English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Contest

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 July 2018, 13:58   #1
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,479
Discussion: Rygar AGA Edition

Here's my entry as I started work on this last night...

Title:
Rygar AGA Edition

Genre:
Arcade Action Platformer

Original concept:
No - This will be an arcade port of the original Tecmo game to the Amiga A1200.

Expected game size:
Game has 27 levels about 30 mins to play. I will develop as many as I can time allowing for the competition.

Team members (Real or forum names):
At the moment.
mcgeezer (coding/gfx formatting & extraction),
dflrsilver (gfx extraction)

Targeted spec:
A1200 stock Amiga with 2MB Chip Ram (memory requirement may change).

Tools to be used:
  • Devpac 3
  • VASM
  • Notepad++
  • WINUAE
  • Paint.net
  • Personal Paint
  • Windows 10
  • VGMAPS.com
  • XConvert
  • MAME 0.180

Description of game:
Well known classic arcade action platformer

Other notes:
Like I did with Bomb Jack I will start full development in October 2018, between now and then I will be arranging tiles/sprites into correct order/sizes. I will provide development updates as I go in the form of YT videos.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 14:41   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,418
Oh yeah!!! Legend!!!
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 15:27   #3
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,202
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Looking forward to this!
DDNI is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 16:16   #4
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,356
Nice!

I like that it's stock A1200. Not that many AGA arcade conversions around, so it'll be interesting to see how it copes
roondar is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 16:49   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,239
Nice project, I think you may need more than the 2MB chip of a standard A1200 though.
StingRay is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 17:31   #6
NeoHippie2016
Freak
NeoHippie2016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Gladbeck
Age: 43
Posts: 411
Wow! Wonderful Project!
NeoHippie2016 is online now  
Old 27 July 2018, 17:57   #7
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 827
Cool!
fryguy is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 18:16   #8
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Nice project, I think you may need more than the 2MB chip of a standard A1200 though.
Thanks. You might be right but here are my rough calculations...

I need 3 * 45KB screen buffers in chip ram based on.
  • 40 bytes scan line width (32+256+32)/8
  • 224 scanline height = (40*224)=8,960 bytes
  • 8,960 * 5 Bit Planes for 32 colours = 44,800 bytes

44,800 bytes per screen buffer of which I need
  • 1 Front Buffer
  • 1 Back Buffer
  • 1 Restore Buffer

134,400 bytes for Foreground scrolling buffer

I also need a front and back 5 bitplane buffer for the background scrolling so thats another ...
89,600 bytes

Each background is 8 colours and is (1024 * 184) in size so that's another
70,656 bytes

In the arcade there are 1024 * 16x16 tiles. I need those in 32 colours so...
2 bytes (wide) * 16 (depth) * 5 (bit planes) = 160 bytes per tile... * 1024 = 163,840 bytes

The arcade has the same amount for sprites as it has 4096 * 8x8 objects... so that's another
1 byte (wide) * 8 (depth) * 5 (bitplanes) = 40 bytes per object * 4096 = 163,840 bytes

Now I need to double those sprites for the masks... so another 163,840 bytes

So a summary breakdown...
  • 135K Foreground screen buffers
  • 90K Background screen buffers
  • 70K for Background image data
  • 164K for Foreground Tiles (
  • 164K for Sprites Objects
  • 164K for Sprite masks
  • 50K for 1 plane collision screens
  • 200K for music and samples
  • 300K Other stuff...(HW Sprites/Titles/Charset/Copper/Stack/Flipped tiles)

1,337KB.... It should fit in 2mb Amigas.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 18:22   #9
ovale
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 155
Off course you know of the OCS version?
https://www.retrogaminghistory.com/c...?postid=138040
ovale is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 18:27   #10
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 1,207
Looks like a big project. Looking forward to follow your progress and I'm more than happy to help with playtesting
hipoonios is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 18:33   #11
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovale View Post
Off course you know of the OCS version?
https://www.retrogaminghistory.com/c...?postid=138040
Sure I do...
Developing the game for OCS is a stretch too far for my capabilities (and the platform in my opinion).
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 18:37   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,776
Great choice, Geezer.

Yeah, tested the OCS version (which was never more than a first level tech demo) a lot a few month ago. An Amiga 500 can't handle it without too many compromises and slowdowns. Should work smooth (hopefully in full 50fps) on AGA hardware though.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 22:40   #13
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
I think it's time to bring in some great titles to the A1200.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 23:56   #14
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,245
That would be awesome. Are you aware that some talented people here already tried in targetting A500? maybe there are stuff to get hold of.

AGA is a good choice. Why limiting to a stock A500? Rygar is clearly off the A500 league.

If it's as faithful as Bombjack that'll be ... well, I don't have words for this.
jotd is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 00:54   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
That would be awesome. Are you aware that some talented people here already tried in targetting A500? maybe there are stuff to get hold of.

AGA is a good choice. Why limiting to a stock A500? Rygar is clearly off the A500 league.

If it's as faithful as Bombjack that'll be ... well, I don't have words for this.
Graphically and as a whole, yes.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 01:25   #16
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Sure I do...
Developing the game for OCS is a stretch too far for my capabilities (and the platform in my opinion).

Well, before Sandruzzo did start with try to use EHB in my opinion speed was fine; it CAN be done in OCS/ECS but a lot of work in optimising assets and probably speed down to 25fps
saimon69 is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 10:25   #17
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,479
As actual proper coding won't fully start until around 15th October I wanted to show some of what I'll be doing up and around until that point with preparing the graphics for the game.

The sprites that dflrsilver provided were not in any sort of structured format so they all need to be accurately aligned so that the blitter can pick them up and display them, most of the sprites are 32x32 in size so they all need to be put in a 32x32 grid. In the lower part of the screen shot that follows you can see this process... which... is very time consuming as there are alot of sprites in the game. The other thing to note about this is that some sprites need to be mirrored so I need to have flipped copies.

On top of that the sprites need to be ordered in a specific way depending on if they are enemies/collectables etc so that when I come to coding the game I can do efficient collision detection.




In the upper part of the screen you can see how I'm extracting the background on the Rygar levels. For doing this we need MAME and the internal debugger with some cheats. What I've done is disabled the front tile map and sprites which allows just the background showing through. I then move across the level with infinite lives and time set and screen shot the backgrounds, stitch them together to make up the whole scene.

This whole process will probably take me all of August, I will try to keep things updated but rest assured I'm working on it unless you hear otherwise (here).

Exciting times.

Geezer

PS. As requested by Ian if you want to discuss then please post in the discussion thread and reference this post number.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 11:38   #18
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,366
Currious what map editor your using?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 11:50   #19
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Currious what map editor your using?
None at the moment - but will be using tiled for foreground.
Happy to discuss further in the other thread.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 14:23   #20
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i've use tiled for making the sprites
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entry: Rygar AGA Edition mcgeezer Coders. Entries 75 28 February 2019 21:41
On the Ball - World Cup Edition AGA djcasey request.Old Rare Games 4 25 January 2013 13:39
On The Ball League Edition AGA , Player Manager 2 StarEye Games images which need to be WHDified 11 22 January 2010 19:21
The Vague #1 AGA-RTG edition is released ! kas1e Amiga scene 12 30 October 2007 01:27
On The Ball: World Cup Edition AGA CodyJarrett request.Old Rare Games 11 27 May 2003 07:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12038 seconds with 14 queries