 30mm high.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 August 2010, 09:32   #10
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Prowler is right: the FB series is the original A500/2000 unit, and have 30mm height while the FZ series used in A1200/4000 is a low profile unit (25mm).
rkauer is offline  
Old 01 August 2010, 22:01   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Thanks for confirming that and clarifying it, mate!
prowler is offline  
Old 01 August 2010, 22:05   #12
desantii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 125
Update, cleaned the pads, same issue. I guess it might be a PC drive? Is tehre a way to check if its a PC drive?
desantii is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 02:18   #13
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by desantii View Post
Update, cleaned the pads, same issue. I guess it might be a PC drive? Is tehre a way to check if its a PC drive?
If it's a PC drive I don't think there will be any harm in plugging it into a floppy drive port on a PC motherboard, leave my comment stand for a day, if there's no howls of protest try it.
Loedown is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 02:22   #14
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
That's what I would suggest, too, if you have access to a PC with a standard 34-pin floppy drive port.
prowler is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 03:58   #15
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
That's what I would suggest, too, if you have access to a PC with a standard 34-pin floppy drive port.
It's called your local garbage tip or nearest street corner, no I mean the other street corner, the one without the scantily clad woman.
Loedown is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 06:37   #16
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,540
Theres only one place these crappy new motherboards without floppy controllers or serial & parallel ports belong. The bin.
Hewitson is online now  
Old 02 August 2010, 07:08   #17
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Theres only one place these crappy new motherboards without floppy controllers or serial & parallel ports belong. The bin.
What stops you from using a USB powered floppy?
Loedown is offline  
Old 03 August 2010, 02:04   #18
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loedown View Post
What stops you from using a USB powered floppy?
Disk2FDI (and probably ADFRead) cannot be used with a USB floppy drive.
prowler is offline  
Old 03 August 2010, 05:29   #19
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
I would have assumed that Hewitson was talking about PC hardware not Amiga. Or perhaps I am assuming too much?
Loedown is offline  
Old 03 August 2010, 08:14   #20
Konrad
Registered User
Konrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 581
I had this happen on my old Amiga 4000. Was annoying the hell out of me. And it happend with an original Commodore floppy drive, not one for a PC. The Pins weren't stuck on the drive. I couldn't really find the error, so I swapped the drive and everything was fine.
Konrad is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Science Network Kit Floppy chocolate_boy request.Apps 5 14 March 2012 08:32
Weird A500 boot-up behavior 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 8 25 October 2009 21:10
Very strange SFS behavior. Thorham support.Apps 26 17 October 2009 16:04
Weird A4000 floppy problems mrluff support.Hardware 9 14 February 2009 16:12
Strange behavior in A4000 Computolio support.Hardware 8 22 September 2007 13:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09199 seconds with 13 queries