English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 September 2019, 03:29   #21
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 835
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaf View Post
I repair Amigas, you can bring it to me, i'll take a look.

Shaf
oh shoot Shaf sorry i forgot to ask you as i’ve been to your place to buy some stuff over the years and forgot you can repair miggies too

I’ll try to bring by the motherboard to you this weekend

thanks !

Last edited by klx300r; 02 November 2019 at 22:12.
klx300r is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 14:31   #22
Pollock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 57
i haven't read the entire thread, but as well as the voltages to wire up, wasn't there a "power good" cable (green? grey) that had to be wired up as well? i know there was an extra ATX cable that needed wiring up, over the wiring it up for the A1200.

Sorry if this has been mentioned.
Pollock is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 14:39   #23
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pollock View Post
i haven't read the entire thread, but as well as the voltages to wire up, wasn't there a "power good" cable (green? grey) that had to be wired up as well? i know there was an extra ATX cable that needed wiring up, over the wiring it up for the A1200.
There is a PWR-ON wire that needs to be shorted to ground for the PSU to start, but this is connected to the spades on the AmigaKit adapter so it is wired to the power switch.
Modern PSUs have a sense wire that needs to be connected to the supply as well. This can be seen on the ATX connector - if there are two wires going into the same pin, then those two wires should be reconnected if you cut off the connector. I wired up an ATX PSU for my A2000 yesterday and it had a sense wire on the 3.3V supply. Although the A2000 is not using the 3.3V supply, I still had to connect the sense wire to a 3.3V supply wire or the PSU would not work.
demolition is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 14:43   #24
Pollock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
There is a PWR-ON wire that needs to be shorted to ground for the PSU to start, but this is connected to the spades on the AmigaKit adapter so it is wired to the power switch.
Modern PSUs have a sense wire that needs to be connected to the supply as well. This can be seen on the ATX connector - if there are two wires going into the same pin, then those two wires should be reconnected if you cut off the connector. I wired up an ATX PSU for my A2000 yesterday and it had a sense wire on the 3.3V supply. Although the A2000 is not using the 3.3V supply, I still had to connect the sense wire to a 3.3V supply wire or the PSU would not work.
yeah. that.

i use a NOS Dell SFF PSU, it's small, and only rated at 170W, but that's plenty for the Amiga, and i don't need to worry about minimum load.

hope it gets sorted anyway.
Pollock is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 22:20   #25
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 835
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
well guys the 3rd PSU I tried from a working PC in my storage wasn't lucky A loud quick chirp with the dreaded metallic smell from the PSU only...didn't see anythign different or hot on MB and no small...and alas now even my original PSU can't power up my A4000 anymore praying it only damaged the MB and nothing else...now time to send off the MB to Acil in the states to have a look and go from there....unless there's someone in Canada that can have a look and troubleshoot A4000 MB's please let me know

SHE'S ALIVE ..finally got around late last night to take my A4000 apart so I can send the MB off to get checked and when I went to take the last few screws off the MB I heard a metal clinging sound beneath the MB????...lifted the board up and it was a bloody small screw and washer ! ..I inspected my MB up and down with a magnifying glass and didn't see anything obviously burnt/defective so decided to try one last time to fire her up just with my CS-MKIII and original PSU and voila she booted up no problemo lol and ALLELULIA...''looks like that loose screw and washer was causing some type of short/interference etc....plugged all the cards/ drives etc back in and she's back up & running like normal !!!


man oh man I've been nervous & losing sleep since this happened praying every night that my CS-MKIII & other cards didn't fry so OMG what a massive relief off my shoulders

as for that ATX PSU adapter I won't be trying that thing anytime soon after this crazy ordeal lol

Last edited by klx300r; 04 November 2019 at 01:26.
klx300r is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 02:42   #26
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,884
You are pretty lucky, I mean not only for having a nice A4000 but that the screw didn't cause any damage. I had an A4000 motherboard with weird hard to diagnose issues. Turns out that there was a blown resistor on the bottom of the board that when desoldered it was fractured perfectly down the middle of it that was not visible in any way. I wonder if a previous owner didn't have a screw wedged in there at some point.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 05:15   #27
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 835
Thumbs up

@ grelbfarlk


man tell me about it only Amiga can give us soo much pain & joy
klx300r is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 12:56   #28
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
@ grelbfarlk


man tell me about it only Amiga can give us soo much pain & joy


Kin Hell is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 21:12   #29
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 835
Thumbs up

@ Kin Hell

...love it...yup we're still here & still kicking
klx300r is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 PSU -> Mini-ATX PSU mod keropi Hardware mods 52 02 September 2019 14:11
A4000 ATX convertor cable not working with my ATX PSU?? klx300r support.Other 2 14 June 2019 00:54
A4000 won't start without CyberSCSI MagerValp support.Hardware 8 21 July 2014 02:50
Amiga A4000 ATX PSU Adapter Cable with Switch amigakit.com MarketPlace 13 15 December 2013 03:22
For Sale: A4000 ATX PSU adaptor keropi MarketPlace 0 23 January 2007 12:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07073 seconds with 15 queries