English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 October 2018, 16:13   #21
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Hey stop lambasting me. It's not my fault if it works straight out of the box

Out of the box on your system.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
With the original game (that I don't have), I could have recreated the decryption, but why wasting that time?

Original game is not needed for decrypting. It is very simple encryption anyway which uses the file length of the chunks read by the patched dos.library.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
@Stingray: interesting. I have to find which plugin is required and provide it in the install if not present. Seems that xfdmaster.library v39.15 does that natively. The link just in case http://aminet.net/package/util/pack/xfdmaster

That's the version I have installed and it doesn't recognise the file. So the file is handled by an external slave I guess.
StingRay is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 19:22   #22
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
BTW I have zoned the install, can be done with original or cracked disks.

I'll publish it in a few days on whdload page, so you can test it first
I just tried it but it seems that the original version is not supported at all.
Code:
The data/disk-files are damage or it is an unsupported version
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 19:24   #23
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,243
That's expected: you have to use the installer (which applies unpack on executable file), not just copy the files over. Unless you have the problem below:

@Stingray: yes, Don Adan was right. You need "Avalon" plugin by MrLarmer I'll provide the plugin in the install script, and done.

Last edited by jotd; 28 October 2018 at 19:47.
jotd is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 19:47   #24
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
That's expected: you have to use the installer (which applies unpack on executable file), not just copy the files over.

Of course, I installed the game with your installer after that I get this with unsupported version.....
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 19:50   #25
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,243
check my post above. I've posted an update of the installer in the zone. You can reinstall, or you can copy "Avalon" provided file in LIBS:XFD and just apply XFDDecrunch on the "kwatermaster" executable. Do it twice. File size must be > 500k and that'll work
jotd is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 20:00   #26
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
@Stingray: yes, Don Adan was right. You need "Avalon" plugin by MrLarmer I'll provide the plugin in the install script, and done.

Thanks. Another approach could be to simply patch the decruncher at offset $236 ($1fa without hunk header) to patch the decrunched data and then start the game. That way no external plugin slave would be needed but loading the file would be quite slow of course.
StingRay is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 21:06   #27
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 419
Okay, after the second time it worked with the start of the game.
But now I have another problem, the screen is split into two parts (a little bit from the bottom is now up)
The same problem I had with the HD version of the PPA side.
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 21:10   #28
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,243
@Stingray yeah, but you know I hate hacking

@Irek can you take a picture? screenshot? is that on real HW?

Last edited by jotd; 28 October 2018 at 21:16.
jotd is offline  
Old 29 October 2018, 02:17   #29
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
@Stingray yeah, but you know I hate hacking
We know Jeff, we know! It's good to know that some things haven't changed all these years later since the early days of JST and before!!!
DrBong is offline  
Old 29 October 2018, 10:13   #30
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
@Stingray yeah, but you know I hate hacking

It's as much "hacking" as patching the decrunched binary...
StingRay is offline  
Old 29 October 2018, 12:02   #31
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,243
that was a joke of course. if it's easy, maybe it's preferable to do like this, so original data files can be used. But then I have to support crack too... Well, I could see if it's really easy.
jotd is offline  
Old 29 October 2018, 19:33   #32
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
@Irek can you take a picture? screenshot? is that on real HW?

It happens on the real Amiga hardware. I made two pictures of it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bild1.png
Views:	135
Size:	117.4 KB
ID:	60489   Click image for larger version

Name:	bild2.png
Views:	138
Size:	115.3 KB
ID:	60490  
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 29 October 2018, 20:11   #33
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
that was a joke of course. if it's easy, maybe it's preferable to do like this, so original data files can be used. But then I have to support crack too... Well, I could see if it's really easy.

If you use the offsets I posted in this thread it's pretty easy, a4 contains the start of the decrunched data so you can easily use resload_Patch. Supporting the crack would be a bit more work as the modifications done to the decruncher need to be reverted but it shouldn't take much time to do.
StingRay is offline  
Old 29 October 2018, 20:15   #34
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,243
@Irek first pic looks all right, second pic has trashed gfx at the top right?

@StingRay I don't know if it's worth it then. The only "issue" is the 500k file, that could be XPK packed to reduce size.
jotd is offline  
Old 29 October 2018, 20:50   #35
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 419
@Jeff: No, both pictures are affected. A small piece of the picture is missing below, and the missing piece is shown above.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bild3.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	291.4 KB
ID:	60494  
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 02 November 2018, 22:29   #36
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 419
Well, since I'm using MV1200 scandoubler on my main Amiga, I thought that was the cause of the problem. Yesterday, I tried the game on Amiga monitor and the problem still existed. Maybe this has to be done with 040 CPU or specifically with 040 Blizzard? You can not normally play the game (because the bottom row of buttons is missing). Would be nice if you could solve the problem.

Since the game is completely in Polish I thought it would be a good idea to add a solution in another language. I found a solution in Polish (found in the net) and translated it to German. I added both files to your installation package, a NewIcon is now available as well. (see the zone)
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 02 November 2018, 22:40   #37
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,243
you could try with SNOOP & CHK tooltips, CHKBLIT. I can try too.

Translating a polish solution into german?? but why? why not english?
jotd is offline  
Old 03 November 2018, 12:33   #38
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
you could try with SNOOP & CHK tooltips, CHKBLIT. I can try too.

Translating a polish solution into german?? but why? why not english?


I tried it, unfortunately with the same result.
What is very strange, the error will remain after "quitkey" also on the Workbench. (I have to restart the Amiga. After that everything is fine) I have over 1000 games on my HD here and it is the only game that behaves like this.

These are both languages I used every day in real life.
Well, I've done the first step, if anyone would like to be able to translate the solution into English (the German solution is not 100% but I think anyone who speaks German will understand what's going on)
I think in this forum there are many German users who speak and write English better than me.
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 11 November 2018, 15:46   #39
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 419
Today I tried it again with snoopocs and chkbltwait option and the game crashed right at the start with a error.(I think I had a typo in the Icon lately)

Code:
Exception "Access Fault" ($7008) PC = $5BEFAF92 (ExpMem $4BF92) Byte Write to $DFF1DC (custom.beamcon0)
Btw. Users of 040 Apollo cards have the same gfx problems as me with the game. (thank you Piter for the info )
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 11 November 2018, 17:19   #40
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,243
That's why I always use command line That's good news. I could have tried that too. I'll remove that write.
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Astral and Skaut Kwatermaster available for free download mailman News 3 25 November 2006 18:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09433 seconds with 14 queries