English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 January 2020, 21:12   #1
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
Classic Workbench and virus danger

I use Classic Workbench lite version (under emulation)

I'd like to know what happens when i launch an exe which contain a virus

What can happen in this case ?
chip is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 21:42   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,378
Normally Viruses on Amiga were almost all on Floppies that once started infected RAM creating crashes and reboots of the system.

Many years ago a patch of Dopus5, formatted my hardsik leaving me in the system folders the same message telling me that I used a cracked pach.

--------- Italiano ---------

Normalmente i Virus su Amiga erano quasi tutti sui Floppy che una volta avviati infettavano RAM creando crash e riavvii del sistema.

Tanti anni fa una patch di Dopus5 mi formattò l'hardsik lasciandomi nelle cartelle di sistema uno stesso messaggio che mi diceva di aver usato un pach craccata.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 04:03   #3
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,545
Depends on the Virus! Some were merely gags that would display a message randomly on the screen on reboots, and others would delete files or wipe your HD! I would get Virus Executor, that is a really good Anti Virus program.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 04:27   #4
Misclegend
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 101
Id say Amiga virus are much more dangerous than PC virus

in the AMiga there are malicious virus which can format your entire Hardisk or corrupt all the files inside, destroy HD partitions etc,

I had enough experience with them, specially downloading virus from Aminet which during 1997-2002 there was no antivirus control there
and there were many idiots who uploaded dangerous viruses

on the PC side, some virus can corrupt certain windows files or corrupt a windows installation, but they will not format your Hardisk or corrupt all files inside, at least personally I have never had that experience

Id say the Amiga virus are the most malicious and destructive on earth, however now they are totally exterminated, and in the web the Amiga software is all controlled and free of virus

is impossible or very difficult today to get a virus in the Amiga unless you start to test some games or programs from those old Amiga CDs with cracked stuff
Misclegend is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 09:39   #5
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
A virus can infect the system without NO SIGNALS in a way that it can infect all other exes which will be launched in Classic Workbench ?

If so, in which way can i avoid this ?

Last edited by chip; 16 January 2020 at 10:04.
chip is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 10:24   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,378
VirusZ

VirusExecutor

Virus Checker II
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 10:27   #7
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
I have VirusZ in my system

So, i must launch the antivirus and check the exe before launching it ?
chip is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 10:38   #8
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 608
You worry too much about viruses Chip?
Viceroy is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 10:39   #9
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
That's something i'm trying to understand actually
chip is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 10:57   #10
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 47
Posts: 3,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
A virus can infect the system without NO SIGNALS in a way that it can infect all other exes which will be launched in Classic Workbench ?
Not exactly with no signals, no.
When the virus replicates it has to write on disk.
Thus unusual disk activity should catch your attention. This is the way i detected ebola 2 back in '97. Then VirusZ took care of it.

As peecees constantly hit the disk i felt a lot more secure on the miggy, really.

True viruses can be more dangerous on the Amiga but they are also much less resilient. You can't e.g. get rootkits that will resist eradication.
meynaf is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 11:02   #11
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
Thanks meynaf

But to be honest, do you think UNDER EMULATION viruses are something to worried really about ?
chip is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 11:10   #12
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 47
Posts: 3,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Thanks meynaf

But to be honest, do you think UNDER EMULATION viruses are something to worried really about ?
The situation is more or less the same as on real HW... Why would it differ ?
meynaf is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 11:11   #13
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
I don't know actually, is something i'm trying to understand
chip is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 13:48   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misclegend View Post
however now they are totally exterminated, and in the web the Amiga software is all controlled and free of virus
That's not true; TOSEC still contains many disks that have viruses hence this flag:

Quote:
Virus - [v]

The image is damaged from the infection of a virus.

The variants are:

[v] - Virus (infected)

[v Virus] - Infected with virus

[v Virus Version] - Infected with virus of version

Note: Renamers should try to always using the same virus names, for example don't use "VirusXPTO1", "virusxpto1" and "Virus XPTO1" with different images for the same virus.
DamienD is online now  
Old 16 January 2020, 16:32   #15
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,595
@chip : Doing a full system scan with VirusZ should be enough I think
But if you are really worried about viruses (even when VirusZ is running on your OS), keep a copy of your floppy files.
Most of the Amiga viruses were created at a time when HD were not popular so they were designed to infect floppy disks. I can't remember a virus having ever, BitD, infected my HD, but, BitD, I have lost some original games (write-enabled floppy) due to soft resets after having played an infected cracked copy ... If you turn off the emulation, like a hard-reset on the Amiga, the virus will die.
malko is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 16:36   #16
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,526
I got a Virus in the past from some A-max emulator disk off a BBS collections it infects some shell commands just throwing up errors when booting Workbench- Sadam or something can't remember.

Last edited by Retro1234; 16 January 2020 at 16:41.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 17:58   #17
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
Yep, guys, i will use an antivirus from now

I will check the exe just before launching it

It should be enough i think

Thanks for all the replies

Last edited by chip; 16 January 2020 at 18:16.
chip is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 18:01   #18
rcman
Long time Amiga Owner

rcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Uxbridge Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 122
I hadn't used my Amiga 2000 for a long time. Didn't think I needed to worry about viruses but when I started to use WinUAE strange things would happen when I brought files from my old system over.

I installed VirusZ in WinUAE and it found viruses on some of my files. When I went back and scanned all the files from my 2000 I couldn't believe how many were on there.

Now I use VirusZ all the time.
RC
rcman is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 18:08   #19
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
Yep, i see, better to use an antivirus then

Thanks for info rcman
chip is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 18:17   #20
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 608
Chip if you are that worried always make a copy of your WB HDF before you run anything!
Viceroy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A2000 - Best classic Workbench? checksum project.ClassicWB 10 09 May 2016 14:18
well i have update my Workbench to Classic Workbench mcbone Amiga scene 0 02 May 2015 22:22
Old virus checker with red workbench disk Firestone Looking for a game name ? 3 09 September 2014 11:58
Classic Sprites - Fatal Danger A500 invent Amiga scene 8 05 June 2014 22:55
Classic Workbench Installation Vicky project.ClassicWB 15 02 May 2014 02:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09264 seconds with 13 queries