English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 September 2007, 12:58   #1
mai
 
Posts: n/a
CDDA in Genetic Species

Hi!

Actually, I don't know if this's a problem or not, 'cos I've never played GS on real Amiga. I can hear CDDA music from GS CD via my media player under Windows, but I never heard any music during gameplay at all (but I've completed only 1st of 4 levels of the game). This's supposed to be that way, or here're some emulation problems?

Thank you!
 
Old 04 September 2007, 14:37   #2
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 46
Posts: 648
have you connected the analog audio cable to your drive?
laser is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 16:14   #3
mai
 
Posts: n/a
Suppose, you misunderstood me or I can't understand you well. The point is... I'm playing on WinUAE 1.4.3, so all my Amiga hardware is virtual and works as fine as it could be on my PC

As far as I know Genetics Species CD supposed to be with CDDA tracks and it is for sure... but I can't hear it through the game (only sounds), so I think either I have some problems in configuring WinUAE, or music supposed to be played at some other place of the game (I've not completed it yet).

Last edited by mai; 04 September 2007 at 17:26.
 
Old 04 September 2007, 16:57   #4
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 46
Posts: 648
how you have mounted the cd image on winuae? using daemon tools?...alcohol? or you have burned a normal cd?
laser is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 17:07   #5
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,599
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
You might need the GS Addon update which will allow you to select uaescsi.device for use with cdda. CD Audio also needs enableing in the game options and required multitasking enabled too.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 17:25   #6
mai
 
Posts: n/a
laser, Daemon Tools v4.09HE.
Mad-Mat, GS addon installed, CD audio and multitasking enabled.
 
Old 04 September 2007, 17:38   #7
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,599
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
unless demon tools can send the audio digitaly then, you may not get cdda, as the emulator is sending scsi commands to play the audio in analogue mode i guess which wouldnt have a way of getting to sound card
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 17:39   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
Not this analogue cd audio stuff again. Connect your soundcard with your cd-rom and all is fine. And burn the cd, of course.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 18:42   #9
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 46
Posts: 648
MAI,

try this

unistall daemon tools v4 and install daemon tools v3.47

mount the image......and there's an option on daemon tools 3.47 named "analog audio"...enable it...and try the game...it will work

developers of daemon tools removed analog audio option after 3.47 version.....who knows why
laser is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 20:09   #10
mai
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks all for help, unfortunately, none of these works.

I think the problem a little bit more complicated. This is what PlayCD said to me, when I've tried to play CD audio under Amiga OS:


Finally, I cann't even mount CD0 device in DOSDrivers, it said:


Sorry, I'm pretty new in Amiga OS, so not clearly understand what it said to me
 
Old 04 September 2007, 20:24   #11
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 46
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
Thanks all for help, unfortunately, none of these works.

I think the problem a little bit more complicated. This is what PlayCD said to me, when I've tried to play CD audio under Amiga OS:


Finally, I cann't even mount CD0 device in DOSDrivers, it said:


Sorry, I'm pretty new in Amiga OS, so not clearly understand what it said to me

forget playcd...that's to make playcd to work
mount genetic species'cd using daemon tools 3.47..then mount that drive on workbench...then play the game
laser is offline  
Old 05 September 2007, 05:39   #12
mai
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
forget playcd...that's to make playcd to work
mount genetic species'cd using daemon tools 3.47..then mount that drive on workbench...then play the game
It won't work, or ther're something I'm doing wrong.

Mount GS CD in DT 3.47 (Analog Audio is on):


Add cd0 device in WinUAE:


Then mount cd0 in Workbench (don't know if I'm doing right this step, but anyway it seems to be already mounted somehow):


CD music is on in game properties:
 
Old 05 September 2007, 05:46   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
1. Burn the CD image
2. Connect your CD drive with your soundcard
3. Play the game with sound (via analogue out/jack plug)
4. No more Amiga CDDA questions for Amiga CD games on EAB.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 September 2007, 06:31   #14
mai
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
1. Burn the CD image
2. Connect your CD drive with your soundcard
3. Play the game with sound (via analogue out/jack plug)
As I've already said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai
...unfortunately, none of these works.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
4. No more Amiga CDDA questions for Amiga CD games on EAB.
okey doke
 
Old 05 September 2007, 07:08   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
A burnded CD works fine, and all other Amiga CD games with CDDA too.At least in a proper installed OS with CD-Rom driver. Neither a DT mounted or WinUAE mounted Amiga CD game plays the tracks. Do you have more than one DVD/CD-Rom drive in your PC? Try the first windows detected drive first to play the game. But the most important thing it as i mentioned before: Connect your DVD/CD-Rom with your soundcard.

I'm afraid you will find no other solution to hear the audio tracks in WinUAE. But anyway, good luck.

Which OS, 3.9? CD0 should be look like this: (in DEVS/DOSDRIVERS)

Code:
/***************************************************************/
/*  CacheCDFS mountlist entry © 2000 Amiga Inc.    */
/***************************************************************/
       FileSystem     = L:CacheCDFS /* The name of the game */
       Device         = "uaescsi.device" /* Name of exec device driver */
       Unit           = 0 /* exec device unit */
       Flags          = 0 /* OpenDevice flags */
       BlocksPerTrack = 351000 /* Unused */
       BlockSize      = 2048 /* True, but unused */
       Mask           = 0x7ffffffe /* Memory mask for direct read */
       MaxTransfer    = 0x1000000 /* Maximum amount of bytes for direct read */
       Reserved       = 0 /* Unused */
       Interleave     = 0 /* Unused */
       LowCyl         = 0 /* Unused */
       HighCyl        = 0 /* Unused */
       Surfaces       = 1 /* Unused */
       Buffers        = 50 /* Number of cache lines */
       BufMemType     = 1 /* MEMF_PUBLIC */
       BootPri        = 2 /* Boot priority for MountCD */
       GlobVec        = -1 /* Do not change! */
       Mount          = 1 /* Mount it immediately */
       Priority       = 10 /* Priority of FileSystem task */
       DosType        = 0x43443031 /* Currently unused */
       StackSize      = 3000 /* Minimum stack required is 3000! */
       Control        = "MD=1 LC=1 DC=8 NC L LV AL LFC=1 HR=.rsrc MSDOS AUDIO=Utilities/PlayCD"
   /* The Control field is for special adjustments */
   /* L/S convert all file/volume names to lowercase */
   /* LV/S convert volume names to lowercase */
   /* AL/S Auto-Lower converts only non-Amiga CDs */
   /* LFC/N start converting at this character */
   /* LC/N/A number of blocks per cache line */
   /* DC/N/A number of cache lines for the data cache */
   /* MD/N/A number of blocks, when starting direct read, not using */
   /* the cache. 0 will be a reasonable default (LC*DC+1) */
   /* S/S Do SCSI direct commands, no Trackdisk like commands! */
   /* NC/S Do NOT use TD_ADDCHANGEINT, poll for DiskChange! */
   /* M/S Issue a TD_MOTOR (OFF) command after read */

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 05 September 2007 at 07:58.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 September 2007, 10:25   #16
mai
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Do you have more than one DVD/CD-Rom drive in your PC?
Three, but two of them virtual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Try the first windows detected drive first to play the game.
I've burned the game on CD and place it in my first drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Connect your DVD/CD-Rom with your soundcard.
It's connected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Which OS, 3.9?
Yes, OS 3.9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
CD0 should be look like this: (in DEVS/DOSDRIVERS)
My CD0 is exactly as yours, uaescsi.device option is checked on in WinUAE.

But it still won't work Anyway appreciate your help. Suppose the best I can do - reinstall Amiga OS.
 
Old 05 September 2007, 11:11   #17
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 46
Posts: 648
MAI,

make this test:
mount the genetic species cd image using daemon tools 3.47

on playcd'icon .....insert the tooltype: dosdev=CD0 or CD1 or CD2 (where daemon tools' drive is)

and check if you can browse on playcd through game'cdda tracks
also check if you can hear the audio
laser is offline  
Old 05 September 2007, 12:22   #18
mai
 
Posts: n/a
Here's tooltypes:


And then again:
 
Old 05 September 2007, 12:24   #19
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,599
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
Three, but two of them virtual.


I've burned the game on CD and place it in my first drive.


It's connected.


Yes, OS 3.9.


My CD0 is exactly as yours, uaescsi.device option is checked on in WinUAE.

But it still won't work Anyway appreciate your help. Suppose the best I can do - reinstall Amiga OS.
Also run the CDDA icon in GS Addon dir to set uaescsi.device unit 0.
Also depending on which aspi driver is set in winuae, unmute the cdaudio / digital audio in the audio mixer. Although dont worry about the mixer unless cd led is flashing showing its at least trying to play the audio
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 05 September 2007, 12:25   #20
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,599
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
Here's tooltypes:


And then again:
Lol, remember to remove the brackets around the tooltype
Mad-Matt is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to get Genetic Species + CDDA to work Xenphor support.WinUAE 5 15 July 2013 01:17
Genetic species cdda tracks laser request.Modules 12 30 August 2008 14:50
Genetic Species NewDeli Games images which need to be WHDified 8 11 July 2008 12:42
Genetic Species Stig Amiga scene 9 05 October 2006 00:39
T-Zero, Genetic Species... ST Dragon Retrogaming General Discussion 19 08 March 2005 10:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11433 seconds with 14 queries