English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 November 2019, 20:58   #1
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,030
Amiga games with adjustable window sizes

I was just adding Captain Planet to the next update of my CD32 disc and noticed the game has an adjustable game window size using F1-F4 as well as a NTSC/PAL realtime screen mode switch, i know some games have the NTSC/PAL switch Flink etc but does anyone know any other games that have the ability to readjust the window size on the fly?

Edit: excluding FPS games!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 21:05   #2
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,819
I've never known this, quite unique!
BippyM is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 00:51   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,399
I knew about Flink but not Captain Planet.

I'm sure I've come across maybe 2 - 3 others in my Amiga game playing but forgot exactly what they were... and not prepared to go through 2800 games to find out
DamienD is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 01:00   #4
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design

DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sunny Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 471
I'd imagine it is quite rare, because (as a game developer) I can say that a lot of gameplay is based around the visible "area" around the character
DanScott is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 10:22   #5
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,583
Only game i know of that has resizable view window is Colonization, and there are tight limits.
meynaf is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 10:44   #6
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 645
Actually some Maxis games have windows and scaling ability, e.g. RoboSport, Sim Ant, Sim City 2000...
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 14:04   #7
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,030
Yeah it was more to see non workbench style games, but from peoples memories it sounds like it was a pretty rare thing, i did go through other Mindscape games to see if any others are the same, but no others the same.

Tony Crowther’s other game Phobia also has a NTSC/PAL switch and a high res mode so looks like he liked to give the player a good range of options, but seems so far only Captain Planet allowed window resizing outside the aforementioned genres.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 14:15   #8
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,492
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Gloom etc.
Predseda is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First & Last Amiga Games running on set memory sizes 256k/512k/1MB/2MB Amigajay Amiga scene 4 29 October 2019 15:22
How can I save window positions and sizes in Workbench? Foebane support.Apps 6 10 April 2017 16:09
Adjustable size for masks Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 2 16 February 2013 05:02
How to change window border sizes/aspect ratio in ClassicWB Full? mingle project.ClassicWB 4 28 June 2010 15:10
File sizes in Gamebase Amiga antonvaltaz project.MAGE 1 15 August 2009 20:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06665 seconds with 15 queries