English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 11 June 2019, 09:51   #1
Aburamushi

Amiga 4000 repairs / upgrades advices

Hello,

I bought an Amiga 4000D. The beast works, but it needs some minor repairs / upgrades.

I would like to use it as a main machine (I have a 1200 with a Blizzard 1230@50 and 128 MB. I would probably sell it later).

It's originally a 4000/40, but it's equipped with:

CPU card 3630@25 instead of 3640.

2mo chip and 16mo fast

GVP A2000-HC scsi card (http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact2000hc)

A Yamaha scsi cd/cdrw that works.

A K.O. floppy disk drive.

The original battery has been replaced by a button battery.

An IDE - CF adapter (with AmigaOS 3.9).

A kickstart 3.1 (40.068)

Not being a fan of AmigaOS 3.9, I installed ClassicWB 3.1 last night -> I just cloned the installation of my A1200, and changed the scsi.device with the 4000 one via winuae, I'm proud of myself, because I'm still a beginner, and it works ?

I tried to install the SCSI card driver by plugging in my HxC, but during the installation script asked me for the NEWCON floppy disk... I don't know what it is... so I will try again later.

So I have some questions:

What is the advantage of keeping the scsi card, since I can put an IDE CD/DVD drive? And that one do not have fastram... Besides, I have an unused Buddha IDE card, maybe I can use that one instead?

The plastic bar that turns on the power supply is a little damaged, you know where I can get some?

Do you have any accelerator cards to recommend? They seem to be very expensive on this machine.

The other alternative would be to change the CPU card to a 3660 or 3640, but I think they don't have an integrated ram. Are BigRAMPlus / ZoRAM memory cards interesting? (I've read that they could slow down the machine because of the Zorro III port).

I also planned a capkit , but I feel like I'm embarking on an expensive project....

Thanks!
Old 11 June 2019, 13:19   #2
Daedalus