English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 October 2013, 18:13   #1
Astrofra
Amos Basic
Astrofra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Orleans | France
Age: 45
Posts: 63
A600 multi-upgrade (Chip RAM + Fast RAM + ROM + IDE2CF)

Hi guys,

I just purchased a second-hand (uhuh) Amiga 600 and decided to upgrade it as much as I could.

Here's the result, so far.
I haven't tested the RAM extensively, but 'Battle Squadron' (disk version) load & run properly, YAYE!


  • 1 MB Chip Ram
  • 4 Mb Fast Ram (plugged on the 68k)
  • Kickstart 3.1
  • IDE to Compact Flash adapter (untested so far)

Last edited by Astrofra; 22 October 2013 at 18:23.
Astrofra is offline  
Old 23 October 2013, 13:42   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Just a heads up, you shouldn't hold the top with the keyboard still latched like that, undo the latch and remove the top completely or you can risk damage to the overly-sensitive ribbon cable.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 October 2013, 15:29   #3
Astrofra
Amos Basic
Astrofra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Orleans | France
Age: 45
Posts: 63
Oh.
Ok

I was wondering if it was a good idea to plug/unplug the keyboard's ribbon or not.
Thanks for taking the time to post this advice
Astrofra is offline  
Old 23 October 2013, 17:08   #4
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Almost identical to my A600

Riempie is offline  
Old 23 October 2013, 20:20   #5
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,728
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrofra View Post
Oh.
Ok

I was wondering if it was a good idea to plug/unplug the keyboard's ribbon or not.
Thanks for taking the time to post this advice
Also edit your picture to hide your ks rom serial, .
FOL is offline  
Old 23 October 2013, 21:01   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Also edit your picture to hide your ks rom serial, .
Why?
Akira is offline  
Old 23 October 2013, 21:08   #7
Astrofra
Amos Basic
Astrofra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Orleans | France
Age: 45
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Why?
Yup, why ?
I didn't even thought it was actually readable at that screen resolution

Riempie, nice rig, by the way
Astrofra is offline  
Old 09 February 2014, 22:42   #8
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
We have to make sure people who never created original ROMs will continue get paid for nothing. This is our duty as Amiga community. It's ok to distribute pirated games but old Commodore roms and workbench adf's oh no no that's naughty. Someone might make copy of your KS number and start selling on Ebay therefore harming Amiga rom owners. ??

Only joking. Nice A600's lads.
lukassid is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 15:11   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukassid View Post
We have to make sure people who never created original ROMs will continue get paid for nothing. This is our duty as Amiga community. It's ok to distribute pirated games but old Commodore roms and workbench adf's oh no no that's naughty. Someone might make copy of your KS number and start selling on Ebay therefore harming Amiga rom owners. ??
well played lukassid
Akira is offline  
Old 11 February 2014, 03:48   #10
Brannigan
Registered User

Brannigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 40
That reminds me of something I've been wondering about for a while. Who owns Kickstart and Workbench? And this company/individual, sells WB floppies and KS ROMS?

And if they don't offer floppies and ROMS, how could they complain about copies if they don't sell the product that people want?
Brannigan is offline  
Old 11 February 2014, 04:44   #11
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrofra View Post
  • 1 MB Chip Ram
  • 4 Mb Fast Ram (plugged on the 68k)
  • Kickstart 3.1
  • IDE to Compact Flash adapter (untested so far)

Nice, are you going to add an IndivisionECS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brannigan View Post
That reminds me of something I've been wondering about for a while. Who owns Kickstart and Workbench? And this company/individual, sells WB floppies and KS ROMS?
Nobody really owns them, they belong to us now

Many claim to own them but the ownership is so damn murky that it would be impossible to prove ownership of anything Amiga related without spending huge $$$ on a lengthy legal campaign.

Last edited by prowler; 11 February 2014 at 23:08. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 February 2014, 08:51   #12
Brannigan
Registered User

Brannigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 40
@Astrofra Nice A600! You make me want to get my own A600 and mod it. I'd sure like to try a Vampire A600 accelerator =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Nobody really owns them, they belong to us now
Yep, the future belongs to us! It still amazes me how active the community is for a platform that have been 'dead' for the last 20 years.


Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Many claim to own them but the ownership is so damn murky that it would be impossible to prove ownership of anything Amiga related without spending huge $$$ on a lengthy legal campaign.
My (very) short reserach indicated that Gateway own the Amiga IP. But it has been so many bankruptcies and bought out so who knows. I guess if someone starts replicating KS ROM and sells then in large scale someone will yell. Or maybe it's some kind of IP cold war so no one wants to rock the boat.
Brannigan is offline  
Old 11 February 2014, 15:58   #13
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
If I am not mistaken -

According to the "last" court case Hyperion own (at least a distribution right) of the Kickstart 3.1 ROM.

Amiga Forever also have a license for distribution


I would look at supporting the Open Kickrom that was developed by the AROS community
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 11 February 2014, 19:23   #14
Astrofra
Amos Basic
Astrofra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Orleans | France
Age: 45
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Nice, are you going to add an IndivisionECS?
Not at the moment. I purchased an external upscaler, not as clean as an Indivision, but easier to setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brannigan View Post
@Astrofra Nice A600! You make me want to get my own A600 and mod it. I'd sure like to try a Vampire A600 accelerator =)
Yes, the cutie 600 is a charming machine to mod!
The Vampire is a fascinating product, but I read on the maker's website that he stopped working on the Miggy stuff and decided to build a Bitcoin mining hardware.

D'oh :-0

Last edited by prowler; 11 February 2014 at 23:09. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
Astrofra is offline  
Old 11 February 2014, 19:46   #15
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Majsta created accelerator but someone have to do a proper working core. I'm not to sure if it ever happen. As for now I would buy ACA620 pretty much perfect for A600.
lukassid is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 22:27   #16
CockroacH
Retro Lover

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Turkey
Age: 35
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to CockroacH
Wow that is one nice setup man. I've got my A600 last week, and ordered the 3.1 kickstart + CF adapter to begin from somewhere.

The plan is actually, to get Vampire 600, and a network card, and start playing
CockroacH is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 2 Mb Chip Mem Upgrade (clockport) mikele MarketPlace 7 12 March 2013 08:36
Whats to consider when buying a mem upgrade? (A600) foob New to Emulation or Amiga scene 16 02 January 2013 09:02
Amiga A600 Upgrade advice. wanted trydowave support.Hardware 11 03 January 2012 16:06
WTB A600 keyboard and ram upgrade Cerberus73 MarketPlace 5 23 May 2008 16:10
A600 Upgrade BinoX support.Hardware 19 28 July 2007 17:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10010 seconds with 13 queries