English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 January 2020, 01:18   #101
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by xubidoo View Post
am using the whdload version that retroplay posted above.
---cut---
Ok, thanks.
Probably some blitter waits are missing, I will update the slave, maybe next weekend.
ross is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 01:25   #102
xubidoo
Scoobydoo

xubidoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Accrington, UK
Posts: 290
thanks Ross , that would be much appreciated, i can still play the game for now, just looks a little weird
xubidoo is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 05:55   #103
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,541
Just wanted to say, thanks for doing this fix! Great little game! (Sadly doesn't run on my NTSC A1000 though.) But it works great on my A500 NTSC in PAL mode! Nice little game!

Last edited by TjLaZer; 14 January 2020 at 07:54.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 05:59   #104
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,541
Also wanted to mention that Google's amazing Chrome Web Browser for some reason is blocking the download of this game from the Zone. I had to download the WHDload version and use the Disk.1 file in it and renamed it to Ziriax.adf. Weird!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 14 January 2020, 12:52   #105
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Also wanted to mention that Google's amazing Chrome Web Browser for some reason is blocking the download of this game from the Zone.
Which archive exactly, I'm guessing it's one of the last 2?

For some reason when using the "EAB File Server search", after clicking on any file that has a "%" messes up the link (same happens with files that have a #):

... /TheZone/files/_2018/Ziriax (1990)(Software Business)[cr ross][f AGA ross][t +6 ross].zip
... Ziriax (1990)(The Whiz Kidz)[cr ross][t +6 ross] [Ziriax 100% (Ultimate Edition)].zip
... Ziriax_ross [Ziriax 100% by Ross uploaded for xboxown].rar

Just browse to the location and download

Last edited by DamienD; 14 January 2020 at 12:58.
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 January 2020, 22:20   #106
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,541
Just a note on the WHDload install for Ziriax Ultimate Edition from Ross. Game has corrupt sprites when running on 4000/060. Same with the ADF.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 17 January 2020, 22:29   #107
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Just a note on the WHDload install for Ziriax Ultimate Edition from Ross. Game has corrupt sprites when running on 4000/060. Same with the ADF.
Yes, missing blitter wait. I'm working on it
ross is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 11:59   #108
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,420
Into the Zone! the new slave, please test.

Thanks to the original slave creator, especially to StingRay for blitter wait positions
ross is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 13:40   #109
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,309
My pleasure.
StingRay is offline  
Old 19 January 2020, 00:35   #110
xubidoo
Scoobydoo

xubidoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Accrington, UK
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Into the Zone! the new slave, please test.

Thanks to the original slave creator, especially to StingRay for blitter wait positions

thanks Ross , cant wait to test, but moving house on the 19th, so no internet till end of month
xubidoo is offline  
Old 19 January 2020, 01:41   #111
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,541
Tested and works well on my A4000/060! But after a while of playing I got a crash. See pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	147.5 KB
ID:	65937   Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	200.3 KB
ID:	65938   Click image for larger version

Name:	0.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	182.0 KB
ID:	65939  
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 19 January 2020, 02:18   #112
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Tested and works well on my A4000/060! But after a while of playing I got a crash. See pic.
Can you please post the core dump?
ross is offline  
Old 19 January 2020, 11:58   #113
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Can you please post the core dump?
Done, in the zone. Happens at the end of level 2.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 19 January 2020, 14:48   #114
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Done, in the zone. Happens at the end of level 2.
Thanks.
Problem is an overflow missing check on a multi-indexed array in the original code.
Usually the array never ever fills.
Probably happens only on very very fast machines and when you are overpowered.

Unfortunately the array cannot be increased in size for too many reasons.
I'll try some countermeasures hoping not to create glitches.

With disabled cache(s) the game works properly?
ross is offline  
Old 19 January 2020, 18:26   #115
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,420
Into the Zone the Ziriax slave v1.3_final.

I'm pretty confident that I've fixed the access fault reported by TjLaZer
I could not reproduce it with any 040/060 WinUAE configuration, but I simulated a smaller sized array to confirm the memory leak.

Enjoy.
ross is offline  
Old 20 January 2020, 06:31   #116
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,541
Tested to the end today with no crash! Thanks Ross!
TjLaZer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ziriax - Great amiga shmup Shatterhand Nostalgia & memories 42 18 April 2016 15:43
Ziriax, Zarathrusta and Deliverance CodyJarrett project.Amiga Lore 6 07 March 2013 03:50
Gloom 3 ''Ultimate Gloom'' Zombie Edition (CD32) bagpipes support.WinUAE 25 22 September 2010 20:53
ZIRIAX at last !!! dlfrsilver project.SPS (was CAPS) 6 30 March 2006 00:11
adf to disk and ziriax tassy New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 10 March 2002 23:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09465 seconds with 16 queries