English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2002, 23:56   #1
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
workbench

Are any versions of workbench legal to download?
 
Old 03 December 2002, 23:59   #2
Djay
aka breakpoint

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brighton / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 3,091
nope
Djay is offline  
Old 04 December 2002, 00:01   #3
NytroX86
 
Posts: n/a
What about Install disks, should the need ever arise for me? (I didn't get an install disk with my WB 2.05 )
 
Old 04 December 2002, 00:12   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
No Part (Disk) of the WB Sets is available for legal download ! But you won´t need any Install Disks, as you can copy all files by hand Of course it´s easier with an install disk
RetroMan is offline  
Old 04 December 2002, 00:13   #5
Djay
aka breakpoint

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brighton / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 3,091
all the workbench are copyrighted, might of been a packing error if you didn't get the install disks (can't be sure for the A500+, A600).

if you are 100% against piracy, then try getting the original from Ebay... etc...
Djay is offline  
Old 04 December 2002, 01:36   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally posted by NytroX86
(I didn't get an install disk with my WB 2.05 )
That would be too bad luck, because it is impossible to receive a copy of WB 2.05+ without the install disk.
Akira is offline  
Old 04 December 2002, 11:20   #7
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally posted by NytroX86
What about Install disks, should the need ever arise for me? (I didn't get an install disk with my WB 2.05 )
How strange, I thought it was just my A600HD which had the 2.05 install disk missing. Got a disk copy from someone else.

Anyway I don't need to use the Install Disk now as I have my own home made setup using Joinz and split lha files.
Paul is offline  
Old 04 December 2002, 23:02   #8
mineisthemost
 
Posts: n/a
there was a deliberate movement by many manufacturers (in those early 80's days) to try and develop it so that they could use pre-install OS's and not supply install disks and any other 'business secrets' - they were arguing for competitive advantage and this stuff but it never worked out, mainly due to legal issues but also because of course the software houses need to develop for the OS so....it's similar to the whole microsoft source code shit.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better Looking Workbench Washac support.OtherUAE 3 21 February 2012 18:28
This Old Workbench Akira Amiga scene 2 11 April 2009 04:15
CF and workbench Raffaz New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 14 July 2007 10:38
Workbench 3.x Chazz support.WinUAE 3 28 August 2002 09:57
Workbench 3.9 Maverick357 support.Apps 3 26 May 2002 20:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06628 seconds with 13 queries